Stored onsite
Condition of Use Form
No photography allowed.
Poet, author, feminist, and teacher (Radcliffe College, B.A., 1951), Rich won the Yale Younger Poets Award with the publication of her first book in 1951. Over the course of her career she published numerous books of poetry and prose. She received many additional awards, taught writing and women's studies at a number of colleges, and lectured on feminism at conferences and universities in the U.S. and abroad. She was also the editor, with Michelle Cliff, of Sinister Wisdom (1981-83).

Oversize material offsite
Condition of Use Form for some folders
Lesbian singer, songwriter, and activist, Alix Cecil Dobkin began her career singing folk music in coffee houses, especially the Gaslight Cafe in Greenwich Village. For many years Dobkin was an advocate of women-only space, and performed only for women. Collection includes fan mail, concert fliers and programs, subject files, writings, material on lectures and workshops, t-shirts, photographs, and memorabilia.

Stored onsite
Condition of Use Form
Betty Friedan was born Bettye Goldstein on February 4, 1921, in Peoria, Illinois, the daughter of Harry and Miriam (Horwitz) Goldstein. She attended Peoria public schools and graduated summa cum laude from Smith College in 1942. She continued her studies as a University fellow in psychology at the University of California, Berkeley (1943). In June 1947 she married Carl Friedan, an advertising executive; they had three children (Daniel, Jonathan, and Emily) and were divorced in May 1969.
There are several more collections of Friedan papers presented in the Friedan research guide.

Stored onsite
Condition of Use Form
Collection includes organizational histories; agendas, minutes, and notes from meetings; correspondence among board members; letters from readers; drafts of books; material from other women's health organizations; questionnaires; interviews; printed matter; clippings; etc. Also included is the Collective's web site.
There are several more collections regarding the Boston's Women's Health Book Collective (BWHBC) in the BWHBC research guide.

Stored onsite
Lawyer and civil rights activist, Kennedy’s life long involvement with political and social activism included the Black liberation movement, Women’s liberation, media awareness, consumer protection, and reproductive rights.

Stored offsite
Author and foreign correspondent Frances Parsons Davis Cohen (1908-1982) was the author of My Shadow in the Sun (1940), an autobiographical account of her experiences as a journalist in France and Spain during the Spanish Civil War. Her second book, A Fearful Innocence (1981), was an attempt to reconcile her experience of a utopian community in West Newbury, Mass., with the brutality of Fascism that she had witnessed in Europe. She was married to I. Bernard Cohen, professor of the history of science at Harvard University.

Oversize materials stored offsite
Artist, feminist, and writer. Chicago pioneered feminist art education programs at California State University at Fresno (1969-1971) and at the California Institute of the Arts (1971-1973), where she and artist Miriam Shapiro directed an installation called Womanhouse (1971). In 1973 she organized the Feminist Studio Workshop, the first independent feminist art education program in the country. Chicago is best known for The Dinner Party, a multi-media installation honoring the achievements of women in Western civilization. Executed between 1974 and 1979 with the participation of hundreds of volunteers, The Dinner Party was viewed by approximately one million people in exhibitions in the U.S. and abroad between 1979 and 1988.

Oversize material offsite
Condition of Use Form
Award-winning author, poet, and social and political activist, June Jordan was born in Harlem, N.Y. (1936). In the late 1960s, she wrote both fiction and nonfiction, and began reading her poetry at paid engagements arranged by the American Academy of Poets. Concurrently, Jordan embarked on her pedagogical career, working as a lecturer and adjunct faculty member at several institutions. By the early 1970s Jordan concentrated her efforts more fully on writing and teaching, using her talents to address issues of discrimination based on race and gender, as well other politically controversial issues. She accepted a tenured position at SUNY Stony Brook (1978-1989) where she also served as director of the Poetry Center and the Creative Writing Program. In 1988 she accepted a joint appointment as Professor of African American Studies and Women's Studies at the University of California, Berkeley. There, she developed a program called "Poetry for the People" which conducted community workshops.

Stored offsite
The Michigan Womyn's Music Festival was an international feminist music festival held every August from 1976 to 2015 in Oceana County, Michigan, near Hart Township, in a small wooded area known as "The Land." The event was completely built, staffed, run and attended by women. The festival was founded in 1979 by Lisa Vogel, her sister Kristie Vogel, and friend Mary Kindig. The final festival was held in August 2015.

Stored onsite
Dyke was a separatist lesbian periodical published quarterly by Tomato Publications (New York, New York) between the winter of 1975 and the summer of 1978. Liza Cowan and Penny House were its editors.

Stored onsite
This collection includes records of the Board and Executive Committee; national and regional conferences; National, Legislative, and Public Information Offices; National Action Center; membership; mailings; task forces and committees (those filed in the central office); chapter chartering; some financial; regions and chapters; of several officers and Board members; a very large body of records documenting the campaign for the Equal Rights Amendment; judicial selection activities; legal cases; publications, press releases, testimonies, etc.; photographs; memorabilia; and clippings. Also includes the organization's web site.
There are several more collections regarding the National Organization for Women (NOW) presented in the NOW research guide.

Stored offsite
The Women's Coalition for the Third Century grew out of a meeting called by the American Revolution Bicentennial Commission in 1972 to explore women's participation in the bicentennial celebration. While cooperating with the ARBC, the group saw the need to create a coalition that could set its own agenda. In 1973 eleven organizations meeting in Independence Hall in Philadelphia became coalition members, reaffirming their interest in recovering women's history, celebrating the present, and creating the future. Active participants included Federally Employed Women, National Black Feminist Organization, National Coalition of American Nuns, National Women's Political Caucus, Women's Equity Action League, as well as individuals and regional and local groups. The WCTC held national meetings in 1974, 1975, and 1976, and sought to develop leadership among women so that they would be empowered to strengthen their influence upon national life.

Stored onsite
Condition of Use form
Organized in 1983 primarily through the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom, the WEFPJ was formed to protest the deployment of nuclear weapons, and has grown to embrace a whole range of issues, particularly social prejudices and injustices. Collection includes correspondence, minutes, photographs, creative work produced at and about the encampment, clippings, audiotapes, and information about other peace groups.

Stored offsite
The Yeastie Girlz was founded in Berkeley, California, in 1987 as an all-female punk band and spoken-word group that emphasized raunchy and often humorous critiques of sexism, celebrations of women's experience, and demystification of female sexuality. Arising out of the Gilman Street Project, an incubator of independent bands, the group's members were Cammie Toloui, Joyce Jimenez, and Jane Guskin. Kate Rosenberger and Wendy O. Matik were later members. The band toured in California and Europe, and continued to perform into the late 1990s. Cammie Toloui became a documentary photographer whose work was recognized by the New York Times Award for Excellence in Photojournalism and the Guy Robinson Memorial Photojournalism Scholarship.

Stored offsite
The Young Women's Network was founded in New York City in 1992 by Meg Rheingold and Debbie Siegel. The organization "serves as both a personal support group and political outlet for young women concerned with feminist and other issues." Its goals include improving communication and cooperation between younger and older feminist women and setting an agenda for the future of the women's movement.