Oral Histories
The HistoryMakers contains interviews with African Americans about all aspects of American history (Harvard login)
Explorations in Black Leadership. (University of Virginia / Institute for Public History: Charlottesville, Va) Interviews of black community leaders.
Birmingham Civil Rights Institute Oral History Project
Black Women Oral History Project Interviews (Harvard)
Black Archives of Mid-America / Kansas City Public Library Oral History Collection (AC12) Conducted between 1975-1976.
Born in Slavery Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 (Library of Congress)
Civil Rights History Project (2010-2013). Video interviews of civil rights movement participants
The Freedom Archives "contains over 10,000 hours of audio and video tapes which date from the late-1960s to the mid-90s and chronicle the progressive history of the Bay Area, the United States, and international movements".
Goin' North: Stories from the First Great Migration to Philadelphia (West Chester University)
Joel Buchanan Archive of African American Oral History (Univ. of Florida) on Florida and the Gulf South
Krueger-Scott Oral History Collection (Rutgers) Newark, NJ, residents.
Louie B. Nunn Center for Oral History Social Studies (Univ. of Kentucky)
National Visionary Leadership Project Interviews with elders.
Oral Histories of the American South - The Civil Rights Movement (Univ. of North Carolina) Civil rights movement interviews.
Southern Mosaic: The John and Ruby Lomax 1939 Southern States Recording Trip (Library of Congress)
Southern Oral History Program (Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
UNCG Oral History Collections (U.North Carolina, Greensboro). Limit to African-American History under Topics, on right.
Voices from the Southern Civil Rights Movement: 1950s-1960s radio programs, often with interviews, (American Archive of Public Broadcasting).
Voices Remembering Slavery: Freed People Tell Their Stories (Library of Congress). Audio and video recordings. Also in transcript form in Born in Slavery
Ypsi History: The stories of Ypsilanti: A.P. Marshall Oral History Archive (1980s) and the Farmers & Gardeners (2023-2024)