Finding Secondary Sources
Look for specialized subject bibliographies which may include secondary sources in the HOLLIS Catalog: Search, e.g., <"science and state" [Keyword search] and bibliography [Subject Keyword search]> on Expanded Search screen or in WorldCat.
Oxford Bibliographies Online are literature guides in several humanities and social sciences areas.
ACLS Humanities E-Book Project includes over 2200 largely history titles. Largely 1950-1999, some earlier, later. Full text searchable over whole collection. Browsable and searchable by LC Subject Heading. Links to book reviews in JSTOR, Project Muse and History Cooperative. Linked from HOLLIS records.
America: History and Life (1955- ) includes books, book chapters, journal articles, and book reviews.
Historical Abstracts (1954- ) includes books, book chapters, journal articles (but not book reviews) for non-North American history, 1450-date.
Royal Historical Society Bibliography is a comprehensive bibliography of secondary sources dealing with the British Isles, British Empire and Commonwealth from 55 BC to the present.
JSTOR offers full-text of complete runs (up to about 5 years ago) of over 400 journals. Allows simultaneous or individual searching, full-text searching optional, of many historical journals. List of included journals.
Periodicals Index Online indexes over 5500 English and Western European language journals from their inceptions to 1995. Includes 218 journals in American history and 840 journals in world history. Also numerous journals in related subjects. Limit to historical journals by adjusting Journal Subject(s) menu to History (General) or History (The Americas), although this will exclude historical articles in non-history journals.
PAO Historical Studies Collection includes searchable full text of about 100 journals in history from their inception to 1995. Full text subset of the non-full test searchable Periodicals Index Online. There are no links from HOLLIS to included journals.
Bibliographie internationale de la demographie historique (1978- ) offers references with brief annotations arranged by subject classification, with author, chronological, and geographical indexes.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC HB871.B52x
Bibliography of American historical societies (the United States and the dominion of Canada) gives contents of their proceedings and other publications with a subject index.
LOCATION: Widener: US 27.17 vol.1905, no.2 American historical association. Annual report, 1905, v. 2. 2d ed.
LOCATION: Widener: US 57.33.3
LOCATION: Widener: US 57.41
Classified bibliography of the periodical literature of the trans-Mississippi West (1811-1957). Classified by subject with author index. No subject index.
LOCATION: Widener: Soc 501.461 vol.19
LOCATION: Widener: Soc 501.461 vol.26 A supplement (1957-67), 1970
Cumulated magazine subject index (1907-1949) indexes periodicals not included in other indexes. Good for history, especially local history, outdoor subjects, library science (1918-49), and fine arts. Arranged by subject, except for literary works by major authors, which are listed by author. Minor literary works are omitted.
LOCATION: Widener: RR 663. 3.5 F Library has: 2 v.
Periodical source index (1986- ) indexes genealogical periodicals.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC CS1.P47 (1986-1997)
Retrospective edition: Periodical source index, 1847-1985 covers the United States (fiche 1-20), non-U.S. (fiche 21-23), and families (fiche 24-40).
Location : Microforms (Lamont) Microfiche W 5296
Location : Widener WID-LC CS9.Z99 P47 1988x (vol. 17 only)
Writings on American history (1902-1990) is a classified bibliography of books (through 1973 only) and articles (book reviews included through 1940). Author, title, and subject indexes. None issued for 1904-1905 and 1941-1947. There is a cumulative index for 1902-1940. Canada was included through 1935. The years 1962-1973 are cumulated in 4 v. Note the lists of periodicals cited for coverage. Contains may items not in America, History and Life, especially those appearing in local publications.
LOCATION: Andover-Harv. Theol: Ref Z1236.L331 (1903-59 incomplete)
LOCATION: Law School: Harvard Depository US 905.01 AME (1902-60 incomplete)
LOCATION: Widener: US 57.40 1902-61 US 57.41 1962-90
C.R.I.S.: the combined retrospective index set to journals in history (1838 -1974) indexes historical articles in over 900 journals. World history in vols. 1-4; United States history in vols. 5-9; author index in vols. 10-11.
LOCATION: Widener: WID-LC D20.Z99 C65 1977x Library has: 11 v.