Encyclopedias and Dictionaries for Historical and Literary Research

A companion to the history of the book, ed. by Simon Eliot and Jonathan Rose. Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2007, 599 p.
Networked Resource
Widener | WID-LC | Z4 .C73 2007 (Circulating copy)

A companion to the early printed book in Britain, 1476-1558, ed. by Vincent Gillespie and Susan Powell. Cambridge: D.S. Brewer, 2014, 385 pages.
Widener | WID-LC | Z8.G72 C66 2014 (Circulating copy)

Annals of Printing : A Chronological Encyclopaedia from the Earliest Times to 1950. London: Blandford Press, 1966.
Widener | B 4489.66.5

Dictionnaire Encyclopedique du Livre. Paris: Editions du Cercle de la Librarie, c2002-.
Houghton | *HRef-1284F

Encyclopedia of the Book. Geoffrey Ashall Glaister. 2d ed. New Castle, Del.: Oak Knoll Press: London: British Library, 1996.
Andover-Harvard |Ref Z118G55 1996
Fine Arts | Reading Room RFA 1864.33
Widener | Loker Reading Room | RR 83.7

Feather, John A Dictionary of Book History. London: Croom Helm, 1986.
Widener | RR83.4

Green, Jonathon. The Encyclopedia of Censorship. New York, N.Y.: Facts on File, 2005.
Widener | WID-LC | Z657 .G73 2005

Kent, Allen, et al. Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science. New York: M. Dekker, 1968.
Widener | RR 33.10

Stam, David H. International Dictionary of Library Histories. Chicago ; London: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001.
Widener | RR 33.10.12

Wiegand, Wayne A., and Donald G. Davis. Encyclopedia of Library History. New York: Garland Pub.1994.

Oxford English Dictionary

Encyclopedia Britannica - The current, on-line version. See also the print 11th edition, below.

The Encyclopaedia Britannica: a dictionary of arts, sciences, literature and general information. 11th ed. Cambridge, England., 1910-1922. Widener  RR 2003.2
Child Memorial Ch M 15 
Lamont REF.ROOM AE5 .E363x 1910
Houghton Seminar Room  
Theatre Collection HTC-LC AE5 .E36
Cabot Science REF AE5 .E36 1910  

Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection
Contains dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. It is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of these books. A broad subject range from titles in the Oxford Companions Series is available, as are other standard sources, such as the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations, Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms, dictionaries of African, Asian, Celtic and other mythologies,etc.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation

Encyclopedia of the scientific revolution: from Copernicus to Newton

ACLS Humanities E-Book includes the Catalogus translationum et commentariorum: Mediaeval and Renaissance Latin translations and commentaries: annotated lists and guides.

Early Modern Science (Cambridge History of Science, vol. 3).

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance

New Catholic Encyclopedia

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy.

The New Cambridge modern history.

Encyclopedia of historians and historical writing (1999) offers descriptive essays about individual historians and historical debates. See Section: France: 1450-1789 pp. 401-406.

A global encyclopedia of historical writing (1998) discusses, describes and defines historical movements, trends, and individuals.