Find It

Ask a Librarian: Chat with or email a librarian for research assistance or to schedule an appointment.

HOLLIS: Harvard Library's catalog and metasearch engine.

HOLLIS for Archival Discovery: Your portal to Harvard Library's special collections and archives. Special collections and archives contain primary sources including letters, photographs, film and video, print items, digital materials, and objects.

HOLLIS Databases: Visit our list of databases to find specialized search engines and large collections of digital materials. The Databases menu provides a curated subset of HOLLIS records, selected by Harvard librarians.

HOLLIS Images: Our dedicated image catalog, with content from archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University. 

Browzine: Browse and read scholarly journals on your computer, phone, or tablet.

Data & Government Information Collections and Expertise: Access worldwide government documents and data collections.

Get It

Purchase Request: Have something you'd like to see the library buy and add to our collections? Submit a purchase request.

Borrow, Renew, and Return Library Materials: Connect with the library materials you need to get your work done.

  • Scan & Deliver, Borrow Direct, Interlibrary Loan, Request Pick Up: Use a variety of Access Options in HOLLIS, or retrieve item(s) from the shelf.
  • My Account/Renew: View this option, after signing in to HOLLIS, to view your loans and requests.

Special Collections and Archives: Connect with a range of primary sources including letters, photographs, books, scores, digital materials, and objects.

  • HOLLIS Special Request: To consult special collections, select "Request to Copy or Visit" under Access Options in the HOLLIS record.

Google Scholar: Using Google Scholar with your HarvardKey allows you to make the most of provided links, granting access to full text available through Harvard Library subscriptions.

Get Free Articles Anywhere on the Web: Your HarvardKey can get you access to articles across the web, even many behind paywalls.

Organize It

Citation Tools: Keep track of your sources and automatically generate bibliographies and in-text references in any style.

  • Perma.cc: Prevent link rot when citing online sources.

Journal and Search Alerts: Keep track of newly-published research.

Research Data Services: Connect to services and resources, such as our DMPTool, that span the research data lifecycle to ensure your research is fully supported.

Publish It

Individual Open-Access License (Opt In): Non-Ladder faculty should consider signing this before sending any manuscripts to publishers. Signing the authorization form allows you to post publications to your own website or to repositories like DASH. Ladder faculty are opted in automatically and do not need to sign an authorization.

Open Scholarship and Research Data Services: Consult with us to open, share, and manage your scholarship and research data. We offer high-value services and tools, such as:

  • DASH: Harvard's open-access repository, a safe and reliable way to publish, share, and preserve your work.
  • Harvard Open Journals Program: Guidance, resources, and seed funding for establishing and maintaining high-quality open access journals.
  • ORCID: A persistent digital identifier to distinguish you that you own and control. After you've created your ORCID, connect it to Harvard with Harvard ORCID Connect.

Evidence Synthesis and Literature Review Support: Get help with literature reviews, scoping, meta-analysis, and systematic reviews.

The Alexander and Diviya Magaro Peer Pre-Review: This program at Harvard IQSS can increase the quality of your scholarship and speed up the journal peer review process.

Copyright First Responders: Get answers to your questions about copyright law and policy.

CURIOSity: Partner with a librarian to highlight hidden collections, unite dispersed collections, and create new relationships among content.

SHARE by HL: Host and share your digital scholarship projects—using videos, timelines, maps, delegated permissions and more—with a free domain name and access to versatile content management systems.