[FAS] Music: California in the 60s: Library Guide

Where can I find major newspaper articles and reviews?

• Proquest News and Newspapers: A great collection of full-text archives from national and regional American newspapers.Titles include major papers like the Los Angeles Times, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Times, Boston Globe, and Washington Post, and also a number of African American asuch as the Chicago Defender and New York Amsterdam News.

Where can I find music journalism from local papers, magazines, and zines?

• Rock's Backpages: Selected music journalism (reviews, profiles, interviews, general news) from local papers, prominent pop music publications like Rolling Stone, and zines like Mojo-Navigator and Crawdaddy.

Where can I find music magazines like Rolling Stone, or entertainment press like Billboard and Variety?

• Rolling Stone: Rolling Stone online - choose the Rolling Stone Archive from the list of access options to see the complete run of issues from 1967-present. Also available on microfilm at Lamont: Film S 1030.
• Proquest Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (1880-2000): Full text of popular and industry magazines for film, broadcasting, popular music and theatre (titles like Billboard and Variety). Includes a subcollection, Music Magazine Archive: Rock, with a selection of magazines and zines from the 1960s-2010s, including titles like CREEM, Royal's World Countdown, Fusion, Jazz & Pop, and Trouser Press.
• Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982): indexes popular and general interest magazines published in the United States and Canada (titles like Newsweek, Rolling Stone, etc.).
• Music Index (1949-1969): An index of articles in both scholarly journals and popular magazines such as Billboard, Rolling Stone, Crawdaddy, and other jazz and pop titles. Indexes for 1949-1969 are available in print: Loeb Music Library Offsite Storage, ML118.M84; 1970-present available online.

Where can I find scholarly articles about music in the 1960s?

• Music Periodicals Index : An index of articles from over 400 scholarly and popular music periodicals, plus full text for around 140 titles.
• RILM Abstracts of Music Literature: An index of scholarly journal articles, essays, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations.
• JSTOR: Full-text back issues of many academic journals, including over 100 music and performing arts titles, like American Music and Popular Music. Watch out! JSTOR does not include the most recent 3-5 years of journal contents.  
• Project Muse: Full-text recent issues of over 400 scholarly journals like American Music, in a range of disciplines, plus 1000s of ebooks from academic publishers.

To find books about specific magazines, like these article compilations and indices, used the advanced search in HOLLIS to look for the title of the magazine as a subject.