Images

Access (VIA) system is a union catalog of visual resources at Harvard. It includes information about slides, photographs, objects and artifacts in the university's libraries, museums and archives. This system represents the first phase of an ongoing effort and additional information will be added on a regular basis. Check the repository's Web sites for more information about access policies and coverage for their visual collections.”

Numerous photograph archives, including the Library of Congress and the Smithsonian, are contributing images to Flickr.

Digital Collections at Harvard. Digitized versions of Harvard University Library collections.

Harvard College Library Digital Collections

A selection of online major institutional and subject collections is listed here. Many more can be found using the Search Engines and Link Collections (below).

Major Institutional and Subject Collections

American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series 1, 1760-1900

Print Collection of Göttweig Monastery
The print collection of Göttweig Monastery is Austria's largest private collection of historical graphic art. The first segment of the collection to be digitized is now available.

American Memory (Library of Congress)

AP Multimedia Archive (AccuNet) is a searchable database of over 700,000 Associated Press photographs, charts and other graphics from the 1840s to the present.

ARTstor is a database of digital images serving art history and the humanities.

British Library Images Online

CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online) contains searchable images and descriptions for over 115,000 works of art from US and Canadian museums.

John Johnson Collection: an archive of printed ephemera (18th-20th centuries). Collection, housed in the Bodleian Library, Oxford, documents everyday life in Britain.

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog

NYPL Digital Gallery offers over 700,000 images from the New York Public Library.

Science & Society Picture Library offers over 50,000 images from the Science Museum (London), the National Museum of Photography, Film & Television and the National Railway Museum.

Advertisements

Searches can be limited to advertisements in Proquest Historical Newspapers and American Periodicals Series Online - More Search Options, then Document Type.

Ad*Access (1911 and 1955)

adflip.com:the world's largest searchable database of classic print ads (individual subscription)

Advertising Archives

Early Advertising Collection (1790-1910) contains European and American printed advertisements, largely late 19th century trade cards. Dates often approximate.

Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920

Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History

John Johnson Collection: an archive of printed ephemera (18th-20th centuries). Collection, housed in the Bodleian Library, Oxford, documents everyday life in Britain. Includes section on advertising.

Additional links:
Advertisements Online

Search Engines and Link Collections

American Historical Images (Digital History)

Catalog of American Portraits Portrait Search searches numerous American collections. Records often include images.

Digital Images Collections Wiki offers links to collections of Free- and Fair-Use digital images arranged by subject.

Institute of Museums and Library Services Digital Collections can be browsed by subject, place, and collection title

Library and Archival Exhibitions on the Web

Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) offers images of art, design, and posters.

Visual Collections: Images of Art, History and Culture hosts collections from several museums, universities and private collections. Many free, some by subscription.