Full Text Collections

These are selected, representative sources, all of which offer digitized texts of interest for this course. To find others, go to E-Research and select Find E-Resources.The subject tab allows you to explore sources by discipline.

Early Modern Online Bibliography: a weblog to facilitate scholarly feedback and discussion on online text-bases for the humanities, such as EEBO, ECCO, and the Burney Collection.


Basic Sources

Bible Gateway  includes the text of several English and foreign language Bible translations accessible through the Gospel Communications Network. Versions include the NIV (New International Version), the RSV (Revised Standard Version), the KJV (King James Version), Darby (translated by J.N. Darby), YLT (Young's Literal Translation), Elberfelder (German), SV1917 (Swedish), the Latin Vulgate, LSG (French), the RVA (Spanish), and selections from a Tagalog translation. These versions can be searched by passage, word(s), and biblical book.

Digital Library of the Classic Protestant Texts includes digital facsimiles and searchable texts of Protestant Christian reformers. Some works supplemented by English translations.

Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation contains over 1,500 16th-17th century works, including catechisms, scholarly treatises, papal documents, devotional works, etc.

Literature Online (LION) includes works of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary reference resources. Literature Online's primary texts include English poetry from 600 to the present, American and African-American poetry from 1603 to the present, The Faber Poetry Library, English drama from 1280 to 1915, and English prose from 1500 to 1900. Secondary sources include LIFT, a literary journal index with full text of selected articles, the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature from 1920 onward, the King James Bible, Webster's Dictionary, links to other Web resources, and biographical information for authors.

Making of the Modern World . Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Baker Library, Harvard Business School and the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library are the source of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Includes much material on the social/cultural environment of business and economics: social conditions, politics, public health, technology, and transport. A great deal of more recently acquired material in the Kress Collection is not included in The Making of the Modern World.

Past Masters. Text electronic editions of works by major philosophical figures and writers, in both original language and in English translation. Areas covered include the history of political thought and theory, education, religious studies, economics, classics, history and German studies. Texts include published and unpublished works, articles and essays, and correspondence.

Google Book Search has digitized many pre-1920s books. Links to digitized books, whether digitized at Harvard or at another library are available through HOLLIS records, either through a Networked Resource link (Harvard books) or the "Discover more in Google Books" icon (from other libraries) To find books Google has digitized from other libraries, but which are not held at Harvard, search directly in the Google Book Search.

HathiTrust Digital Library includes a searchable database of digitized books and periodicals contributed by numerous libraries. Includes items contributed by these libraries to Google Books and to Internet Archive but with some unique material. Each full text item is linked to a standard library catalog record, thus providing good metadata. The catalog can be searched separately. Globally full text searchable, like Google Books but unlike Internet Archive. Full text is fully viewable. Single page pdfs can be downloaded, but pdf downloads of a whole work are not currently available at Harvard.
There is now an Advanced Full Text search feature available in HathiTrust that allows a full text search of specified books or periodicals similar to that available in Google Books Advanced search. Described at: Advanced Search for HathiTrust full-text search.

Internet Archive also offers much digitized full text, but unlike Google Books, it is not globally searchable.

Neo-Latin

CAMENA: Latin Texts of Early Modern Europe is a digital library of the humanistic Respublica Litterarum. Includes database (EVRECA) that contains words and names (with additional morphological and lexical data) linked to dictionaries/encyclopedias.

Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum includes catalogue of all online Latin texts from beginnings to 18th century Neo-Latinists.

Analytic Bibliography of On-line Neo-Latin Texts

English-Language

Searching Early English Books Online (EEBO), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) and Early American Imprints.
Since spelling in early books is variable and the long s (which looks like an f) is often used, it is important to try variant spellings and the wild card feature. ECCO offers fuzzy searching in Advanced Search

Both Early English Books Online (EEBO) and Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) contain full text of most books published 1475-1800 in Great Britain and North America and books published in English anywhere.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) offers full text for works, including much ephemera and many periodicals, dated 1475-1700. Uses Library of Congress Subject Headings.

EEBO uses page images and OCR text. Although searchable by words and phrases, there are character recognition errors and full Boolean searching is not possible. Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership has input over 25,000 works and offers corrected text and full Boolean and other search capabilities for this subset of EEBO.

Periodicals included in EEBO include corantos, newsbooks and periodicals included in the Thomason Tracts which contain more than 22,000 broadsides ranging from political speeches to religious tracts to newspaper stories from the period 1640-60. Periodicals Search guide.

Search Guide: Early English Books Online (EEBO)

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) offers full text for English language works dated 1700-1800. Uses Library of Congress Subject Headings. Searchable by words and phrases based on the OCR text. Many 18th century American imprints are not included in ECCO because they are available in Early American Imprints (EAI) (next).

Both EEBO and ECCO are based on the English Short Title Catalog (ESTC) which has over 470,000 catalog (no full text) entries listing books, periodicals, newspapers and some ephemera printed before 1801. Works published in Britain, Ireland, British colonies, and the US are included, together with items printed elsewhere which contain significant text in English, Welsh, Irish or Gaelic. Books falsely claiming London publication are included. Items omitted from ECCO because they are available in EAI are represented in the ESTC. Reprints (reissues of original works) are not usually included in ECCO; they are fully represented in the ESTC. ESTC is based on Pollard & Redgrave's A Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, & Ireland and of English Books Printed Abroad, 1475-1640 ("STC I") and Donald Wing's A Short-Title Catalogue of Books Printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, and British America, and of English Books Printed in Other Countries, 1641-1700 ("STC II")

United States

Early American Imprints, Series 1, 1639-1800 and Early American Imprints, Series 2, 1801-1819

...books, pamphlets and broadsides issued in America from 1639 to 1800, recorded in Charles Evans' American Bibliography, Roger P. Bristol's Supplement to Charles Evans' American Bibliography, and American Bibliography: A Preliminary Checklist for 1801-1819 by Ralph Shaw and Richard Shoemaker, which include material on virtually every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.

Nineteenth Century in Print: The Making of America in Books and Periodicals includes materials largely from the second half of the century.

Europe (General)

Links to several additional European general sources are available in Finding Full Text Books Online.

Early European Books (EEB) aims at providing digital access to continental printed texts before 1701. Searchable on the bibliographic descriptions. Full text not searchable. More information.

Great Britain

British History Online (11th-19th cent.) offers printed primary and secondary sources for the history of the British Isles. These resources cover ecclesiastical and religious history, intellectual and cultural history, local history, urban development, economic history, parliamentary history, and administrative and legal matters.

Primary Sources on Copyright, 1450-1900: Documents from Britain

France

ARTFL Project: The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language is a collaboration between the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and the University of Chicago. The ARTFL database presents full texts of nearly 2,000 works representing a broad range of written French--in literature, philosophy, arts, economics and sciences. Novels, verse, theatre, journalism, essays, correspondence and treatises are included covering the twelfth to the twentieth centuries. In most cases standard scholarly editions were used in converting the text into machine-readable form, and the data contain page references to these editions.

Gallica includes the full-text for more than 100,000 volumes and 300,000 images covering the Middle Ages to the beginning of the twentieth century, with an emphasis on nineteenth-century material. Included are dictionaries and encyclopedias, journals, manuscripts, recordings and images.

Germany

Zentrales Verzeichnis Digitalisierter Drucke (zvdd)

German Studies Web: Major and Minor Digital Projects

Kataloge der Frankfurter und Leipziger Buchmessen (1594-1860) offers browsable access to Frankfurt and Leipzig book fair catalogs.

Bibliothek der deutschen Literatur: Mikrofiche-Gesamtausgabe nach den Angaben des Taschengoedeke. München: Kulturstiftung der Länder im K.G. Saur Verlag, 1990-2005.
Location : Microforms (Lamont) INDEX Microfiche W 3894 =Bibliographie und Register
Location : Microforms (Lamont) INDEX Microfiche W 3894.1 [= Taschengoedeke]
Location : Microforms (Lamont) INDEX Microfiche W 3894.2 = Begleitheft
Location : Microforms (Lamont) Microfiche W 3894
Location : Microforms (Lamont) Microfiche W 3894.2 =Supplement
-- 19,963 microfiches + supplements (pts. 1-2 on microfiches 19964-22806) + Begleithefte (suppl. 2 in v. 1-6 in 7)+ bibliography and index (581 p.).
-- Reproduces the works listed in Der Taschengoedeke, Hirschberg’s listing of German first editions published between 1650 and 1925.
--Supplements [1] and 2 continue fiche numbering of main section; however, each Lieferung of Supplements [1] and 2 maintains its separate alphabetical arrangement and can be accessed by using the Begleitheft (Contents).

Der Taschengoedeke, by Leopold Hirschberg. Berlin und Frankfurt a. M.: Tiedemann und Uzielli, 1924, 815 p.
Location : Widener 46511.125 (Circulates)
--Die deutsche Literatur von A-Z, einschliesslich der Übersetzungen, der Philosophie, der Kunst- und Musikwissenschaft, sowie der gelüfteten Anonyma und Pseudonyma.--Wichtige nicht gelüftete Anonyma und Pseudonyma.--Anhänge: Werther. Faust. Xenien.

Der Taschengoedeke, by Leopold Hirschberg; fotomechanischer Neudruck, durchgesehen und ergänzt von Elisabeth Friedrichs. Stuttgart : Cotta, 1961, 815, 44, 18 p.
Location : Houghton B 5320.453* Location : Widener 46511.126 (In-Library Use)

Netherlands

Early Dutch Books Online (1781-1800) contains 10,000 books from the Dutch-speaking region.

Bibliographies and Catalogs

Universal Short Title Catalogue (USTC) is a collective catalog of all books published in Europe and the Americas between the invention of printing and the end of the sixteenth century.
Includes:

Verteilte Digitale Inkunabelbibliothek

French vernacular books: books published in the French language before 1601 = Livres vernaculaires français: livres imprimés en français avant 1601, ed. by Andrew Pettegree, Malcolm Walsby, Alexander Wilkinson. Leiden; Boston: Brill, 2007. 2 v.
Houghton | Reading Room | Z2162 .F74 2007
Widener | WID-LC | Z2162 .F74 2007

French books III & IV: books published in France before 1601 in Latin and languages other than French, ed. by Andrew Pettegree, Malcolm Walsby. Leiden; Boston: Brill, 2012. 2 v.
Houghton | Reading Room | Z2162 .F746 2012
Widener

Early works from the English Short Title Catalogue. (See below)

English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC), 1473-1800, has over 470,000 catalog (no full text) entries listing books, periodicals, newspapers and some ephemera printed before 1801. Works published in Britain, Ireland, British colonies, and the US are included, together with items printed elsewhere which contain significant text in English, Welsh, Irish or Gaelic. Books falsely claiming London publication are included. Many of the included works are available full text in Early English Books Online (EEBO) and Eighteenth Century Collections Online. More information on EEBO and ECCO.

Incunabula Short Title Catalogue is an international database of 15th-century European printing

Verzeichnis der im Deutschen Sprachraum erschienenen Drucke des 17. Jahrhunderts

Verzeichnis der im deutschen Sprachraum erschienenen Drucke des 18. Jahrhunderts

National Bibliographic Register (IFLA). List of national bibliographies.

World Bibliography of National Bibliographies. Stuttgart: A. Hiersemann, 1987.
Widener: RR 1.6.5
Houghton: Reading Room HRR 2.1.5
Describes catalogs from all time periods arranged by country.

Retrospective National Bibliographies, an International Directory. München New York: K.G. Saur, 1986.
Widener: RR 5.23
Provides brief introduction to the publishing and bibliographic activities of individual countries, followed by a chronological listing of national bibliographies.

An Annotated Guide to Current National Bibliographies 2nd ed. Munchen: K.G. Saur, 1998
Widener | RR 5.7

Besterman, Theodore. Early Printed Books to the End of the Sixteenth Century; a Bibliography of Bibliographies. 2d ed.
Geneve: Societas Bibliographica, 1961.
Widener | RR330.2