Chemistry Databases
- SciFinder-n - is the most comprehensive tool for searching chemical information and is a great resource for chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, environmental science and more.
To access SciFinder-n your will need to register (create a personalized username and password) from a computer with a Harvard or Harvard affiliated IP address. Please use your Harvard affiliated email.
Once you have registered and created your username and password you may then log in from any computer with access to the internet using the Harvard SciFinder-n access link.
- Cambridge Crystallographic Database (WebCSD) - from the Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (CCDC) is the world's largest repository, for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures, with more than 900,000 curated entries from x-ray and neutron diffraction analysis. Along with data about the crystal structure, each entry includes chemical/physical property data and associated journal article reference. See WebCSD coverage.
CCB students can access WebCSD two ways:
Cambridge Structural Database System (CSDS) - the full suite of CCDC databases that you download to run on your computer. Includes Conquest for searching CSD, and Mercury for visualization and 3D printing (other databases listed to the right). The "power user" version. To access, you'll need to download and install the software, ask Chemistry Librarian for site and registration codes.
WebCSD - Online access to the Cambridge Structural Database, if you just want to search or browser structures and view the associated crystallographic, chemical, or bibliographic information for each.
- PubMed (BioMed Central)PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
- ReaxysReaxys is a web-based resource for chemists with a java based structure editor. Access provides tools to plan chemical synthesis and obtain physical properties data for inorganic and organic compounds and reaction information. The database contains citations and links to the literature. Reaxys also provides access to patent data. Data is drawn from the combined content of CrossFire Beilstein, CrossFire Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Database.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- arXiv.orgAn e-print service which presents papers in physics, mathematics, nonlinear science, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics. arXiv.org is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers which functions as a means of communicating ongoing research information in these subject areas.
- Web of ScienceSearch the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.