English-Language Chinese Papers
NexisUni (1980s- ) is the usual first choice for finding recent newspaper articles, with full text (pictures omitted) coverage of numerous U.S. and overseas newspapers.
- Choose Advanced Search
- Select a Specific Content type: News
- Enter your search terms
- Narrow as needed on left
To get international publications, limit by "Location by Publication" on left-hand side to "International", then drive down to your country.
Factiva (1980s- ) offers full text (pictures omitted) of over 6,000 newspapers, magazines, wire services and trade journals.
Note that the default Date is In the last 3 months.
Limit to articles about a certain region by opening All Regions, then driving down to your country. Sources emanating from a particular country can be identified under Sources on the left of the Results page.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1947-1996. The Foreign Broadcast Information Service is a US government agency which translates daily radio and television broadcasts, newspapers and periodicals, government statements, books, etc. from non-English sources worldwide. Reports with translations are issued for eight world regions daily and cover such topics as military affairs, politics, the environment, societal issues, economics, and science and technology.
Online Newspapers by Country and English International Newspapers list current English-language newspapers. Where no archives are provided on the newspaper website, often the Internet Archive Wayback Machine has issues sometimes back to 2000. Especially for the earlier years, available issues may be scattered. and sometimes the websites are not fully functional.
Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) offers English-language newspapers published in China.
Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers (1911-1949)
East Asian Newspapers and Periodicals 1850-1950 (Internet Archive) -- Chinese papers
Manchuria daily news online (1908-1940)
NewspaperARCHIVE includes the North China Herald (1850-1926) -- North China Herald (1850-1941) (Internet Archive)
Old Hong Kong newspapers (Hong Kong Public Libraries). Through early 20th century.
Translations of the Peking Gazette Online (1793-1912; selected material)
Peking Review / Beijing Review (1958-2016 incomplete) Whole Issues & Individual Articles, Mostly from the Maoist Revolutionary Era
China daily [International ed.]. / Beijing : China Daily, 1981-
HOLLIS Record Available online: 1993-
Widener has microfilm of several pre-1949 English-language papers published in China. In the Widener Newspaper Microfilm Non-US holdings list, choose Country: China. They are housed in the Newspaper Microfilm Room (Widener 1st floor, to your right just after you pass the elevator on entering the stacks).