Finding Secondary Sources

Most important sources of historical articles:

America: History and Life (1955- ) includes books, book chapters, journal articles, and book reviews on North American history.

Historical Abstracts (1954- ) includes books, book chapters, journal articles (but not book reviews) for non-North American history, 1450-date.

JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of over 400 journals. Allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional, of many African-American studies and historical journals. List of included journals.

Web of Science Citation Indexes allow citation searching, that is, starting with an article of interest and finding more recent articles that have cited it. More information.

Chicano Database (1967- ) indexes publications on Mexican-American topics and about Chicanos.  Records added since 1992 have expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.

Handbook of Latin American studies (1936- ) is a comprehensive annotated bibliography. Not every subject occurs in each volume. Since 1963, social science and humanities are issued in alternate years. A topical article is included in each volume. Also available in print:
LOCATION: Gutman Education: Z1605.I123 1963-1971
LOCATION: Lamont: REF.ROOM F1408.Z99 H23x Latest fifteen years only
LOCATION: Tozzer: REF F 1401.Z99 H3 1936- .
LOCATION: Widener: RR3653.4 Latest ten years only
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC F1408.Z99 H36x Earlier

HAPI, Hispanic American periodicals index (1970- ) indexes most Latin American periodicals in full, and articles on Latin America and U. S. Hispanics from periodicals worldwide. Includes book reviews. Also available in print:
LOCATION: Tozzer: REF F 1408.H3
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663.219 & 663.221.

Additional Sources

Oxford Bibliographies. Latin American Studies

Digitalia Hispanica is an ebook collection.

Latin American History Collection eBooks offers full text of monographs on Latin American history, mostly published in Spain.

Biblioteca Virtual de CLACSO - Bases de Datos y Textos Completos (1993- ) offers full text of books, periodical articles, theses and conference papers, in Spanish and Portuguese, on Latin American and Caribbean social sciences.

Index to Latin American periodical literature (1929 -70) lists articles from around 3000 periodicals, arranged by author and subject. For articles before 1951, only authors of literary significance were used as author entries. Articles indexed in Indice general de publicaciones periodicas latinoamericanas (below) are not indexed here.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663. 235 F (In Reference Room, not Loker Reading Room)

Index to Mexican literary periodicals covers 16 periodicals, 1920-1960, otherwise largely unindexed.
LOCATION: Widener | SAL 1440.3.45

JSTOR allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional, of several Latin American studies journals. JSTOR provides a list of included Latin American studies journals.

Latin America in periodical literature, 1961-1963.
LOCATION: Widener: SA 5.300 Library has: 1,1962+

Online Bibliography on Environmental History of Latin America

Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal (2002- ) offers full-text articles from scholarly journals published primarily in Latin American and Caribbean countries in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Scientific Electronic Library Online includes full text of scientific journals published in Latin America beginning in 1997, in English, Portuguese and Spanish. Includes humanities topics.

Sumarios ISOC - América Latina covers humanities and social sciences articles. Some citations from 1960s but mainly more recent.

ACLS Humanities E-Book Project includes over 2200 largely history titles. Largely 1950-1999, some earlier, later. Full text searchable over whole collection. Browsable and searchable by LC Subject Heading. Links to book reviews in JSTOR, Project Muse and History Cooperative. Linked from HOLLIS records.

PAO Historical Studies Collection includes searchable full text of about 100 journals in history from their inception to 1995. Same journals are indexed in Periodicals Index Online, with links to the full text in PAO Historical Studies Collection, but are not full text searchable there. There are no links from HOLLIS to included journals.

Periodicals Index Online indexes over 5500 English and Western European language journals from their inceptions to 1995. Includes 218 journals in American history and 840 journals in world history. Also numerous journals in related subjects. Limit to historical journals by adjusting Journal Subject(s) menu to History (General) or History (The Americas), although this will exclude historical articles in non-history journals.