Welcome!

This library research guide is designed to support Professor Sanchez's Migration and Labor course. The pages on the left-menu, will lead you to help on the many ways available to you to for to do research for class assignments.​

There are a lot of questions to ask yourself as you think about a topic for your research; one might be what kinds of information you need to find.

  • You might need primary source material, such as documents written by immigrants or the internal documents of a labor union.
  • You might need to read what scholars who work in the area in which you are interested have written so that you can understand where the scholarly conversation is right now.
  • You might need to understand critical developments in research and theory for your topic area.

This guide should help you research the answers to your questions, whether you use the Harvard Library's collections or collections beyond Harvard.

  • If you are just getting started and need to develop your topic?
    • HOLLIS can be a good place to look for both primary and secondary material; it has works by people from many places and time periods, as well as scholarship in your area of study.
    • Check out Oxford Bibliographies to get up to speed on current thinking in your topic area and to find texts for background reading.
  • If you need primary and secondary source materials for your assignment?
    • Check out the HOLLIS guide to get help using limits (such as dates) and format (such as online) and subject searching to locate primary source material.
    • Try the Digital Libraries and Open Access Collections tab for collections, generally digital, beyond Harvard.
    • The Databases page has many recommended databases and datasets to find articles and data, including census information and other government data.
    • Use the Archival Collections page to help locate digitized primary source materials or collections near you in which to find primary source material.
  • Are you writing your paper and in need of help?

Need More Help?

If you didn't find the help you needed on this guide, here are some additional options for help:

  • The Get Research Help webpage offers various resources, including finding subject specialists, which is a good idea for degree-candidates working towards a thesis. 
  • The Ask a Librarian webpage offers an online chat service, an email form if you are unsure about who to ask for subject-expertise help or specific questions, and a form to request a research appointment.
  • If you have general questions about the libraries, see the Library Guide for Harvard Extension School.
  • Also, feel free to email me, Mary Frances Angelini, Research Librarian for the Extension School angelini@fas.harvard.edu with any questions. If I don't have the answer, I will refer you to one of our many subject specialists.