Register with EndNote Online
Register with EndNote Online in order to by able to sync your library across multiple devices and to share your library with collaborators.
- Register at https://access.clarivate.com/register?app=endnote.
- Open the EndNote desktop application.
- Open EndNote Preferences (Mac: Endnote --> Preferences; PC: Edit --> Preferences)
- Under the Sync tab, enter your email address and password information.
Note: The information under "Sync this EndNote Library" will fill in automatically.
Set Up EndNote Find Full Text
The Find Full Text feature in EndNote works with your Harvard Key to access licensed articles. To enable EndNote to retrieve Harvard-licensed full-text documents, you’ll need to set up the Find Full Text options under the ‘Preferences’ menu. For best results, also set up the OpenURL features.
To set up Find Full Text:
- From the 'Edit’ Menu (Or EndNote menu with Mac OS), choose ’Preferences …'
- Choose 'Find Full Text' from the choices on the left.
- Check all four of the boxes for full text search options.
- For 'OpenURL Path,' enter: https://hollis.harvard.edu/openurl/01HVD/HVD_URL?
- For 'Authentication URL,' enter:
- http://ezp-prod1.hul.harvard.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org (Harvard Key)
NOTE: Harvard Library's link resolver is incompatible with Endnote X9. The Find Full Text feature will not work for Harvard Library licensed subscriptions in version X9. We recommend that X9 users update to version 20, if possible. If not, Harvard users still have two options to import PDFs into EndNote: 1) retrieve Open Access full text with the Find Full Text feature; 2) download pdfs to import to Endnote from your desktop.
Set Up OpenURL
- Set this feature up in EndNote preferences. From the ‘Edit’ menu, choose ‘Preferences…’.
- Choose ‘URLs & Links’ from the choices on the left.
- Replace the text in the ‘ISI Base URL’ box with the following URL: https://hollis.harvard.edu/openurl/01HVD/HVD_URL?
- Leave the ‘Arguments’ unchanged.
- To use OpenURL, go to your library and open a reference. From the ‘References’ menu, choose ‘OpenURL Link’. A ‘Find It @ Harvard’ window will open with Harvard access choices, if any exist.