How to Add a HOLLIS reference to EndNote

When you find a reference you like in HOLLIS, export it to EndNote as an RIS file.

For a single reference

  1. Click on the ellipsis (...) in the upper right corner of every HOLLIS listing on the main search page.
  2. Several choices should appear beneath the listing. Select "Export RIS" and then UTF8 encoding, then Download.
  3. If asked what program to use to open the file, choose EndNote.

For multiple references

  1. Click on the pushpin icon in the upper right hand corner of every HOLLIS listing on the main search page. This will put it into your Favorites (formerly My Research).
  2. Once you've added all the citations you want to export, click on the Favorites pushpin icon in the upper right corner of the page.
  3. Put a check box beside the number of each Favorites listing you want to export, then click the ellipsis (...) at the top of the Favorites list.
  4. Several choices should appear beneath the listing. Select "Export RIS" and then UTF8 encoding, then Download.
  5. If asked what program to use to open the file, choose EndNote.

No pdfs will import from HOLLIS to EndNote. EndNote will try to locate the appropriate PDFs on its own (see Setting Up Find Full Text and Setting Up OpenURL in this guide). If it can't, you can drag or otherwise import the PDF and then attach it to the citation.

Using EndNote Find Full Text at Harvard

To use Find Full Text, either pull down the ‘References’ menu and choose the ‘Find Full Text’ command, or right click on a reference and choose it. For each session, the first time you launch Find Full Text, EndNote opens a mini browser window where you can authenticate with either a Harvard Key or an eCommons account. NOTE: If you are on a Mac, once you've logged in successfully, you can close the window or press "Continue." If you are on a Windows machine, please follow the instructions in the box below.

If you notice that EndNote does not seem to return good results for finding full text, please be aware that we are working with EndNote to figure out how much full text it should be able to retrieve in order to better assess and troubleshoot this issue.

Full Text for EndNote Users on Windows Machines

EndNote users on Windows machines will notice that when they try to go through the authentication process for retrieving full text, after they enter their Harvard Key, they will be brought to an error screen such as the one below:

error with script on the page

From this page, they should click “Yes”, and the error popup will disappear, leaving what appears to be a blank page with raw Javascript code printed on it. However, to complete the login successfully, the users need to scroll down to the DUO/two-step interface below the visible portion of the page:

Duo two-step authentication page

Finally, after completing two-step authentication on their DUO device, the login screen resolves to the landing page specified by the login URL (Countway or JSTOR). Users may have to click "Yes" several more times before being successfully logged in. They can now click “Continue" at the bottom of the login window to close it.

This is a temporary workaround for a difficult technical issue, and we are trying to find a better solution for Windows users. When a better solution is found, it will be posted on this page.