Skip to Main Content

Library Guide for Modern Middle East: National Libraries and Digital Libraries

To discover and get books beyond Harvard, try:

Tunisian National Library

Moroccan National LIbrary

Gallica

Early Arabic Printed Books

Virtual Library of Arab and Islamic Heritage:

Virtual Library of Arab and Islamic Heritage: the site's purpose is to make learning and knowledge about the Arab world easily available and accessible. Content covers the 22 Arab states, members of the Arab League, and is arranged thematically in ten sections, each with several subsections. New entries are regularly added. Link directly to books here.

Google Books

Google Books: lets you search the full text of all books available in Google Book Search with a Find at Harvard University link displayed on every item in a search result set. Clicking the link brings the user to the catalog record if an exact match is found in HOLLIS. If an electronic version of the book has been licensed by Harvard, the user will be taken directly to the full text of the e-book. If an exact match in HOLLIS is not found, a pre-populated HOLLIS search screen will open making it easy for patrons to launch a HOLLIS search session.

Arabic Collections Online (NYU)

Qatar Digital Library

The Qatar Digital Library: a vast archive featuring the cultural and historical heritage of the Gulf and wider region freely available online, it includes archives, maps, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs and more, with explanatory notes and links, in both English and Arabic. Developed through a partnership among the Qatar Foundation, the Qatar National Library and The British Library

Hathi Trust

HathiTrust Digital Library: a shared repository of works digitized by more than 50 research library members. The catalog provides information about more than 5 million books and journals and is growing daily. More than 2.5 million titles are in the public domain so may be viewed in full text

The Egyptian Press Archive