Research Guides: Animal Law Research: Home

Home

Welcome

Animal Law is concerned with the rights and welfare of nonhuman animals, as well as the requirements, responsibilities and liabilities associated with keeping or interacting with them. Under this umbrella are wild animals as well as animals used for food and research, in entertainment, and as companions, pets or service animals. This guide contains some research recommendations, highlighting key primary sources, secondary sources and current awareness sources.

Know that you may not find "animal law" as a discrete topic area in research databases. Instead, you might look to elements of property law, contract law, tort law, criminal law, environmental law, and agriculture and food law.

"farm animals" by lboren2687

Primary Sources: Cases, Statutes, Regulations and Treaties

Federal legislation

These are among the most researched and cited of animal laws at the federal level:

Congressional Research Service (CRS) and U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) reports provide additional context on the federal legislation.

CRS Reports relating to Animal Agriculture
Congressional Research Service reports organized by the National Agricultural Law Center
GAO Reports on the Humane Methods of Slaughter Act
GAO 10-203: Actions are Needed to Strengthen Enforcement
GAO Report on the Animal Welfare Act
GAO 10-945: Oversight of Dealers of Random Source Dogs and Cats Would Benefit from Additional Management Information and Analysis (2010)

State legislation

Massachusetts Law About Animals
A compilation of MA laws, regulations, cases and web sources on animal law from the Massachusetts Trial Court Law Libraries.
NCSL Environmental and Natural Resources State Bill Tracking Database
National Conference of State Legislatures tracks environment and natural resource bills introduced in the 50 states, territories and Washington, DC. Search here for wildlife bills, including invasive wildlife species and pollinators.
National AgLaw Center - State Animal Cruelty Statutes
A compilation from the National Agricultural Law Center of the animal cruelty statutes across the 50 states.

Applicable U.S. Government Agencies

Some Relevant International Agreements

Secondary Sources: Books, Articles

Using Secondary Sources

Secondary sources are a great place to begin if you're new to animal law research, or to consult later in your research for legal interpretation and analysis. To learn more about different types of secondary sources and how best to use them, visit the following guide:

Secondary Sources:
ALRs, Encyclopedias, Law Reviews, Restatements, & Treatises
by Catherine Biondo Last Updated Apr 12, 2024 9936 views this year

Selected Treatises and Other Texts

Animal Law in a Nutshell by Sonia Waisman; Pamela Frasch; Katherine Hessler Topics include animal anti-cruelty laws, industrial and agricultural uses of animals, torts and other claims for harm done to animals, as well as federal, state and local regulation of animal ownership and use, animal rights activism, hunting, fishing and other recreational uses of animals, animals in entertainment, issues arising when animals are the subject of a contract or the intended beneficiary of a will or trust, remedies for harm done to animals, international animal law, constitutional law issues, and anticipated future legal developments in the field.
ISBN: 9781684678853
Publication Date: 2020-12-07
Animal law in Australia and New Zealand by Deborah Cao ; with contributions by Katrina Sharman, Steven White. Review: "Laws governing the treatment of animals have been in place in the legal systems of Australia and New Zealand for many years, and some aspects of the animal welfare laws in these two systems are considered progressive at an international level. However, the study of animal law as an academic discipline and as part of legal education is a recent development in Australasia. Animal Law in Australia and New Zealand aims to contribute to establishing and furthering animal law as an independent branch of legal studies in these countries. Part I of the book focuses on the philosophical, scientific and historical aspects of animals in relation to law, providing the background against which animal law can be examined as a discipline and a branch of law. It considers the legal status of animals and raises questions as to whether the entrenched legal status of animals as property should be changed or modified in furtherance of animal protection. Part II of the book focuses on animal law in practice in Australia and New Zealand, covering legal frameworks for animal welfare law and an overview of the key provisions of the relevant laws. Later chapters detail the regulation of the treatment of companion animals, farm animals, wild animals and animals used in research. Animal Law in Australia and New Zealand is an introductory text covering animal law in Australasia and is ideal for university law students undertaking animal law, animal welfare law or animal rights courses; academics interested in animal welfare and the environment in general; lawyers who are interested in animal welfare and environment; animal rights advocates; and general readers with an interest in animal welfare." -- Back cover.
ISBN: 9780455226187
Publication Date: 2010
The Regulation of Animal Health and Welfare by John McEldowney; Wyn Grant; Graham Medley The Regulation of Animal Health and Welfare draws on the research of scientists, lawyers, economists and political scientists to address the current and future regulatory problems posed by the issues of animal health and disease. Recent events such as the outbreak of mad cow disease, epidemics of foot and mouth disease, concerns about bluetongue in sheep, and the entry into the food chain of the offspring of cloned cattle, have heightened awareness of the issues of regulation in animal disease and welfare. This book critically appraises the existing regulatory institutions and guiding principles of how best to maintain animal health in the context of social change and a developing global economy. Addressing considerations of sound science, the role of risk management, and the allocation of responsibilities, it also takes up the theoretical and practical challenges which here - and elsewhere - attend the co-operation of scientists, social scientists, lawyers and policy makers. Indeed, the collaboration of scientists and social scientists in determined and regulatory contexts such as that of animal disease is an issue of ever-increasing importance. This book will be of considerable value to those with interests in this issue, as well as those concerned with the law and policy relating to animal health and welfare.
ISBN: 9780415504744
Publication Date: 2013-11-08
Understanding Animal Law by Adam Karp This text not only covers obvious topics such as dangerous dog litigation, veterinary malpractice, wildlife law, service animals, valuation of animals, humans harmed by animals, end-of-life/euthanasia, and custody issues; but also provides analysis of other areas of law where they intersect with animal law issues, such as: criminal law, estate planning, consumer protection, bankruptcy, insurance law, contractual disputes, and Section 1983.
ISBN: 0769854206
Publication Date: 2016-10-25
A Worldview of Animal Law by Bruce A. Wagman; Matthew Liebman This is the first book of its kind -- an exciting and illustrative survey of the way different countries and cultures treat animals under the law. Given the breadth and scope of the legal treatment of animals around the world, the book presents selected issues and laws in a text that is readable and helpful to a wide range of readers, including students in undergraduate and post-graduate courses in sociology, cultural anthropology, international law, animal law, and animals in society. The book is also accessible to readers not matriculating through formal coursework, and provides any reader with a solid understanding of the varied approaches taken by countries around the world in connection with animals used in a number of areas. A Worldview of Animal Law is split into subject areas tied to the different ways we interact with animals in society, with a focus on comparing the laws in different countries in the current era. Its format and wide coverage make it interesting for readers in any country who want to know about this area of the law, whether for personal, educational or professional reasons. Unlike many casebooks on the market, this is not a law school text, and not a comprehensive survey of one specific country's laws; rather, it provides a more readable and wider view of the compelling issues that arise regarding the integration of animals into society. "A Worldview of Animal Law is a powerhouse of information for Animal Law professors and students as well as the curious citizen of the world. I highly recommend A Worldview of Animal Law to anyone interested in the state of Animal Law as it currently stands within the diverse countries which make up our planet." Jennifer A. Dietz, Adjunct Professor, Stetson University College of Law "[I]t is clear that seen globally animal law is a living organism. In their well-researched and highly readable study, Wagman and Liebman offer hope that by recognizing and treating causes rather than just bandaging symptoms we can help move that body along its journey toward health." John Thompson, ASI Diary
ISBN: 9781594604621
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Animal Law by David S. Favre This innovative book explores the emerging area of animal rights law. Animal Law: Welfare, Interest, and Rights asks the question, “What are the arguments for animal rights as a matter of philosophy and at law?” David Favre, a well-known figure in the area of animal rights, discusses how the legal system today deals with animal-human relationships as well as how it may do so in the future. David Favre, who has extensive experience teaching and speaking around the world on animal issues, has crafted an exceptional text. Among its many attributes: The author covers over 100 years of legal history regarding animal rights, beginning in 1867 with the adoption of the New York Anti-Cruelty Law. Materials are presented to highlight the animal issues that people most commonly face, including ownership, sales, divorce, recovery for damages for harm to animals, and providing for animals in wills. Criminal liability under state anti-cruelty laws is considered in detail, including topical issues such dog fighting And The hoarding of animals. Veterinary malpractice And The state’s ability to control animals such as dangerous dogs and pet snakes are explored. The status of commercial agricultural animals is presented in detail – including factual information and policy concepts – in order to consider what future law might be appropriate. The text offers engaging, student-friendly problems and case studies on many of the main topic areas in animal rights. Additional chapters, available on the Web as PDF files, include coverage of private regulation of ownership by landlords and condo associations, control of wildlife by the state, and animals in science Animal Law: Welfare, Interest, and Rights is certain to become the preeminent teaching tool in the area of animal rights. If you are teaching a course in animal rights law – or contemplating teaching one – be sure to examine this perceptive, comprehensive text. An author website to support classroom instruction using this title is available at http://www.aspenlawschool.com/favre . David Favre was recently interviewed on the ABC News regarding an Animal Rights case. View the video on ABC News now .
ISBN: 9780735573123
Publication Date: 2008-03-07

Tips on Finding Materials on Animal Law in Hollis

Try the following Library of Congress subject searches in the HOLLIS online catalog to find additional materials. You can also substitute another country's name or region of the world (such as "Latin America") where "United States" appears.

News, Current Awareness, Research and Advocacy

News

Legal blogs (or "blawgs") are a good way to tap into current conversation. Here are links to two blog listings:

Research and Advocacy

Harvard Law School - Animal Law & Policy Program
Started in 2014, the Brooks McCormick Jr. Animal Law & Policy Program at HLS is "Committed to analyzing and improving the treatment of animals through the legal system"
Animal Legal Defense Fund
The ALDF is a non-profit organization founded in 1979 by a group of animal law attorneys to advocate for humane treatment of animals through legal and legislative channels.