Film
Most films held by the Harvard Film Archive (HFA) now have records in HOLLIS. An overview of HFA collections is available. For questions about HFA contact Bob Sennett.
The Film Study Library on the 4th floor of Sever Hall has a large, non-circulating collection of videos which is not listed in HOLLIS. Viewing facilities available.
Library Guide: Film Periodicals
COLLATE: Collection of Censorship Documents contains around 6.500 digitized film-censorship related documents from Austria, Czechoslovakia and Germany in the 1920s-1930s.
Library of Congress Motion Picture Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division holds vast numbers of films. Most are not available online, but copies can sometimes be purchased. Many of these films are available through American Memory and the Prelinger Archives of "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films in the Internet Archive (select Search Moving Images). If the film you want is not evident on the LC website, enquire directly as the collection is not fully cataloged.
American History in Video has numerous modern documentaries together with newsreels from 1929 to the present.
Museum of Broadcast Communications
Internet Archive includes films, radio audio clips, news clips, educational films, advertisements, industry films, etc.
Library of American Broadcasting
European Film Gateway offers photos, posters, programmes, periodicals, censorship documents, feature and documentary films, newsreels and other materials preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques.
Filmarchives Online accesses catalogue information from European film archives.
Network of Multimedia Resource Centres (Germany) databases
Further Information