In the same way that PubMed contains literature on bioethics from a medical perspective, these databases will view the same subject from different disciplinary perspectives. Depending on how you approach your topic you may find research here that doesn't appear in HOLLIS or PubMed.
As the title suggests, this database searches literature in philosophy, another discipline concerned with ethical issues.
This search engine covers public and social policy research, if you're interested more in political and governmental responses to bioethical issues.
Social Sciences Premium Collection
A broader range of the social science literature, this index includes everything in the PAIS Index, as well as more research in sociology, political science, economics, and criminal justice.
The main tool to find articles in Religious Studies.
This is the main database for nursing literature. Nurses are often on the frontlines of ethical issues in health care so this tool might be useful for certain topics.
The big advantage of Web of Science is that it traces the citation history of each article in the database. That means if you find a paper of interest, you can look to see what papers have cited that paper in their references. This can be a good way to enter the scholarly conversation on a topic. It's more complicated to use than other databases, but there's a helpful guide here.
Google's academic search engine. This also traces citation history, like Web of Science, though not as comprehensively. Be sure to set your Library Links to Harvard in the settings.
Newspapers and magazines intended for general audiences can be a good way to get background on an issue, and they will often point you to scholars or scientists who are working on the subject.
Newspapers
Newspapers can be difficult to find in the library environment. Here are a couple you can get to directly:
The Washington Post (find the link that says Single Journals and follow instructions to set up an individual account)
New York Times Harvard students have free access through the library. Click link to set up an account.
Other newspapers can be found through what we call news aggregators, which collect news articles from papers around the globe. The two major aggregators are:
You can also find individual paper titles in HOLLIS and follow the links (which will often take you to one of these aggregators).
Magazines
Look for individual titles in HOLLIS to see if we have online (or print) access.
This database covers both scholarly and popular press articles, so can be a good place to start research on a given topic. It tends to be less overwhelming than HOLLIS.
To see popular press articles, click the Magazines filter.