Citation Management Tools
Citation tools offer a better way to collect, store, and manage reference information, research notes, and documents. They work with your word processor to manage in-text citations and to build bibliographies in nearly any format. Find more information on the Citation Tools FAQ.
Need help with Zotero or other citation tools? Email Anna Assogba: email@example.com or Emily Bell firstname.lastname@example.org.
Citation and Writing Guidance
Chicago Style Guides
Chicago Manual of Style Online (17th ed.)
Chicago Manual of Style Online (16th ed.)
HOLLIS Record for print version
Ohio State University Libraries’ Chicago Manual of Style form guide contains samples of scientific and humanities styles and electronic resource citation.
This Bowdoin College Library's Chicago-Style Citations guide helps cite Facebook, Twitter, e-mails and more.
General Citation Guidance
Evidence explained: citing history sources from artifacts to cyberspace, by Elizabeth Shown Mills. Baltimore, MD: Genealogical Pub. Co., 2007, 885 p. Available online via Internet Archive.
Harvard Guide to Using Sources is a guide produced by the Expository Writing Program.
University of Wisconsin Writing Center Writer’s Handbook offers links to examples of notes for articles, books, interviews, performances, secondary sources, unpublished material, with first, second and subsequent references. Also provides a link to information on bibliographies and sample entries.
The Columbia guide to online style (online access via Internet Archive) by Janice R. Walker. New York: Columbia University Press, 2006.
History Writing Guides
A Brief Guide to Writing the History Paper - produced by the Harvard College Writing Center
A Handbook for Senior Thesis Writers in History - produced by the Department of History, Harvard University
The Writing Center can help Harvard undergraduates with any aspect of your writing. From structuring your paper to forming an argument, they can help you do it all.
The Modern Researcher by Jacques Barzun is a handbook for academic writing and research with a focus on history. Online access via Internet Archive