Federal Election Statistics & Data
- CQ Voting & Elections Collection (Harvard Login)Historical data on elections (presidential, congressional and gubernatorial), campaign finances, voter demographics, voter turnout, and political parties.
- Dave Leip Election Data (Harvard Login)Presidential county-level election results for 1912-2020.
U.S. Presidential Primary election results results for 2000-2020.
U.S. President general county level voter registration and turnout data for 1992-2020.
U.S. House of Representatives results for 1992-2020.
U.S. Senate results for 1990-2020.
Governor General County election data results for 1990-2020. - The Cook Political Report Registration (Harvard Login)Non-partisan newsletter that analyzes elections and campaigns for the US House of Representatives, US Senate, Governors and President as well as American political trends.
Accounts will be created by The Cook Political Report on Thursdays only. On the first Thursday after registering you will receive an email with the subject line: Welcome to The Cook Political Report! Here are the set-up instructions for your account. Follow the instructions to log in create a password for your account. After signing up, you can access by logging in on the main page. - D3P's State by State Election DatabaseDataset from Defending Digital Democracy detailing the most relevant state-specific factors that describe the election process and may affect timelines for tabulating and reporting election results. This data set currently provides information on and analysis for state-specific regulations regarding: getting a ballot, return timing for ballots, ease of voting by mail factors, processing, counting, and curing mail-in ballots, early voting, provisional ballots, and canvassing and certifying results.
- Partisan Segregation ProjectMaps showing the segregation between Democrats and Republicans in the U.S. for metropolitan areas and Congressional Districts. State voterfiles were used to map the location of every individual voter in order to calculate the segregation. Read the working paper for this project to learn more.
- 270toWinMaps of electoral college votes back to 1789. Also includes voting history and trends by state.
- American Presidency Project: Presidential Elections DataPresidential election data from 1789-present.
- Election StatisticsOfficial state-by-state vote counts in federal elections from 1920 through 2018 from the U.S. House of Representatives.
- Electoral College Historical Election VotesView the electoral votes, popular votes, electors, and certificates of past presidential elections.
- Harvard Election Data ArchiveCore data for the archive are state, county and district level election returns for all recent state and federal elections in the United States.
- A New Nation Votes: American Election Returns, 1787-1825Data from America's earliest elections, between 1787 and 1825. The electoral data from the site covers offices from the United States president down to local offices such as alderman and county coroner.
- Voting America: United States Politics, 1840-2008Animated maps of presidential election data at the county level across time (actual returns, margin of victory, party strength, population, voter turnout).
- MIT Election LabElection-related datasets from both the MIT Election Lab itself and third-party contributors, with varying coverage ranges and levels of granularity.
- Election Data at KaggleOpen-access datasets about U.S. and foreign elections; formats, methodologies, coverage dates, and levels of granularity vary.
- Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP)Provides research and data resources on women's participation in American politics. Check the "Election Watch" section for detailed information on past and upcoming election cycles.
Election Turnout
- U.S. Election Assistance CommissionThe EAC studies election administration issues. EAC datasets for selected reports are available for download.
- U.S. Elections ProjectProvide timely and accurate election statistics, electoral laws, research reports, and other useful information regarding the United States electoral system with a focus on voting turnout.
- Voting and RegistrationInformation on reported voting and registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics is collected for the nation in November of Congressional and Presidential election years in the United States Census Bureau Current Population Survey.
Polls & Surveys
- Pew Research Center - Elections & CampaignsPolls and studies back to 2002.
- Gallup - PoliticsPolls and studies related to U.S. politics.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion (Harvard Login)Includes the iPOLL Databank, a comprehensive, up-to-date resource for US public opinion poll data. Also, includes information about presidential and congressional election data including approval ratings.
- Cooperative Congressional Election StudyThe CCES is a 50,000+ person national stratified sample survey administered by YouGov. Half of the questionnaire consists of Common Content asked of all 50,000+ people, and half of the questionnaire consists of Team Content designed by each individual participating team and asked of a subset of 1,000 people. In addition, several teams may pool their resources to create Group Content.
- American National Election StudiesANES provides data on voting, public opinion, and political participation. Free registration is required to view and download data.
- Electoral Integrity ProjectA collaboration between Harvard & Sidney University researchers, this survey gathers data from 1,429 domestic and international election experts on the integrity of elections. The Year in Election 2014 data set includes 127 national parliamentary and presidential contests held from 1 July 2012 to 31 December 2014 in 107 nations.
- National Annenberg Election SurveyThe NAES examines political attitudes about candidates, issues and the traits Americans want in a president. It also looks at the effects of media exposure through campaign commercials and news from radio, television and newspapers and it measures the effects of other kinds of political communication, from conversations at home and on the job to various efforts by campaigns to influence potential voters. Surveys have been completed for the 2000, 2004, and 2008 elections. Researchers can request access to this data at https://www.annenbergpublicpolicycenter.org/data-access/.
State & Local Data
Individual Board of Elections or Department of State websites can be excellent sources for the election results. These results can include general and primary elections for state and federal offices as well as municipal election data. County and city websites and public libraries should also be checked for results of local elections.
For Massachusetts:
- Massachusetts Election Statistics Online: a searchable database of Massachusetts historical election information contained in Public Document 43.
- Massachusetts Elections Division