Library Research Guide for HISTSCI 147V: Graphic! Visualizing Medicine from Textbooks to Comics

Encyclopedia of bioethics, ed. by Stephen G. Post. 3rd ed. NY: Macmillan Reference USA, 2004. 5 v.
HOLLIS Record

Companion encyclopedia of the history of medicine, ed. by W.F. Bynum and Roy Porter. London; NY: Routledge, 1993. 2 v.
HOLLIS record
--A useful collection of essays. Table of contents of both volumes in Google Books.

Companion to medicine in the twentieth century, ed. by Roger Cooter and John Pickstone. London; NY: Routledge, 2003, 756 p.
HOLLIS record
--Articles, with references, especially on social, institutional, political, and policy aspects of medicine.

Medical research: a midcentury survey. Boston, Published for the American Foundation by Little, Brown, 1955, 2 v.
HOLLIS Record
--A valuable overview of medical research circa 1940-1955. The first volume covers i9nsitutional and policy aspects, the second summarizes the state of research on cancer, infertility, arteriosclerosis, hypertension, rheumatic syndromes, tuberculosis, viruses, alcoholism, and schizophrenia.

The Oxford companion to medicine, ed. by John Walton et al. Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 1986, 2 v.
HOLLIS Record 
Online version (3rd ed. 2001)
--Articles on more clinical aspects of medicine.

The Oxford Companion to the body, ed. by Colin Blakemore and Sheila Jennett et al. Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 2001, 753 p.
HOLLIS record

The Routledge history of sex and the body: 1500 to the present, ed. by Sarah Toulalan and Kate Fisher. Abingdon, Oxon; NY: Routledge, 2013, 579 p.
--HOLLIS Record with detailed contents and Google Books version

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy gives alphabetical entries about philosophers and topics, with commentary and bibliographies. Print version:
Widener: RR 4903.45

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is an electronic encyclopedia of philosophy, with entries on philosophers and philosophical topics written by prominent scholars in the field. Entries are signed and dated, and include bibliographies, Internet resources (where applicable), and cross-references to related entries.

Encyclopedia of American social movements, ed. by Immanuel Ness. Armonk, NY : Sharpe Reference, 2004. 4 v.
HOLLIS Record

Chronologies

Timeline of Laws Related to the Protection of Human Subjects

Bibliographies

Look for specialized subject bibliographies in the HOLLIS Catalog: Search <Euthanasia [Keyword search] and bibliography [Subject Keyword search]> on Expanded Search screen.

In HOLLIS try, for example:

Subject: "breast cancer" OR "breast neoplasms"
AND
Subject: therapeutics OR treatment OR care OR therapy

Limit to, say, 1960s.

Or:

"breast cancer" OR "breast neoplasms"
AND
"popular works" OR "social aspects"

OR

Subject: Heart
AND
Subject exact phrase:  ​health and hygiene

OR

Subject: Medicine
AND
Subject: popular OR "self care"

Limited to 1950-1959

PubMed is the major source for medical articles back to around 1947. In PubMed:

MeSH Terms: "breast neoplasms"
AND
MeSH Terms: therapeutics OR treatment OR therapy OR surgery

--In the column on the left of your results list, under Publication dates, you can limit by Custom date range.  Or use the graph on the right.
--In the column on the left of your results list, under Article Types, choose Review and get reviews of the literature rather than more specialized papers presenting original results

Medical research: a midcentury survey. Boston, Published for the American Foundation by Little, Brown, 1955, 2 v. HOLLIS Record
--A valuable overview of medical research circa 1940-1955. The first volume covers institutional and policy aspects, the second summarizes the state of research on cancer, infertility, arteriosclerosis, hypertension, rheumatic syndromes, tuberculosis, viruses, alcoholism, and schizophrenia.

These digital collections of advice books include many works of popular medicine.

• Defining Gender Online: Five Centuries of Advice Literature for Men and Women (1450-1910).
• Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Sex, Gender, and the Family.

• General
• United States
  • Directories and Who’s Whos (Chronological order by start date)

General

To find directories in library catalogs do a keyword search which includes: (physicians or medicine) and directories and the desired location, which may be a country, state, city, or region, e.g., New England.

Chaff, S. L. 1977. Women in Medicine: A Bibliography of the Literature on Women Physicians. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1124 pp.
--18th century through 1975.

Gilbert, J. B. 1962. Disease and Destiny: A Bibliography of Medical References to the Famous. London: Dawsons of Pall Mall, 535 pp.

Updated by:
Schioldann Nielsen, J. 1986. Famous and very important persons : medical, psychological, psychiatric bibliography, 1960-1984. (Odense University studies in psychiatry and medical psychology, v. 3). Odense: Odense University Press, 186 pp.

Hellstedt , L. M. 1978. Women Physicians of the World: Autobiographies of Medical Pioneers. Washington, DC: Hemisphere Pub. Corp., 420 pp.

Magner, L. N. 1997. Doctors, Nurses, and Medical Practitioners: A Bio-bibliographical Sourcebook. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 372 pp.

Morton, L. T. & R. J. Moore. 1994. A Bibliography of Medical and Biomedical Biography. 2nd ed. Aldershot: Scolar Press; Brookfield, VT: Ashgate, 333 pp. [With disciplinary index of subjects]

Roster of Physician Writersi includes the names, dates, and nationalities of physician creative writers worldwide. Lists biographical sources and the physicians' books

United States

Apple, R. D., ed. 1990. Women, Health, and Medicine in America: A Historical Handbook. NY: Garland Pub., 580 pp.

Holloway, L. M. 1981. Medical Obituaries: American Physicians' Biographical Notices in Selected Medical Journals Before 1907. NY: Garland, 513 pp.

Kaufman, M., S. Galishoff & T. L. Savitt, eds. 1984. Dictionary of American Medical Biography. 2 v. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press.
--Includes physicians since, & omitted by, Kelly & Burrage. Indexed in Biography and Genealogy Master Index.

Scrivener, L., et al. 2002. A Biographical Dictionary of Women Healers: Midwives, Nurses, and Physicians. Westport, CT: Oryx Press, 340 pp.
--Biographies of 238 U.S. midwives, nurses, physicians. Emphasis on women who healed women or who facilitated entry of women into the profession. Appendices: List of Women by Occupation, Notable Events Related to Women Healers (1607-1999 pp. 319-323. Each article with a source list.

Thacher, J. 1828. American Medical Biography: or, Memoirs of eminent physicians who have flourished in America, to which is prefixed a succinct history of medical science in the United States from the first settlement of the country. NY: Milford House, 1967 reprint.
Full text in World Biographical Information System Online and Google Book Search.

Williams, S. W. 1845. American Medical Biography: or Memoirs of eminent physicians, embracing principally those who have died since the publication of Dr. Thacher's initial work in 1828 on the same subject. NY: Milford House, 1967 reprint.
--World Biographical Information System Online and Google Book Search.

Directories and Who’s Whos (Chronological order by start date)

Cleave, E. 1873. Cleave's Biographical Cyclopaedia of Homoeopathic Physicians and Surgeons. Philadelphia: Galaxy, 512 pp. 64 port. pl.
Location : Countway Medicine Rare Books Reference RX61 .C58
--Full text in World Biographical Information System Online. Full text available online via HOMÉOPATHE INTERNATIONAL.

Butler, S. W. 1874. The Medical Register and Directory of the United States ... Comprising Names ... of more than Fifty Thousand Physicians; with Lists of Medical Societies, Colleges, Hospitals and other Medical Institutions, with Abstracts of Medical Laws of each State, Notices of Mineral Springs, etc. Philadelphia, PA: Office of the Medical and Surgical Reporter. 854 pp.
Location : Countway Medicine Rare Books Reference R712.A1 B97 1874
Location: Countway Medicine Serial
2nd.ed. 1877. Location: Countway Medicine Serial
2nd.ed. 1880. Location : Countway Medicine Harvard Depository Rare Books
 

Atkinson, W. B., ed. 1878. The Physicians and Surgeons of the United States. Philadelphia, PA: Charles Robson, 788 pp.
Location : Countway Medicine 1.E.6
Location : Countway Medicine Rare Books R153 .A58
Location : Countway Medicine Rare Books Reference R153 .A58
Location : Widener Med 215.36

Full text in Google Book Search.

Biographies (100-1000 words) of prominent living physicians. Some full-page portraits. Name index (biographies not in alphabetical order), local index by city/town; supplemental index of corrections/additions (unpaged, between pp. 748 and 749, analytical index of diseases, apparatus, drugs, and other topics. (pp. 749-788).

2d ed.: A Biographical Dictionary of Contemporary American Physicians and Surgeons. Philadelphia, PA: Brinton, 1880, 747, 18 pp.
Location : Countway Medicine Rare Books Reference R153 .A58 1880
Location : Widener Harvard Depository US 42515.13

Portraits and analytical index omitted. New biographies and additions to 1st ed. biographies added as supplement. Full text in World Biographical Information System Online.

Medical and Surgical Directory of the United States [title varies], 1886-1917.
Location : Countway Medicine Rare Books Reference R 712.A1 P7 (1886, 1898, 1890,1893, 1904, 1906, 1908, 1910, 1912, 1914, 1917)
Location : Widener Harvard Depository Sci 3320.30 (1886, 1898, 1893, 1896, 1898, 1900, 1902, 1904-1917
--Title varies, sometimes given as Polk's Medical and Surgical Register of the United States and Canada. Canada included 1898 and after.

Watson, I. A., ed. 1896. Physicians and Surgeons of America. (Illustrated). A Collection of Biographical Sketches of the Regular Medical Profession. Concord, NH: Republican Press Association, 843 pp.
Location : Countway Medicine Harvard Depository 1 E 1896 1
Location : Countway Medicine Rare Books f R153 .W33 c.2
Location : Countway Medicine Rare Books Reference f R153 .W33 c.1
--Full text in World Biographical Information System Online.

Cleave, E. 1893. Biographical cyclopedia of homoeopathic physicians and surgeons Index. Chicago: Am. Hom. Biog. Ass'n, 512 p. (Not at Harvard)

The Standard medical directory of North America, 1902. Including a directory of practicing physicians in the United States of America, Canada, Cuba, Mexico, and Central America. Also directories respectively of medical officers of the U.S. Army and Navy, medical societies, medical colleges, medical laws and boards, medical publications, (books and periodicals), hospitals and sanitariums, mineral springs, drugs and medicines, medical and surgical products, manufacturers, life insurance companies, etc. Chicago : G.P. Engelhard, 1902, 924 p.
Location : Countway Medicine Harvard Depository 1.Da.1901.1
--Full text in Google Book Search.

American Medical Directory, 1906-1990. 1st-32d ed. Chicago: American Medical Association. Early editions list medical schools, societies, journals, and libraries.
LOCATION: Countway Medicine | W 22 AA1 A6
LOCATION: Widener | Sci 3320.31 F (1923-1990 incomplete run)

Who's who in American medicine. 1925.
Countway Medicine | Rare Books Reference | R153 .W4 1925
Countway Medicine | 1.E.205.
Countway Medicine | Harvard Depository

American physicians and surgeons; a biographical directory of practicing members of the medical profession in the United States and Canada; including supplements in which are listed and classified the leading hospitals, sanitariums and health resorts of both countries; prepared by James Clark Fifield ... Minneapolis, The Midwest company, 1931, 1737 p.
LOCATION: Countway Medicine | Harvard Depository | t.4587

Who's who among physicians and surgeons, 1938- .
LOCATION: Countway Medicine | 1.E.251 (1938)

Official ABMS directory of board certified medical specialists [title varies], 1939- .
LOCATION: Widener | RR 5224.30 Latest issue only
LOCATION: Widener | Sci 3320.31.10 (series incomplete)
LOCATION: Cabot Science | REF | R712.A1 O335 Library keeps latest edition only
LOCATION: Countway Medicine | W 22 AA1 O32 (1994- ) Latest in Ref.11
LOCATION: Countway Medicine | W 22 AA1 A152 (1991-92)
LOCATION: Countway Medicine | W 22 AA1 D5 (1939-91)

Grigg, Bessie. 1945. Medical Woman's Directory. Cincinnati, OH: Elizabeth Press, 236 pp.
Location : Widener Med 220.40

Who's important in medicine. New York: Institute for Research in Biography, c1945.
LOCATION: Countway Medicine: Rare Books Reference R134.W62 1945

Who's important in medicine. 2. ed. Hicksville, New York: Institute for Research in Biography, Inc., 1952.
LOCATION: Countway Medicine: Harvard Depository WZ 140 AA1 W45 1952
LOCATION: Countway Medicine: f 1.E.51

American men of medicine. 3d ed. Farmingdale, N. Y., Institute for Research in Biography, 1961, 768 p.
Location : Countway Medicine Harvard Depository WZ 140 AA1 A5 1961
--Full text in World Biographical Information System Online.

Directory of women physicians in the U.S. Chicago, American Medical Association. 2 v.
LOCATION: Schlesinger | 610 A51d (1973)
LOCATION: Countway Medicine | W 22 AA1 D9 (1973, 1979)