Government Documents
The great majority of U.S. and foreign government documents and the publications of international organizations are housed in the Government Documents/Microforms Collection. Reference expertise is also available there. Handouts on American and British government documents are available. Many government documents are not represented in the HOLLIS Catalog.
Documents on some subjects go to Harvard subject collections, e.g., education to Gutman, science and environment to Cabot, and regional and urban planning to Loeb Design.
- United StatesA historical guide to the U.S. government (1998) offers histories and name changes of government departments.
Prucha, Francis Paul. Handbook for research in American history: a guide to bibliographies and other reference works. 2nd ed., rev. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1994.
CyberCemetery is an archive of government websites that have ceased operation
Digitization Projects Registry is a listing of U.S. Government publication digitization efforts
CyberCemetery archives ceased U.S. government websites, often of defunct government agencies and commissions.
Research Guide: U.S. Congressional Publications
Research Guide: Federal Legislative History
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 with American State Papers, 1789-1838 consists of reports, documents and journals of U.S. Congress, including reports originating in Executive Departments.
HeinOnline U.S. Congressional Documents provides full-text access to the published debates, proceedings and speeches of the U.S. Congress, including the Annals of Congress(1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837), Congressional Globe (1833-1873) and the Congressional Record (1873 to present).
ProQuest Congressional provides indexing for Congressional publications dating from 1790 to the present. Post-1970, full-text access is often available. Publications included are Committee Hearings, House and Senate Documents, House and Senate Reports, Senate Executive Reports, Senate Executive Treaty Documents, Legislative Histories, Serial Set Maps, Serial Set. More information. Research guides are available at the ProQuest Congressional wiki.
Research Guide: U.S. Presidential Documents
American President: A Reference Resource (Miller Center, University of Virginia).
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (University of California at Santa Barbara American Presidency Project)