Research Guides: New England Naturalists: A Bio-Bibliography: Ph-Pu

Ph-Pu

Phillips, Charles Lincoln 1868-1946
b, Dighton; d, Taunton, MA; Railroads; Shells, butterflies; AOU

Phillips, John Charles 1876-

Mann, W. H. 1948. Ant Hill Odyssey. Boston: Little, Brown, [Trip to Near East of Phillips and Mann n 1914, pp. 144-175].

[Obituary]. 1938. Harvard Alumni Bulletin, vol. 41, no. 9 (November 25), p. 289.

Allen, G. M. 1939. In memoriam: John Charles Phillips, M.D. Auk, vol. 56, no. 3, pp. 221-226. Portrait.

Allen, G. M. 1939. John Charles Phillips. Journal of Mammalogy, v. 20, pp. 283-284.

Barbour, T. 1929. The Phillips collection of horns and antlers. Harvard Alumni Bulletin, v. 32, no. 4, pp. 108-110.

Barbour, T. 1940. Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 74, no. 6, pp. 155-157.

Barbour, Thomas. John Charles Phillips. Cambridge, MA: Privately printed at the Harvard University Press, 1939.

Coolidge, H. J. 1963. Notes on John C. Phillips whose memory is honored by this medal for distinguished service in international conservation... Cover page and 1 opening (2 pp.) Cover: Notes on Dr. John C. Phillips in whose memory the I.U.C.N. is awarding a medal for Distinguished Service in International Conservation at its Eighth General Assembly in Nairobi, Kenya. 16 Sept. 1963.

Griscom, L. 1938. New England Naturalist, vol. 1, p. 20.

M[urphy], R. C. 1939. John Charles Phillips. Bird-Lore, v. 41, pp. 69-70.

National cyclopaedia of American biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 29, pp. 121-122 (port.).

Publications by John C. Phillips, M.D. from 1900 to 1932. [n.p. 1932].LOCATION: Museum Comp Zoology: MCZ-P With: A typed list of his publications,1932-1938.

Information on Phillips' work with the Immigration Restriction League may be found in:
Jones, Jason Jonathon. 1992. Eugenics at Harvard. Thesis, A.B., Honors in History and Science, Harvard University, 115 leaves [Chapter6, pp. 89-106]
Harvard University Archives, Cambridge, MA.

Primary works

Outdoors with Colonel Bolling. Harvard Graduates' Magazine, December, 1921, p. [174]-[180].

A natural history of the ducks. 4 vols. With plates in color and in black and white from drawings by Frank W. Benson, Allan Brooks, and Louis Agassiz Fuertes. Boston, New York, Houghton Mifflin company, 1922-26 col. fronts, plates,(par col.) maps. . [v. 2 contains drawings by Henrik Grönvold, v. 4 by Henrik Grönvold and S. Koboyashi].

A natural history of the ducks. 4 v. NY: Dover, 1986. Review, New Yrok Times Book Review, Dec. 7, 1986, p. 68, col. 4

A sportsman's scrapbook. Ill. by A.L. Ripley. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Co., 1928.

A sportsman's second scrapbook. Ill. by A.L. Ripley. Boston, NewYork, Houghton Mifflin Company, 1933.

Books on natural history : including important works by Audubon, Elliot, Gould, Balden, Catesby, Lilford, Dresser, and Wilson : the ornithological library of the late [sic] Dr. John C. Phillips, Wenham, Massachusetts, sold by his order : the ornithological portion of the library of the late Thomas Mott Osborne, Auburn, New York, sold by order of his son, Lithgow Osborne ... with other properties. NY: American Art Association, Anderson Galleries, 1936, 38 p. ("Sale number 4246 ... public sale, March 26 [1936])

The ornithological library of Dr. John C. Phillips, Wenham, Massachusetts .NY: Anderson Galleries, 1936, [4], 38 p. (American Art Association, Anderson Galleries (Firm). Sale ; no. 4246). [Also contains the Ornithological portion of the library of the late Thomas Mott Osborne.

American game mammals and birds; a catalogue of books, 1582 to 1925, sport, natural history, and conservation. Boston, NewYork, Houghton Mifflin company, 1930, 638 pp.

American waterfowl; their present situation and the outlook for their future. With Frederick C. Lincoln. Ill. by Allan Brooks and A.L. Ripley. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1930, xiv + 312 pp., front., plates, maps. Plates are from drawings by Allan Brooks; the head-pieces are from drawings by A.L. Ripley

Bibliography of a natural history of the ducks. Cambridge: Riverside Press, 1926.

Boy journals, 1887-1892. Cambridge. Cosmos Press, priv. print. 1915.

Classics of the American shooting field; a mixed bag for the kindly sportsman, 1783-1926. ed. with Lewis Webb Hill. Front. by Frank W. Benson. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1930, xiv + 213 pp. col. front., illus., plates, facsims.

Shooting journal of George Henry Mackay, 1865-1922. Cambridge: Priv. Print. for John C. Phillips by the Cosmos Press, inc.,1929.

Migratory bird protection in North America; the history of control by the United States federal government and a sketch of the treaty with Great Britain. Cambridge? MA, 1934, 38 pp. (Special publication of the American Committee for International Wildlife Protection, vol. 1, no. 4)

Peabody, George Augustus. South American journals, 1858-1859. Salem MA: Peabody Museum, 1937.

Quick-water and smooth: a canoeist's guide to New England rivers. With Thomas D. Cabot. Brattleboro: Stephien Daye Press, 1935, 239 pp.

Shooting-stands of eastern Massachusetts. Cambridge: Priv. print., The Riverside press, 1929, 157 pp.

Wenham great pond. Salem: Peabody Museum, 1938, 108 pp..

Wenham Lake shooting record and the "Farmbag" 1897 to 1925. [s.l.: s.n.], 1926.

Wenham Lake shooting record and the "Farmbag", 1926 to 1935. Cambridge: The Cosmos Press, 1936.

"Wenham Lake and Farm Bag 1929-1930-1931-1932-1933." MS bound notebook, Wenham Historical Society

Wild birds introduced or transplanted in North America. Washington, DC: U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, 1928, 64 pp., (Technical Bulletin no 61) Contribution from the Bureau of Biological Survey.

Phillips, Hon. Stephen C.
Foreign shells; Dexter, 1977, p. 40.

Phippen, George D.
His plants in Tracy, 1858.; Dexter, 1980

Pickering, Charles 1805-1878
10 Nov. 1805-17 Mar. 1878

Portrait: Frontispiece of his Chronological history of plants, 1879.

American Journal of Science, ser. 3, vol 15, p. 408, 1878.

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Bouve, T. T. 1880. Anniversary Memoir of the Boston Society of Natural History, pp. 189-192.; ; "Centenary Celebration: The Wilkes Exploring Expedition of the United States Navy 1838-1842" (Proceedings of the American Philosophical Society, vol. 82, 1940), and

Essex Institute Bulletin, vol. 12 (1881), pp. 91-92.

Gifford, G. E. 1971. Condors and cannibals. Harvard Medical Alumni Bulletin, vol. 45, no. 3 (Jan.-Feb.), pp. ?????. Reprinted in Medicine and Science in Early America, Being the Collected Essays of George Edmund Gifford, Jr., 1930-1981. Friends of George E. Gifford, Jr., 1982, pp. 67-70.

Gray, A. 1878. Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 5, pp. 441-444. Reprinted in Scientific Papers of Asa Gray, vol. 2, pp. 406-410, 1889.

Harmond, R. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists, pp. 626-628.

Harshberger, J. 1899. Botanists of Philadelphia [Pickering, pp. 190-193]

Kelly, H. A. 1914. Some American Medical Botanists. Troy, NY [Pickering, pp. 151-153]

Marshall, Megan. 2005. The Peabody sisters: three women who ignited American romanticism. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2005, 602 p.

Very brief description of Pickering as a boy and mention of his expulsion from Harvard

Meisel, M. 1924-1929 A Bibliography of American Natural History: The Pioneer Century, 1769-1865

Royal Society of London. Catalogue of Scientific Papers (1867-1925).

Ruschenberger, W. S. W. 1878. Proceedings of the Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia, P. III???, vol. 30, pp. 165-170.

Scudder, S. H., ed. 1891-92. Some old correspondence between Harris, Say, and Pickering. Psyche, vol. 6, pp. 57-60, 121-124, 137-141, 169-172, 185-187, 297-298, 345-346, 357-358. Letters of Thaddeus William Harris and Charles Pickering to Thomas Say and his replies, 1823, 1825, 1834

Stanton, W. 1960. The Leopard's Spots: Scentific Attitudes toward Race in America 1815-1859.

Stanton, W. 1975. The Great United States Exploring Expedition.

Tyler, D. B. 1968. The Wilkes Expedition: The First United States Exploring Expedition

Primary works

Gave T. W. Harris specimens included in Harris' list in Edward Hitchcock's Report on the Geology, Mineralogy, Botany, and Zoology of Massachusetts, 1833, 1835.

Major collections of his papers are in the Massachusetts Historical Society, The Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia, American Philosophical Society (Samuel George Morton Papers), The Gray Herbarium Archives, Harvard University, and in the National Archives with the records of the U.S. Exploring Expedition.

1830 On the geographical distribution of plants. [Philadelphia: American Philosophical Society, v. 111, 1830]

1854 The geographical distribution of animals and plants [part I]. United States exploring expedition. During the years 1838, 1839, 1841, 1842. Under the command of Charles Wilkes, U.S.N.; vol. XV. Boston: Little, Brown, & Co., 1854.

1863 The geographical distribution of animals and plants. United States exploring expedition during the years 1838, 1839, 1840, 1841, 1842, under the command of Charles Wilkes, U.S.N.; v. 15. Boston: Gould and Lincoln, 1863.

1876 The geographical distribution of animals and plants: part II plants in their wild state. Salem: Naturalists' Agency, 1876. LOCATION: Tozzer: TECH. P 586 g Portfolio Library has: Part II. Plants in their wild state.

1879 Chronological history of plants: man's record of his own existence illustrated through their names, uses, and companionship. Boston, Little, Brown & company, 1879.

Pickman, Dr. Benjamin
Dexter, 1980, p. 24

Pierce
Litchfield, CT; Two generations of Pierce's had corresponded with John Torrey; Dupree, Gray, p. 179

Pierce, David
Curator, Northern Academy of Arts and Sciences, 1841; Meisel, 1841

Pierce, George Washington 1872-1956
11 Jan. 1872-25 Aug. 1956

Harvard physicist, retired to Franklin, NH. Worked on insect sounds. Both Vincent G. Dethier and Donald R. Griffin worked with him. See their essays in:

Leaders in the study of animal behavior : autobiographical perspectives, ed. by Donald A. Dewsbury. (Lewisburg, PA: Bucknell University Press ; London : Associated University Presses, 1985, 512 p. Reprinted as: Studying animal behavior : autobiographies of the founders. University of Chicago Press, 1989.

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Dethier, Vincent G. 1992. Crickets and katydids, concerts and solos. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 140 p. [Dethier’s account of his work for Pierce at his summer home in New Hampshire recording grasshopper and cricket sounds.]

Saunders, F. A. and F. V. Hunt. 1959. George Washington Pierce, January 11, 1872-August 25, 1956. National Academy of Sciences (U.S.) Biographical memoirs. New York. v. 33 [13th memoir], p. 351-380.

Pierson, E. L.

A list of Odonata (dragon flies) collected at Concord, Mass. Concord, MA: Thoreau Museum of Natural History Proceedings, vol. 1 (1915), p. 41.

Pillsbury, Frank Otis 1853-1927
b, Newburyport; d, Walpole; No publications; AOU

Plath, Otto E.1885-1940

d, Nov. 5, 1940.

Student of William Morton Wheeler at the Bussey Institution, Harvard University. Later professor of biology at Boston University.

Evans, M. A. and H. E. Evans. 1970. William Morton Wheeler, biologist. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 363 p. [p. 198 on Plath at the Bussey]

Bumblebees and their ways, with a foreword by William Morton Wheeler. NY: Macmillan, 1934, 201 p. col. front., illus., X pl. (2 col.)

Polis, Joseph

Joseph Polis, Thoreau's Maine guide: a literary portrait, by Mary P. Sherwood. Berwick, Ont.: Stormont Press, 1970, 11 pages

Pond, C. M.
Birds; Dexter, 1980, p. 27

Pool, Calvin
Rockport; Plants; Dexter, Two centuries, p. 248

Poole, Stephen D.
Exploring Circle; Lynn Natural History Society; Dexter, 1962, Lynn

Pope, Alton S.
Mammal papers, 1917-22; Based on fieldwork while a Bowdoin student, 1909-10; Norton, Mammals of Portland, pp. 138-139

Published with M. Copeland

Porter, E.H. and H.E.

Kearsarge birds. Wilson Bulletin, n.s., vol. 16 (1904), pp. 97-100.

Porter, Jacob 1783-1846

Dexter, F. B. 1911. Biographical Sketches of the Graduates of Yale College. Vol. 5. NY: Henry Holt. [Jacob Porter, pp. 603-606. Bibliography]

Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [pp. 46-47]

Floral and miscellaneous calendar for Plainfield, Mass., 100 miles west of Boston. Amer. J. Sci. 3 (1821), no. 2, pp. 273-84.

Floral calendar, etc., for Plainfield, Mass. American Journal of Science, vol. 1 (1818), pp 254-55.

Porter, Louis Hopkins 1874-1946
b, New York City; d, Stamford, CT; Yale, 1896; Studied law at Columbia; Lawyer; AOU

Potter, Jared

Thomas, H. 1958. The doctors Jared of Connecticut: Jared Eliot, Jared Potter, Jared Kirtland. Hamden, CT: Shoe String Press, 76 pp.

Pourtales, Louis Francois de 1824-1880
4 Mar. 1823-18 July 1880; b, Neuchatel, Switzerland; d, Beverly, MA

Abbott, R. T. 1973. American Malacologists: A National Register of Professional and Amateur Malacologists and Private Shell Collectors and Biographies of Early American Mollusk Workers between 1618 and 1900 Falls Church, VA: American Malacologists, 494 pp.

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 16 (1881), pp. 435-443

Lyman, T. 1883. Proceedings of the Boston Society of Natural History, vol. 21, pp. 47-48.

American Journal of Science, ser. 3, vol. 20 (1880), pp. 253-255.

Popular Science Monthly, vol. 18 (February, 1881), pp. 549-552. Portrait.

Agassiz, A. 1905. Biographical memoir of Louis François de Pourtalès 1824-1880. Biographical Memoirs of the National Academy of Sciences, vol.5, memoir 3, pp. 79-89. Portrait, bibliography. ????????????????

P. Godet, P. 1880. Le Comte Louis-François de Pourtalès. Bulletin de la Société des Sciences Naturelles de Neuchâtel, vol. 12.

Edward Lurie's Louis Agassiz: A Life in Science (1960).

Scheltema, R. S. & A. H.Scheltema, 1971/72. Deep-sea biological studies in America, 1846-1872 - their contribution to the Challenger Expedition. Proceedings of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (B), vol. 72.

Schopf, T. J. M. 1968. Atlantic continental shelf and slope of the United States--nineteenth century exploration. U. S. Geological Survey Professional Paper 529-F.

Surviving papers are with the Coast Survey records in the National Archives and at the Museum of Comparative Zoology at Harvard.

Agassiz, Alexander. Biographical sketch of Louis Francois de Pourtales. Cambridge: University Press, John Wilson and Son, 1881. LOCATION: Museum Comp Zoology: Spec. Coll. LOCATION: Museum Comp Zoology: B-Biography 7, 12 LOCATION: Widener: S 1708.126 LOCATION: Widener: LSoc 4685.55 vol.16

Der Boden des Golfstromes und der Atlantischen Kuste Nord-America's. LOCATION: Museum Comp Zoology: Z-Thalassography 25

On the Holothuriae of the Atlantic coast of the United States.

On the Gephyrea of the Atlantic coast of the United States.

Pratt, Sarah
Boston amateur supplied by John Warren

Prentiss, Dr. Daniel Webster, Jr. -Oct. 20, 1957
MD, George Washington University Medical School, 1899. Assistant to Frederick W. True of the US National Museum. Son of Daniel Webster Prentiss (1843-1899); Hume, E. E. 1942. Ornithologists of the United States Army Medical Corps. Baltimore, MD: The Johns Hopkins University Press, 583 pp.)

Description of an extinct mink from shell-heaps of the Maine coast. Proceedings of the U.S. National Museum, vol. 26 (1903), pp. 887-888.

Prescott, Dr. William 1788-1875
Founder, Lynn Natural History Society; Shells; Dexter, 1962, 1977, p. 40, 1980

Bouton, N. 1856. "Natural History Society". Pp. 475-476 in The History of Concord. Concord, NH: Benning W. Sanborn
Online version -- HathiTrust

Essex Institute Bulletin, vol. 8 (1877), pp. 43-44.

Kelly, H. A. & W. L. Burrage. 1928. Dictionary of American Medical Biography. NY: D. Appleton, 1364 pp.

Prime, Temple 1832-1903
b, Battery Place; d, New York City, NY; Studied with L. Agassiz

Johnson, R. I. 1959. The types of Corbiculidae and Sphaeriidae (Mollusca: Pelecypoda) in the Museum of Comparative Zoology, and a bio -bibliographical sketch of Temple Prime, an early specialist of the group. Bulletin of the Museum of Comparative Zoology at Harvard College, v.120, no.4, pp. 429-479, pl. 1-8. Port.

List of the species of Mollusca found in the vicinity of North Conway, New Hampshire. Annals of the Lyceum of Natural History of New York, vol. 9 (1870), pp 280-281.

Catalogue of the species of Corbiculadae in the collection of Temple Prime, now forming part of the collection of the Museum of Comparative Zoology at Cambridge, Massachusetts. [Cambridge?]: T. Prime, 1895.

Prime, W. C.

Wallner, J. S. 1977. Butterflies and trout: Annie Trumbull Slosson and W. C. Prime in Franconia. Historical New Hampshire, vol. 32, no. 3, pp. 129-143.

Prince, Frances C.

Trees in Brookline, Massachusetts, by F. C. P. and Emma G. Cummings. Boston, MA: Macullar Parker Co., c1900. 8 p., [1] leaf of plates : col. folded map ; 19 cm.

Trees in Brookline, Massachusetts: map and index, by F. C. P. and Emma G. Cummings. Boston, Geo[rge] H. Walker and Co. c1900. 8 + 1 p. (folded) maps.

Prince, Rev. John

National cyclopaedia of American biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 7.

Schechner, Sara J. 1982. John Prince and Early American Scientific Instrument Making. Pp. 431-503 in Sibley's Heir: A Volume in Memory of Clifford Kenyon Shipton. Boston: Colonial Society of Massachusetts.

Upham, C. W. 1836. Memoir of Rev. John Prince, L.L.D. Collections of the Massachusetts Historical Society, ser. 3, vol. 5, pp. 271-282.

Prince, Thomas

Hornberger, T. R. 1936. The science of Thomas Prince. New England Quarterly, vol. 9, pp. 26-42.

Van de Wetering, J. E. 1965. God, science, and the Puritan dilemma. New England Quarterly, vol. 38, pp. 494-507.

Pringle, Cyrus Guernsey 1838-1911
b, Charlotte, VT; ScD, University of Vermont, 1906; Botanical collector, Harvard University, 1893-; Keeper, Herbarium, University of Vermont; Botanical exploration of Mexico

Brainard, E. 1911. Cyrus Guernsey Pringle. Rhodora, vol. 13, no. 155 (November), pp. 225-232. Portrait.

Charette, L. A. 1962. The prince of botanical collectors: Pringle and his herbarium. Vermont Alumni Magazine, vol. 42, no. 4 (April), pp. 4-7.

Dann, K. T. 1986. The prince of plant collectors finds a home at UVM. Vermont (Winter), pp. 7-10.

Davis, H. B. 1938. The Pringle Herbarium and its founder. Vermont Alumni Magazine, vol. 17 (March), pp. 164-165.

Death of Cyrus G. Pringle. UVM Notes, vol. 7 (May, 1911), pp. 8-10.

Dodge, B. S. 1971. Cyrus Guernsey Pringle: portrait of a self-made scientist. New-England Galaxy, vol. 13, no. 2, pp. 40-47.

Harris, K. M. 1986. Cyrus G. Pringle's neighborhood: Baptist Four Corners and Prindle Corners, Charlotte, Vermont. Chittenden County Historical Society Bulletin, vol. 21 (Summer), pp. 1-6.

Horsford, M. 1918. Dr. Cyrus Guernsey Pringle. Vermonter, vol. 23, pp. 12-14.

Jones, L. R. 1902. The Pringle and Frost herbaria at the University of Vermont. Rhodora, vol. 4, no. 45 (September), pp. 171-174.

Nicholson R. 2001. The splendid haul of Cyrus Guernsey Pringle. Arnoldia, v. 61, no. 1, pp. 2-9.

Recent articles on the late Dr. Pringle. UVM Notes, vol. 8 (December, 1911), pp. 10-12.

Reminiscences of botanical rambles in Vermont. Bulletin of the Torrey Botanical Club, vol. 24 (1897), pp. 350-357. Reprinted from the Burlington Free Press, 9 February 1897.

Davis, H. B. Life and work of Cyrus Guernsey Pringle. Burlington, Vt., Free Press Printing Co. [1936] 3p., 756p. front.,illus.(maps)ports. Life of Pringle [pp 1-17], Diaries of Mexican trips, Notes on Mexican travel, Classified list of plants collected, Numerical list of plants collected, "Type herbarium" in National herbarium, Supplementary list recently distributed. On cover: Published by University of Vermont.

Civil war diary of Cyrus Pringle, foreword by Henry J. Cadbury. Wallingford, Pa. : Pendle Hill, 1962. 39 p. ; 19 cm. (Pendle Hill pamphlet, 122) Originally in the Atlantic monthly, vol. III, no. 2 (February 1913): 'The United States versus Pringle' ... Published in book form by Macmillan in 1918 [under title: The record of a Quaker conscience]"

The record of a Quaker conscience: Cyrus Pringle's diary. with an introduction by Rufus M. Jones. New York : The Macmillan company, 1918. 93 p. 18 cm.

Robinson, B. L. 1916. Cyrus Guernsey Pringle (1838-1911). Proc. Am. Acad. 51: 912-916.

Reid, A. M. M. 1987. Pioneer New England bryologists : a prosopography. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University (Occasional papers of the Farlow Herbarium of Cryptogamic Botany, no. 19), 71 pp. [pp. 47-50]

Pringle Herbarium (Burlington, Vt.) 1958. Catalogue of the duplicate and undistributed specimens collected by Cyrus G. Pringle in the U.S., Mexico & Cuba. Burlington, VT: Pringle Herbarium, 63 leaves (Addenda to 5 Feb. 1959 inserted).

Procter, William 1872-1951
b, Cincinnati, OH; d, Palm Beach, FL; Yale, 1894; Columbia, Zoology, 1916-1920; Businessman; Summered on Mt. Desert Island; Editor, Annals of the Entomological Society of America; Managerial Board, Wistar Institute; Trustee, American Museum of Natural History; AOU

Alexander, C. P. 1951. Doctor William Procter (1872-1951). Entomological News, v. 62 (October), pp. 237-241.

Auk, v. 69, p. 349. July, 1951.

New York Times, April 21, 1951, p. 17

Works:

The insect fauna; with references to methods of capture, food plants, the flora and other biological features, by William Procter ... from the laboratory of the biological survey of the Mount Desert region, Corfield, Bar Harbor, Maine. Philadelphia, Wistar institute of anatomy and biology [c1938] 496 p. 26 cm. Biological survey of the Mount Desert region, founded and directed by William procter ... Part 4

Biological survey of the Mount Desert Region. Philadelphia: Wistar Institute of Anatomy and Biology, 7 v. in 4. 1927-1946.illus., plates, ports., maps. Parts II, III, and IV, originally published as pamphlets, are bound at end of pt. V.

pt. I. The insect fauna, with reference to the flora and other biological features, by C.W. Johnson.
pt. II. Fishes; a contribution to the life-history of the angler (Lophius piscatorius) by the survey staff.
pt. III. Crustacea; new crustacea from the Mount Desert Region, by C.H. Blake.
pt. IV. Vermes; three new species of worms belonging to the order Echinodera, by C.H. Blake, 1938.
pt. V. A report of the organization, laboratory equipment, methods and station lists, together with a list of the marine fauna, with descriptions and places of capture. To which is added a list of the Arachnida and other non-marine forms.
pt. VI. The insect fauna, with references to methods of capture, food plants, the flora and other biological features, by William Procter.
pt. VII. (Being a revision of pts. I and VI) The insect fauna with references to methods of capture, food plants, the flora and other biological features, 1946, 566 pp.

Pulsifer, Harold Trowbridge 1886-1948; b, Manchester, CT; d, Sarasota, FL; Harvard, 1911; Editorial staff, "Outlook," 1913-1928; Angler; AOU, Assoc. since 1947; AOU

Purdie, Henry Augustus -1911; d, Boston; Founding member, AOU, Nuttall; AOU

Brewster, W. In memoriam: Henry Augustus Purdie. The Auk, xxix:1-15. 1912.

Notice of a few birds of rare or accidental occurrence in New England. Bulletin Nuttall, v. 2, pp. 20-22.

Putnam, Frederic Ward 1839-1915
16 Apr. 1839-14 Aug. 1915; b, Salem, MA; Harvard, BS, 1862; AOU

American Men of Science, ed. 3 (1921)

Boulanger, M. T. 2006. Bibliography for the study of Frederic Ward Putnam.
homepage.mac.com/matthewboulanger/putnam_biblio.html

Abbott, C. C. 1886. Frederic Ward Putnam. Popular Science Monthly, vol. 29 (September), pp. 693-697.

American National Biography, ed. by J. A. Garraty and M. C. Carnes. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999. 24 v. plus 2 supplements. Online version available.

Sterling, K. B. et al., eds. 1997. Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 937 pp. [pp. 650-652].

Dexter, R. W. 1976. The role of F.W. Putnam in developing anthropology at the American Museum of Natural History. Curator, 19: 303-310.

Dexter, R. W. 1978. Guess who's not coming to dinner: Frederic Ward Putnam and the support of women in anthropology. History of Anthropology Newsletter, 5(1): 5-6.

Dexter, R. W. 1981. F. W. Putnam's role in developing the Peabody Museum of American Archaeology and Ethnology. Curator, vol. 23, no. 3, pp. 183-194.

Dexter, R. W. 1982. F. W. Putnam as Secretary of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (1873-1898). Essex Institute Historical Collection, 118: 106-118.

Dexter, R. W. 1982. The Putnam-Metz Correspondence on mound explorations in Ohio. Ohio Archaeologist, 32(4): 24-28.

Dexter, R. W. 1984. F. W. Putnam's scientific studies at Mammoth Cave (1871-1881). National Speleological Society Bulletin, 46(Apr.): 10-14.

Dexter, R. W. 1984. "Dear Alice": Letters of F. W. Putnam to his daughter (1874-1914). Essex Institute Historical Collection, 120: 110-131.

Dexter, R. W. 1985. Contributions of F. W. Putnam (1839-1915) to archaeoethnobiology. Journal of Ethnobiology, 5(2): 135-141.

Dexter, R. W. 1989. The Putnam-Kroeber relations in the development of American anthropology. Journal of California and Great Basin Anthropology, 11(1): 91-96.

Dexter, R. W. 1990. The F. W. Putnam-Edward Palmer relations in the development of early American ethnobotany. Journal of Ethnobotany, vol. 10, no. 1, pp. 35-41.

Dictionary of scientific biography, ed. by C. C. Gillispie. 18 v. NY: Scribner, 1970-1990.(by J. W. Gruber)

Dixon, R. B. 1916. Frederic Ward Putnam. Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, vol. 51, pp. 920-921.

Kroeber, A. L. 1916. Frederic Ward Putnam. American Anthropologist, n.s. vol. 17, pp. 712-718.

Mark, J. 1980. Four Anthropologists: An American Science in its Early Years. NY: Science History Press, 209 pp. [Chapter 2, pp. 14-61, on Putnam]

Mead, F. H. 1909. Bibliography of Frederic Ward Putnam. NY: Stechert. Putnam Anniversary Volume, pp. 601-627.

Mead, Frances Harvey. Bibliography of Frederic Ward Putnam. Cedar Rapids, Iowa : Torch Press, 1909. 602-627 p. From the Putnam Anniversary Volume.

Morse, E. S. 1915 or 16. Frederic Ward Putnam. Essex Institute Historical Collections, vol. 52, pp. 193-196.

National cyclopaedia of American biography. (NY: J.T. White, 1898-1984), vol. 3, p. 102-103 (1893).

Phillips, P., ed. 1973. The Archaeological Reports of Frederic Ward Putnam Selected from the Annual Reports of the Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology, Harvard University, 1875-1903. NY: AMS Press for the Peabody Museum, 255 pp.

Putnam, F. W. 1984. Dear Alice--letters of F. W. Putnam to his daughter (1874-1914). Essex Institute Historical Collections, vol. 120, pp. 110-131.

Putnam anniversary volume; anthropological essays presented to Frederic Ward Putnam in honor of his seventieth birthday, April 16, 1909, by his friends and associates. New York, G. E. Stechert & co., 1909. 4 p. l., 627 p. [36] leaves of plates. Port. Reprint with a new introd. by Stephen Williams. NY: AMS Press for Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology, Cambridge, Mass., 1976.

Tozzer, A. M. 1935. Biographical memoir of Frederic Ward Putnam, 1839-1915, by William Trelease. Presented to the Academy at the annual meeting, 1933. p. 125-153. front. (port.) 23 cm. National Academy of Sciences (U.S.) Biographical memoirs, vol XVI-4th memoir Bibliography.

Wissler, C. 1915. American Museum Journal, vol. 15, pp. 315-317.

Science, n.s., vol. 42 (1915), pp. 638-639.

Catalogue of the birds of Essex County, Massachusetts, 1856. LOCATION: Museum Comp Zoology: A-P LOCATION: MCZ: Birds 3