RefWorks Discontinued at Harvard

Sign in to RefWorks

The Harvard Library has discontinued its institutional subscription to RefWorks. 

If you currently use RefWorks and want to save the items in your RefWorks library (including downloading PDFs or other attachments), you must transfer your library by December 31, 2018. Instructions for migrating to two of our most popular tools, Zotero and EndNote, are below.

Librarians know this is a busy time and that the logistics of changing tools can be challenging. If you would like assistance in selecting, getting started with and/or transferring your data from RefWorks to another tool, especially if you are in the middle of an extended project (dissertation, book, etc.) please contact one of the local support librarians listed under Getting Help with RefWorks. We're here to help with this transition.

Migrate to Zotero

Before exporting your RefWorks content to Zotero, you need to install the program and create an account.

  • Download the program and browser connecter. Zotero works best with Chrome and Firefox but can also be used with Safari.
  • Create an account. Current Harvard affiliates: Be sure to use your Harvard email address to get free unlimited cloud storage. 
  • Learn more at Getting Started with Zotero.

Export Metadata to Zotero

Legacy RefWorks

You can either export all your content (excluding pdfs) at once or export folder by folder to keep your groupings together.

Exporting All Content

1) Login to your Legacy RefWorks account.

2) Under the References menu, select Export.

3) Choose the references you want to export. Note that any folder structure you had in RefWorks will not be maintained if you export all references at once. If you want to maintain your folder structure, you will need to download the contents of each folder separately and recreate that folder structure in Zotero. To export only one folder at a time, select that folder and then choose the Export menu option.

4) Under Select an Export Format, choose Bibliographic Software (EndNote, Reference Manager, ProCite).

5) Then click Export References.

6) RefWorks will download a file of the exported references.

Note: If you have pop-up windows blocked, you may need to enable pop-up windows for www.refworks.com in order for the file to download properly. If you encounter other issues with the file download, you should see the option to have the file emailed to you (RefWorks will give you this option via a small window on the lower-right-hand side of the screen).

7) Once you have the file, make sure to save it to your downloads folder or desktop. (It will have a .txt extension.)

8) Open Zotero.

9) Select File > Import or choose Import from the settings menu.

10) Browse to your saved .txt and select it.

11) All of your items from RefWorks will now be in a collection with the same name as your exported file --

in this case, 'export.' You can rename this collection by right clicking on it.

If you had any text in the Notes field in RefWorks, that text will now appear as a Note underneath the item.

Exporting Folders

1) To export only one folder at a time, select that folder and then choose the Export menu option.

2) Follow procedures above for exporting all references.

New RefWorks

You can either export all your content (excluding pdfs) at once or export folder by folder to keep your groupings together.

Exporting All Content

1) First login to RefWorks and open the Zotero program.

2) To export everything at once, click the box next to Select All and then click the icon for Share & Export.

3) Choose Export References.

4) Then Export.

5) When the export dialog box pops up, click OK.

6) Click OK again for the Zotero dialog box.

7) All of your items from RefWorks will now be in a collection called export. You can rename this collection by right clicking on it.

If you had any text in the Notes field in RefWorks, that text will now appear as a Note underneath the item.

Exporting Folders

Go to each folder and Select All. Export the same as above.

The items in the folder will import as their own collection that you can rename. Repeat for all folders.

Export PDFs to Zotero

Legacy RefWorks

To download all of your PDFs at once, you will first need to transfer your Legacy RefWorks library to a New RefWorks library. To do so:

1) Create a New RefWorks account using your Harvard email address.  

2) Once logged into your new account, select the sign at the top of New RefWorks  select Import, then RefWorks.

There are a couple of steps to authenticate, but the library transfer should then happen automatically. 

3) Proceed to New RefWorks below. 

New RefWorks

To get your pdfs out of RefWorks, you need to export them by connecting your RefWorks account to a Dropbox account. Note: If you do not want to create a Dropbox account, you will have to download the pdfs one at a time. 

1) In the drop-down by your name, click on Settings.

2) After re-entering your login information, move down the page and click on Connect for Dropbox.

3) Sign in your Dropbox account. The two are now linked. When you go to Dropbox you will see a folder called Apps. Within that folder is a folder called ProQuest RefWorks. All of your pdfs are now in this folder.

4) Drag and drop the pdfs to the matching item in Zotero to reunite the metadata and pdfs.

Migrate to EndNote

Install EndNote:

Learn more about using EndNote.

Export Metadata to EndNote

New RefWorks

Note: Any folder structure you had in RefWorks will not be maintained if you export all documents at once. If you want to maintain your folder structure, you will need to download the contents of each folder separately and recreate that folder structure in EndNote through the use of Groups.

1) Login to RefWorks.

2) To export everything at once, click in box next to Select All and then click on the icon for Share & Export.

3) Choose Export References.

4) Under Format, select RIS Format. Click the Export button.

5) RefWorks will create an RIS file of the references in your library. Save this file to your desktop or downloads folder.

6) Open EndNote. From the File menu, chose Import.

7) Select your saved RefWorks export RIS file. Under the Import Options dropdown menu, select Reference Manager (RIS). Click Import.

8) EndNote will automatically load the references into the Imported References folder.

9) From there, you can choose which Groups to move the references into. If you do not move them into any Groups, they will simply remain in the “Unfiled” Group.

Note: None of the PDFs will have transferred. To regain PDFs for article references:

Legacy RefWorks

1) Login to your Legacy RefWorks account

2) Under the References menu, select Export.

3) Choose which references you want to export. Note that any folder structure you had in RefWorks will not be maintained if you export all references at once. If you want to maintain your folder structure, you will need to download the contents of each folder separately and recreate that folder structure in EndNote through the use of Groups. To export only one folder at a time, select that folder and then choose the Export menu option.

4) Under Select an Export Format, choose Bibliographic Software (EndNote, Reference Manager, ProCite).

5) Click Export References.

6) RefWorks will download a file of the exported references.

Note: If you have pop-up windows blocked, you may need to enable pop-up windows for www.refworks.com in order for the file to download properly. If you encounter other issues with the file download, you should see the option to have the file emailed to you (RefWorks will give you this option via a small window on the lower-right-hand side of the screen).

 

7) Once you have the file, make sure to save it to your downloads folder or desktop.

8) Open EndNote. From the File menu, chose Import.

9) Select your saved RefWorks export file. Under Import Options dropdown menu, select Reference Manager (RIS). Click Import.

10) EndNote will automatically load the references into the Imported References folder.

11) From there, you can choose which Groups to move the references into. If you do not move them into any Groups, they will simply remain in the “Unfiled” Group.

Note: None of the PDFs will have transferred. To regain PDFs for article references:

Export PDFs to EndNote

Note: If you have a Legacy RefWorks account, you will first need to transfer your Legacy RefWorks library to a New RefWorks library. To do so, create a New RefWorks account at https://refworks.proquest.com/researcher/. Once logged into your new account, under the + sign at the top of the new RefWorks interface, select Import, then RefWorks. There are a couple of steps to authenticate, but the library transfer should then happen automatically. You can then proceed to the first step in these directions to transfer your PDFs from RefWorks to EndNote.

1) If you have already connected your RefWorks and Dropbox account, you can skip ahead to step #6 below.

Otherwise, login to your New RefWorks account.

2) Click your name in the upper-right-hand corner, then select Settings.

3) Under the Dropbox section, click Connect.

4) When prompted, sign into your Dropbox account. If you do not have a Dropbox account, create one and then download and install Dropbox on your computer.

5) After signing in, allow RefWorks to create a new folder called “ProQuest RefWorks” within Dropbox. You will be directed to your Dropbox online account where you should see the ProQuest RefWorks folder within another folder called Apps. This same “ProQuest RefWorks” folder should appear within the Dropbox folder on your computer.

6) Open EndNote and the Dropbox folder side-by-side. Drag and drop PDFs from Dropbox to their matching reference in EndNote.

7) If you have done both procedures of exporting PDFs from RefWorks and retrieving full text for articles within EndNote, you should check for duplicate references to make sure you don’t have multiple copies of the same reference in your EndNote library. To do this, from within EndNote, select All References in the left-hand pane.

8) From the References menu, select Find Duplicates.

Getting Help withe RefWorks