Film History Sources
To find videos in HOLLIS, go to HOLLIS rather than HOLLIS Classic. Put in and search your search terms. In the Refine column on the right, hit Format: Video / Film. For streaming video, as opposed to DVDs, etc.), select Online. Under Genre / Form you can select particular kinds of films/videos.
Most films held by the Harvard Film Archive (HFA) now have records in HOLLIS. An overview of HFA collections is available. For questions about HFA contact Bob Sennett.
The Film Study Library on the 4th floor of Sever Hall has a large, non-circulating collection of videos which is not listed in HOLLIS. Viewing facilities available.
Many films in the Library of Congress collection are available through American Memory and the Prelinger Archives of "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films in the Internet Archive (select Search Moving Images).
American History in Video has numerous modern documentaries together with newsreels from 1929 to the present.
Prelinger Archives includes films, radio audio clips, news clips, educational films, advertisements, industry films, etc.
Library Guide: Film Periodicals
AmericanRadioHistory.com: The Online Radio & TV Library offers an enormous collection of radio/TV magazines.
ProQuest - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
Library of Congress Motion Picture Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division holds vast numbers of films. Most are not available online, but copies can sometimes be purchased. If the film you want is not evident on the LC website, enquire directly as the collection is not fully cataloged.
Secondary Sources, Background and Context
- Reference Sources: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Chronologies, etc.
- Biographical Sources
- Bibliographies of Books and Articles
Chronologies, Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedias, Handbooks
Reference books about film and television are available in the Loker Reading Room (call number beginning RR)
The encyclopedia of novels into film, by John C. Tibbetts et al. 2nd ed. NY: Facts on File, 2005, 586 p.
Lamont | REFERENCE | PN1997.85 .T54 2005
Widener | RR 2971.21.30
The film encyclopedia: the complete guide to film and the film industry, by Ephraim Katz ; rev. by Ronald Dean Nolen. 6th ed. NY: Collins, 2008, 1567 p.
Widener | RR 2971.28
Public Moving Image Archives and Research Centers (worldwide)
The new biographical dictionary of film, by David Thomson. 5th ed. London: Little, Brown, 2010, 1074 p.
Widener | RR 2971.32