Primary Sources: Periodical Articles

HOLLIS catalog includes records for all journals, both print and electronic, in the libraries' collections. Select the Journals tab from the search screen. Another means of identifying e-journals is to use E-Research. Select Find E-Journals, to search by title words or by subject (of the journal, not the article).

These are selected, representative sources, all of which offer digitized texts of interest for this course. To find others, go to E-Research and select Find E-Resources.The subject tab allows you to explore sources by discipline.

Nineteenth Century in Print: The Making of America in Books and Periodicals includes materials largely from the second half of the century.

Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI)

A retrospective index to articles in scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues through 1990/91. Journals in English and other European languages are indexed. PCI includes the complete table of contents for each issue of each journal. Coverage includes 19th and 20th century. For more 19th century publications, use Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900 (Widener RR663.34 and CD-ROM RR 138) and 19th century Masterfile

British Periodicals Online

Covering the period 1681-1920, this source includes facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries.

American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900

American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, when Andrew Bradford's American Magazine and Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine were launched, and 1900. The bulk of the collection dates from the 19th-century; periodicals that began publication before 1900 and continued into the 20th century are included through 1940.

The Nation Digital Archive

A complete run of The Nation, America's oldest weekly magazine of reporting, commentary, and opinion on national and international politics, government, social policy, economics, arts, religion, and culture. Full text is delivered in Acrobat portable document format (pdf). Dates: 1865-present (annual 12-month archive update lags by one year)

Harper's Magazine Online Index

An index to the full run of Harper's Magazine, with links to full text and page images. Harper's (also known as Harper's New Monthly Magazine and Harper's Monthly Magazine)is the nation's oldest continuously published monthly magazine, publishing reports, essays, criticism, fiction, poetry, art, humor, and argument.

Godey's Lady's Book, 1830-1880

Indexed full-text of Godey's Lady's Book, one of the most significant American periodicals of the 19th century, which published a wide variety of fiction, poetry, essays, reviews, music, and illustrations, including fashion plates. Database includes digital images of illustrations, but does not contain images of text pages.


General Digital Libraries

Google Book Search has digitized many pre-1920s books. Links to digitized books, whether digitized at Harvard or at another library are available through HOLLIS records, either through a Networked Resource link (Harvard books) or the "Discover more in Google Books" icon (from other libraries) To find books Google has digitized from other libraries, but which are not held at Harvard, search directly in the Google Book Search.

HathiTrust Digital Library includes a searchable database of digitized books and periodicals contributed by numerous libraries. Includes items contributed by these libraries to Google Books and to Internet Archive but with some unique material. Each full text item is linked to a standard library catalog record, thus providing good metadata. The catalog can be searched separately. Globally full text searchable, like Google Books but unlike Internet Archive. Full text is fully viewable. Single page pdfs can be downloaded, but pdf downloads of a whole work are not currently available at Harvard.

Internet Archive also offers much digitized full text, but unlike Google Books, it is not globally searchable.


Reuss' Repertorium commentationum a societatibus litterariis editarum (Gottingae, apud Henricum Dieterich, 1801-21) indexes articles in the publications of 17th-18th century scholarly societies. All volumes available full text in the Internet Archive (note that only two volumes are linked from HOLLIS)

Volume by Volume Contents

Inventory of the Oldest Scholarly Societies (Scholarly Societies Project) gives description of, and abbreviations used, in Reuss.

v. 1. Historia Naturalis; Zoologia. 1801.
v. 2. Botanica; Mineralogia. 1802.
v. 3. Chemia et Res Metallica. 1803.
v. 4. Physica. 1805.
v. 5. Astronomia. 1804.
v. 6. Oeconomia. 1806. (including agriculture)
v. 7. Mathesis; Mechanica; Hydrostatica; Hydraulica; Hydrotechnia; Aerostatica; Pneumatica; Technologia; Architectura Civilis;
Scientia Navalis; Scientia Militaris. 1808.
v. 8. Historia; Subsidia Historica; (Geographia; Chronologia; Monumentum Veterum Populorum; Inscriptiones; Nummi et Res
Nummaria; Ars Diplomatica; Heraldica;) Historia Univeralis; Historia Generis Humani; Historia Mythica; Historia Specialis; Asiae;
Africae; Americae; Europae; Historia Ecclesiastica; Historia Litteria. 1810.
v. 9. Philologia; Linguae; Scriptores Graeci; Scriptores Latini; Litterae Elegantiores; Poesis; Rhetorica; Ars Antiqua; Pictura; Musica.
1810
v. 10. Scientia et Ars Medica et Chirurgica. Propaedeutica; Anatomia et Physiologia; Hygieine s. Diaetetica; Pathologia seu Nosologia
Generalis; Semeiotica. 1813.
v. 11. Scientia et Ars Medica et Chirurgica. 2. Materia Medica; Pharmacia. 1816.
v. 12. Scientia et Ars Medica et Chirurgica. 3. Therapia Generalis et Specialis. P.1. Continens A. B. C. 1817
v. 13. Scientia et Ars Medica et Chirurgica. 3. Therapia Generalis et Specialis. P.2. Continens D. E. F. G. H. 1818
v. 14. Scientia et Ars Medica et Chirurgica. 3. Therapia Generalis et Specialis. P.3. Continens I. - S. 1820
v. 15. Scientia et Ars Medica et Chirurgica. 3. Therapia Generalis et Specialis.P.4. Continens T. - Z. 1820
v. 16. Scientia et Ars Medica et Chirurgica. P.1. Ars Obstetrica. P.2. Ars Veterinaria. 1821