[FAS] Music: Art, Rock, and Pop (the Library Guide)

Scholarly:

JSTOR Music

Project Muse

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature: Scholarly journal articles, essays, book chapters and more (more current than JSTOR!).

Popular:

Rock's Backpages:  Music journalism (reviews, profiles, interviews, general news), ranging from the Rolling Stone to local city papers.

HOLLIS +: Find full-text articles, electronic journals, resources and databases, across disciplines, save citations, and more. If you have partial information about an article, try using Citation Linker to locate.

Contemporary:

LexisNexis Academic (Harvard Users, 1980s-present, Full Text, good for major newspapers, New York Times, Billboard, Rolling Stone, Variety, etc.):
Includes articles about artists as well as concert and recording reviews.

Music Index (Harvard Users, 1976-present): Indexes scholarly publications and magazines such as Billboard, Rolling Stone, and other jazz and pop titles.

International Index to Music Periodicals (Harvard users): similar coverage to Music Index, more full text.

JSTOR Music (Harvard users)

Rock's Backpages : Selected full text and indexing of music journalism in major papers such as Rolling Stone, and hard to find local city papers, zines, and specialized publications.

Historical:

Print indexes to journals such as Music Index (Loeb Music Library holds 1949-2006, located in the depository.

Proquest Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive:  Primary sources for film, broadcasting, popular music and theatre, 1880 – 2000

Proquest Historical Newspapers: A great collection of historical archives from a number of American newspapers, all in scanned PDF form.  Titles include the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times and also a number of African American newspapers, such as the Chicago Defender and New York Amsterdam News.

Readers Guide Retrospective (Harvard Users, 1890-1982): indexes popular and general interest magazines published in the United States and Canada (Newsweek, Rolling Stone, etc)

Search Strategies: Try keyword or subject searching on performer, style, song or album titles, etc. Ex: "Sonic Youth Daydream Nation", "grunge", "Blondie", "punk" and so on.

For more sources (both periods) see Finding Concert Reviews.

Titltes are library use only (reference collection)