Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks are handy for getting a quick general overview of a specific topic. You can try searching in HOLLIS for your Subject plus the words encyclopedias OR dictionaries OR handbooks.
For example Mexico AND History AND (encyclopedias or dictionaries)
Also try your topic combined with the Title keyword Companion in HOLLIS+ Advanced search
Borges (Keyword or Subject)
Companion (Title keyword)
To find individual encyclopedia articles in HOLLIS, using HOLLIS Everything, do a keyword search on your topic and in the results list look for Resource Type under Refine Your Results in the right-hand column. Choose Reference entries.
Oxford research encyclopedias. Latin American history include informative essays on various topics, plus bibliographies of primary and secondary sources.
Encyclopedia of diasporas : immigrant and refugee cultures around the world
Cambridge Histories Online cover 14 subject areas including General History, Regional History, Literary Studies, Philosophy and Religion
The Cambridge history of Latin America, ed. by Leslie Bethell. Cambridge; NY: Cambridge University Press, 1984-2008. 11 v. in 12.
Andover-Harv. Theol | Ref. | F1410 .C1834 1984
Lamont | Reserves | F1410 .C1834 1984
Lamont | F1410 .C1834 1984
Widener | WID-LC | F1410 .C1834x 1984
Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection. To see the reference books included, choose ‘Browse & search books’ in the left hand column. Under Refine by Subject, the + signs allow another layer of narrowing.
Search the Oxford Handbooks and the Cambridge and Blackwell Companions with searches of the form:
Eugenics AND ("oxford handbook" OR "Cambridge companion" OR "Blackwell companion")
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures: the civilizations of Mexico and Central America, ed. by Davíd Carrasco. Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 2001, 3 v.
Location : Andover-Harv. Theol Ref. F1218.6 .O95 2001
Location : Lamont REFERENCE F1218.6 .O95 2001
Location : Tozzer REF F1218.6 .O95 2001
Location : Widener WID-LC F1218.6 .O95 2001
Handbook of Middle American Indians. ed. by Robert Wauchope. Austin : University of Texas Press, 1964- . 16 v.
Location : Lamont F1434 .H3
Location : Tozzer REF F 1434 .H3
Location : Widener SA3885.12
Historical dictionary of Mexico, by Marvin Alisky. 2nd ed. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2008, 708 p.
Volumes on other countries can be found by searching in HOLLIS and in Internet Archive "Historical dictionary of" and country name.