Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Take a Study Break

Burned out on studying for exams or writing that paper? Need a break to recharge? This guide has some ideas.

Home

Welcome!

Preparing for class, studying for exams, writing papers ... you have a lot on your plate as a law student, and you deserve a break!  Check out this guide for some ideas, both right here at Harvard and in the surrounding area.

Langdell Purple Flowers

Credits

Thank you to Meg Kribble for creating the initial version of this guide.

Get Away For The Day

Borrow a Bike

Borrow a Car

Go For A Run

If you're a runner, you likely know that taking a nice run is a great way to clear your head. Make your run more fun with these tools.

Free Local Attractions

If you're looking for something fun to do around town, consider these free local attractions.

Mobile Apps to Help You Plan An Outing

Get away from your desk with these apps that will help you get out, grab a bite and explore the town.

Watch a Movie

Coming Soon at the Brattle Theater!

Located right here in Harvard Square since 1953, the Brattle Theatre is a great place to find the best movies whether they are award-winners, classics, foreign films or independent movies. They also frequently host special events. 

Check out the Harvard Film Archive

The Harvard Film Archive’s cinematheque presents films Friday through Monday nights year round. Open to the public, all screenings are held in the Archive's 200-seat theater featuring state-of-the-art film and digital projection located in the historic Carpenter Center for the Visual Arts. Regular HFA screenings are free to all Harvard students with student ID!

The HFA frequently runs series dedicated to directors, actors, genres, and regions, and frequently hosts talks with filmmakers and actors.

Video streaming services at Harvard

Harvard's collection includes a number of streaming video services. Here are highlights covering film and the performing arts.

Find something else to stream

Find a DVD at the Law School

Did you know that the Law School has a collection of popular films on DVD? Housed in the Lemann Lounge, all DVDs in this collection circulate for 7 days. You can find the full list from HOLLIS here.

Find a Fun Read

How About Some Legal Fiction?

Want to read read fiction but feel guilty taking time away from the law? Why not try one of these books that combine the best of both worlds? Whether you like classic, science fiction, thrillers or comedy, this list will have something for you!

Did you know?

Lamont Library has an entire collection of popular fiction and other leisure reading materials in their Farnsworth Room on the 3rd floor of the Library. 

Photo of Lamont by arcticpenguin

Photo by arcticpenguin. CC by NC 2.0

Read a Blog

Legal Geeks

Legal Geeks Logo

A fun blog for anyone who ever wondered about the legal implications of geeky topics from Star Trek to Dr. Who.

Loading ...

Lowering the Bar

Lowering the Bar Logo

A legal humor blog run by a partner at the San Francisco office of Shook, Hardy & Bacon.

Loading ...

Law and the Multiverse

Law and the Multiverse Logo

The subtitle says it all: "Superheroes, supervillains and the law." Also check out their book, The Law of Superheroes.

Loading ...

Play a Game

Check Out Chess

Did you know that the Library has several chess tables, complete with pieces in their drawers) on the third floor of the library? Whether you are a chess master or a complete novice, take a break with a quick game any time the library is open.

Chess

Games, Games, Games

If chess isn't your thing, stop by the Circulation desk and ask about our collection of board, card and tabletop games - plus some outdoor equipment - available for 3-day checkout. Our collection includes:

Shelf of games in microforms room

 

 
Taboo Time's Up
Scrabble    Go
Cards Against Humanity     Cranium   
Life Risk
Bananagrams    Twister
Carcasonne Playing Cards            
Passing the Bar       Ticket to Ride
Trivial Pursuit Apples to Apples
Settlers of Catan    Seafarers of Catan
Monopoly Poker
Football Croquet
Wiffle Ball Frisbees
Soccer Bocce
Jenga  

Improve Your Wellness and Mindfulness

The Well

Those looking for health and wellness support need look no further than The Well through the Dean of Students' office. They provide everything from relaxation exercises to chair massages, along with a safe space for dialogue.  

Counseling and Mental Health Services

Counseling and Mental Health Services (CAMHS) offers Harvard students comprehensive outpatient care for a wide variety of mental health concerns, such as anxiety, depression, stress/crisis management, transitional issues, grief, and eating, sexual or relationship concerns.

CAMHS is available via urgent care as well as regular appointments. And did you know? The HLS HUHS clinic has a licensed social worker with a JD on staff!

Getting Help

Contact Us!

  Ask Us! Submit a question or search our knowledge base.

Chat with us! Chat  with a librarian.

Email: research@law.harvard.edu

 Contact Historical & Special Collections at specialc@law.harvard.edu

 Meet with Us  Schedule an online consult with a Librarian

Hours  Library Hours

Classes View Training Calendar or Request an Insta-Class

 Text Ask a Librarian, 617-702-2728