Civil Rights Law Research

Extensive collection of vital records, directories, censuses, military records, and other material from the United States and Canada, intended for genealogical research. Includes fully-indexed, full-text images of United States federal census returns, 1790-1940.

Searching Biography and Genealogy Master Index enables you to determine which publication to consult for biographical information. BGMI is an index to nearly 15.4 million biographical sketches in current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world. For each individual, BGMI provides name, date of birth (and death), and the names and dates of biographical source publications that contain information about the individual. In cases where BGMI provides multiple listings for the same person, you can choose the most convenient source or locate multiple sketches to compare and expand information furnished by a single listing.

This database combines biographical information from periodicals, news media, primary sources and Gale reference titles. Reference sources include Encyclopedia of World Biography, Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History, and Contemporary Authors Online. Search for people based on one or more personal facts, such as year of birth/death, place of birth/ death, nationality, ethnicity, occupation, or gender; or, combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search.

Legacy.com partners with 1,500 newspapers and 3,500 funeral homes across the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and Europe to provide obituaries online. Coverage begins in 2000.

Thousands of commentaries on African American, Hispanic American, Asian American and Native American history covering foreign reactions to America's struggles with racial justice from the Jim Crow era to the Civil Rights movements and beyond.

This collection searches a unique set of primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865. Over 15,000 items are available for searching.

An international collaboration among more than twenty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, and private collections, the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) makes available digitally a wide range of trans-related materials. The purpose of the DTA is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.

Search JSTOR generally or browse to and search one of its many sub collections:
African American Studies
American Indian Studies
American Studies
Education
Feminist & Women's Studies
History
Jewish Studies
Latin American Studies
Law
Peace & Conflict Studies
Political Science
Public Policy & Administration

LGBT Life with Full Text, published by EBSCO, provides indexing and abstracts for over four hundred magazines, academic journals, news sources, gray literature, and books that deal with gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender concerns. The depth of coverage for individual core titles varies from a few months to many years. A number of historically important periodicals, among them Mattachine Review (1955-1964), ONE (1953-1967), and Christopher Street (1976-1995), are indexed for the entire period during which they were published. LGBT Life with Full Text also includes indexing and abstracts for monographs, reference books, and other sources. Notable features include a thesaurus and a variety of browseable indexes. Full text is not available for every title indexed, but this resource does provide full text access to over fifty magazines and regional newspapers, and to more than sixty monographs and reference books, with additional links to full text articles in other EBSCO databases.

LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.

An online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements from the twentieth century to the present day. The collection includes letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights, as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, letters and works of fiction that illuminate the lives of lesbians, gays, transgendered, and bisexual individuals and the community.

The Oxford African American Studies Center combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field.

Includes nearly 2,000 pamphlets and complete runs of eight newspaper titles, covering 1840-1865: Richmond Dispatch (Virginia), Charleston Mercury (South Carolina), New Orleans Times Picayune (Louisiana), Boston Herald, New York Herald, Columbus State Journal (Ohio), The Kentucky Daily Journal, and Memphis Daily Appeal.

This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery. To give one example, as late as 1901 Chief Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr. of the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court had to decide if a man, both of whose parents had been slaves, could be the legitimate heir of his father, because under southern law, slaves could never be legally married. The library has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it or simply analyzing it. We have gathered every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere. We have provided more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century. We provide word searchable access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880. We have also included many modern histories of slavery. Within this library is a section containing all modern law review articles on the subject. This library will continue to grow, not only from new scholarship but also from historical material that we continue to locate and add to the collection.

Umbra Search African American History makes African American history more broadly accessible through a freely available widget and search tool, umbrasearch.org; digitization of African American materials across University of Minnesota collections; and support of students, educators, artists, and the public through residencies, workshops, and events locally and around the country.

umbrasearch.org brings together more than 400,000 digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country.

This module consists of three distinct series of collections from the Schlesinger Library: suffrage and voting rights, women in national politics, and reproductive rights.