HOLLIS & Other Library Catalogs

HOLLIS: sign in with your Harvard Key (upper right corner) and search for books and articles at the same time

Borrow Direct: an expedited form of interlibrary loan, BD lets you borrow books directly from the libraries of other Ivy League schools. There is no charge for this service, and it's usally faster than interlibrary loan.

Around the world: libraries.org: a global directory of libraries with links to their websites and online catalogs

WorldCat: a database of materials cataloged by libraries in the US and 82 other nations

Time Savers

Journal Search: a form for finding journals and articles using pieces of a citation, this links you to e-text of a journal article or to a HOLLIS record showing which Harvard libraries own the journal

Research Management and Citation Tools at Harvard: get info about Zotero, Mendeley, EndNote, and  RefWorks as well as a schedule of classes to learn their use

Chicago Manual of Style Online: the fully searchable online versions of this standard style manual

Get It Services: Borrow Direct, Interlibrary Loan, Scan & Deliver  provide Harvard students, faculty, staff, and special borrowers with all options for locating and requesting materials both in and outside Harvard Libraries.

Quick Links to:

  1. Romanization / Transliteration Tables for non-Roman Scripts: the definitive guide for transliterating words, names, titles, or text from a non-Roman script into the Roman script
  2. Harvard Key claim
  3. Library Hours
  4. Make a Purchase Request

More Library Services

Maps:

Harvard Map Collection: Scanned Maps

Computers and Multimedia:

Multimedia resources and computers in various libraries

Multimedia Lab in Lamont Library

Reproductions: requests for digital and print reproductions of Harvard Library materials may be submitted via the Library's special collections management system. Instructions for creating a new account and making requests with the new system can be found on that page.

Scan and Deliver: this is a service offered by many Harvard libraries and is useful for getting PDFs of  articles and book chapters from items in the HOLLIS catalog.  Look for the "scan and deliver" link (next to call number and location information) and follow the prompts from there.  Scan and Deliver takes 1-4 days and is limited to 2 requests per day per researcher.

Online Indexes to Articles

These online resources are accessible to you 24/7/365 anywhere with your Harvard Key.

Google Scholar: holds scholarly material in a host of subjects. If you use this link into Google Scholar, the system will give you free full-text for many articles

JSTOR: is another database that indexes articles in many disciplines, mostly in the humanities & social sciences

Web of Science: is a huge, multidisciplinary database indexing articles in the sciences

Anthropology and Archaeology

Art and Art history

Asian Studies, English language sources

Business history

Cultural studies

Environmental management

History

Law

Literature and language

Medicine and History of medicine

Philosophy and Religion

Political science and Government

Sociology

News Sources, Data, Statistics, and More

  • China Data Online
  • China Historical Newspapers online
  • CountryData.com: provides over 75 country risk-related variables including political, economic, financial and government stability, as well as domestic and international economic indicators, social indicators, ICRG Risk Ratings and Coplin-O'Leary Forecasts
  • Dissertations and Theses Global: dissertations and masters' theses from around the world from 1743-present, with full text for most indexed dissertations from 1997-present
  • Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Data: provides country profiles and data, including descriptions of the politics, economy, risk, regulation, and business environment of a country
  • EThOS: the UK’s doctoral research theses service, with 400,000+ records from 120+ institutions
  • Factiva: a database of 8,000+ business and news publications, most in full text, 22 languages, dates back as far as 1969
  • Financial Times Historical Archive: includes all articles, advertisements and market listings published in the paper
  • The Harvard Geospatial Library: geographic data layers and scanned historic maps you can search and use with your GIS software
  • Harvard-Yenching Newspaper Collection Search
  • HOLLIS Images: a searchable catalog of images owned at Harvard
  • IQSS Dataverse Network: the world's largest collection of social science research data
  • The Japan Times Archives
  • The Korea Times
  • LexisNexis Academic: access to news, business, legal, and medical publications and information sources, including newspapers, newsletters, magazines, trade journals, wire services, and broadcast transcripts
  • New York Times (1851-2013)
  • OASIS (Online Archival Search Information System): finding aids for archival and manuscript collections at Harvard
  • Oxford Bibliographies Online: discipline-focused, online guides to the essential literature in subjects in the humanities and social sciences
  • Polling the Nations: a comprehensive compilation of public opinion surveys from 1986 to the present in the United States and more than 80 other countries
  • Times Digital Archive (1785-2011)
  • UN Data: access to UN statistical databases and those of several international organizations
  • Widener Collection of Newspapers on Microfilm: the Newspaper Microfilm Reading Room in Widener Library and the adjacent stacks contain a selection of United States and foreign newspapers on microfilm, including the back file of the current newspaper collection. Materials can be viewed, scanned, and copied from microfilm readers in the room
  • WDI Online (World Development Indicators): statistical data from the World Bank for almost 600 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups

Related Research Guides

Reseach Contacts for East Asian Studies

Chinese Language Materials:

  • Xiao-He Ma, Librarian for the Chinese Collection in the Harvard-Yenching Library, xhma@fas.harvard.edu, 617-496-2810
  • Sharon Li-Shiuan Yang, Librarian for Public Services and E-Resources, yang8@fas.harvard.edu, 617-496-3623

Japanese Language Materials:

  • Kuniko Yamada McVey, Librarian for the Japanese Collection in the Harvard-Yenching Library, kmcvey@fas.harvard.edu, 617-495-3395

Korean Language Materials:

  • Mikyung Kang, Librarian for the Korean Collection in the Harvard-Yenching Library, mlkang@fas.harvard.edu, 617-496-1079

Vietnamese Language Materials:

  • Chan Thi-Ngoc Phan, Librarian for the Vietnamese Collection in the Harvard - Yenching Library, phan@fas.harvard.edu, 617-496-6007