[HUA] Sociology 113: Student Activism in Comparative Perspective (Spring 2017)

 

REACTION TO THE ABOLISHMENT OF FRESHMEN-SOPHOMORE FOOTBALL GAME, 1860 

"A bloody Monday night of long ago," Harvard Illustrated magazine, volume 2, number 2, November 1900. HUK  462A

Annual report of the President of Harvard, 1859/1860 HU 30.10 Box 1

Circular sent to parents by Harvard president C.C. Felton, August 20, 1860, and two related letters. College Papers, 2^nd Series, Volume XXVII, 1860, UAI 5.125

General information about football at Harvard, 1858-2005. HUD 10000 Box 1

General information about student life, 1860. HUD 860.2

Copy of illustration from Harper’s Weekly, August 1, 1857, pages 488-489.

Photograph of John Harvard statue on the Delta HUV 168 1‐2

Photographs of Harvard football team, circa 1874 and 1875. HUPSF Football (0) and (1)

 

FOOD & DINING

1775: Minutes of the Harvard Faculty, March 1, 1775, describing tea-drinking incident. UAIII 5.5

1804: Petition to the Corporation from students calling for improvements to food served in the College dining hall, November 27, 1804. Commons Records, UAI 15.250 Box 1

1818: Following a food fight between Harvard freshmen and sophomores that broke much of the College's crockery, the sophomores protested the faculty's attempts at discipline by gathering around the "Rebellion Tree" in the College Yard. The Harvard Corporation and Faculty responded by suspending the students. The poem "The Rebelliad," was written in 1819 by Augustus Peirce (Harvard College Class of 1820) in response to the incident and published by B. B. Mussey in 1842.   

Battle in Commons Hall, drawing, [1819?] by William Henry Furness (Harvard College Class of 1820).  HUD 2818.75.45A 

“The rebelliad; or, Terrible transactions at the seat of the muses; a poem in four cantos…” HUD 2818.75.46

Circular of Corporation votes relating to student unrest, 1818. UAIII 5.26.6

1895: Papers on the Irish stew question, 1895. Records of the Harvard Dining Association. UAV 326 Box 1

2016: Harvard University Dining Services workers’ strike collection, 2016. 2017.193

Bevis, Alma Darst Murray. Diets and Riots: An Interpretation of the History of Harvard University, 1936. HUD 936.7 A

 

STUDENT STRIKE, 1969

Crisis of 1969, itemized material by day in April 1969. HUA 969.100.4

T-shirt printed with the eight demands of the striking students, 1969. HUB 3293.83

Dennis E. Gale collection of student protest materials, ca. 1965-1974.  Accession 18133

Harvard College Class of 1969 yearbook. HUD 369.04

Kelman, Steven. Push Comes to Shove: The Escalation of Student Protest, published 1970.  HUA 969.44 B

Eichel, Lawrence et al. The Harvard Strike, published 1970. HUA 969.23 B

Old Mole newspaper, special strike coverage, 1969. HUA 969.100.65 F

Poster depicting the Harvard Corporation as a snake with forked tongue, 1969. HUA 969.100.2 94

 

DIVESTMENT, 1978-1985

General information about Harvard history, 1978. HUA 978.2 Box 2. Includes:

“Why we are 'sitting out' at University Hall," flyer, 1978.

“Make-up exam for Harvard corporation members who failed to take any effective action against apartheid in academic year 1977-78.”

Statement to the Harvard community by Harvard president Derek Bok, April 27, 1978 UAI 20 977.82

Material on divestment of holdings with South African related companies, 1978. HUA 978.82

Papers of George Wald. Wald was a Harvard professor of biology, political and social activist, and Nobel Prize winner. Folder titled “Africa re: apartheid, Harvard divestment issue.” HUGFP 143 Box 30

Harvard News Office photograph of students protesting Harvard's South African policy, ca. 1985 UAV 605.295.6p Box 2 Folder Student Life-Protests

General information by and about the Harvard-Radcliffe Southern Africa Solidarity Committee, 1985-1986. HUD 3801.7000

 

OCCUPY HARVARD, 2011

The Occupy Harvard Collection HUD 3632 Box 1

Poster, “Justice for Marvin Byrd…”  HUD 3632 Box 2

"I Am Occupy" pin, December 19, 2011 HUD 3632 Box 3

Illustrated article from Harvard Magazine online edition, November 14, 2011.

Occupy Harvard archived website. "occupyharvard.net/." H-Sites: Harvard Life and Learning. Harvard University Archives, Harvard University Library. Harvard University Library Web Archive Collection Service.  http://bit.ly/2liwKHz

 

MORE

Photograph of Hollis Hall and the Rebellion Tree, circa 1875. HUV 33 (1-4)

A Collection of College Words and Customs by Benjamin Homer Hall. Cambridge, Mass.: J. Bartlett, 1851

Photograph of spring riot by Harvard students, May 3, 1937. Accession 17422

Poster for “One Decade Later: Organizing for the 80s,” conference on student activism, April 19-21, 1979. HUM 211 Box 2

Spade, Dean. “Reframing Faculty Criticisms of Student Activism,” Chronicle of Higher Education, February 10, 2017.

Harvard undergraduate honors theses:

Barrett, Paul M. “To Build a Movement of the Poor: The SDS Community Organizing Drive and its Effect on White Student Activism in the 1960s.” Department of History, 1983. HU 92.83.193

Colt, Elizabeth Saunders. “Under a Crimson Spotlight: The Role of the Press in the 1969 Crisis at Harvard.” Committee on Degrees in History and Literature, 1987. HU 92.87.298

Friedman, Joel Brian. “The Last Stand of the Black Flag of Rebellion: A Case Study of the Micro and Macro Causes of the 1834 Student Rebellion at Harvard University.” Department of History, 1999. HU 92.99.132

Liu, Chang. “Coloring the Ivory Tower: Minority Student Activism at Harvard 1963-1984.” Committee on Degrees in Social Studies, 2006. HU 92.2006.71

Pizer, Steven Daniel. “Defeat False Unity! A Study of Sectarianism in the New Left as Exemplified by SDS and the Harvard Strike.” Committee on Degrees in Social Studies, 1985. HU 92.85.695

Wald, George. “A Generation in Search of a Future.” Speech given by Harvard professor of biology and Nobel Prize winner George Wald at an antiwar teach-in at MIT, March 4, 1969. Papers of George Wald, HUGFP 143 Box 106, Folder “Generation”

Silk-screened prints created by artist Mary Cady Johnson and featuring words spoken extemporaneously by Harvard professor and Nobel Prize winner George Wald at an anti-war teach-in at M.I.T. on March 4, 1969. The speech was later released under the title “A generation in search of a future.” Accession 2017.231 Box 1

Promotional material for the Mary Cady Johnson exhibit, and two letters exchanged between Wald and Johnson in 1969. Accession 2017.231 Box 8