This guide provides information and links to resources and services to help you with your research in Dr. Manja Klemencic's course. If you have any questions about the libraries or about doing research at Harvard, please don't hesitate to ask.
Finding Scholarly Sources
This is a selection of resources for finding journals articles. If you are interested in finding additional resources, try the Databases section of the Library site.
ERIC provides citations and abstracts from over 750 education journals and related documents from the Educational Resource Information Center from 1967 to the present.
Education Abstracts provides citations and abstracts from over 680 periodicals and some books from 1983 to the present.
Higher Education Abstracts published by The Claremont Graduate University, is a quarterly compilation of abstracts of journal articles pertaining to college students, faculty, administrators, and related topics in higher education.
- Social Science Premium Collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, anthropology, and education.
- Google Scholar enables you to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Google Scholar also enables citation searching.
- Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. It indexes major journals in these disciplines and enables you to see who has cited an article since its publication.
Key Journals in Higher Education
European Journal of Higher Education
Higher Education Quarterly
Higher Education Research and Development
Higher Education Review
Journal of Further and Higher Education
Journal of Higher Education
Journal of Studies in International Education
New Directions for Higher Education
Research in Higher Education
Review of Higher Education
Journal of Higher Education
Studies in Higher Education
Tertiary Education and Management
Advances in Health Sciences Education
Art, Design and Communication in Higher Education
Arts and Humanities in Higher Education
International Journal of Management Education
International Review of Economics Education
Journal of English for Academic Purposes
Journal of Geography in Higher Education
Journal of Hospitality, Leisure, Sport and Tourism Education
Journal of Undergraduate Neuroscience Education
Language Learning in Higher Education
Handbooks, Encyclopedias, & Bibliographies of Education
The following sources provide background on theories and movements and review key issues and major debates related to higher education.
- Research Handbook on Quality, Performance & Accountability in Higher Education
- Sage Handbook of International Higher Education
- Sage Encyclopedia of Higher Education
- Encyclopedia of International Higher Education Systems and Institutions
- Encyclopedia Law and Higher Education
- The Handbook on the Politics of Higher Education
- Oxford Bibliographies: Education
Finding Data Resources
For assistance with finding and using data resources and government documents in the library, please contact Diane Sredl, Data Reference Librarian at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Selected Harvard LIbrary Research Guides:
Selected Data Resources
- Office of Institutional Research: Harvard University Factbook
- U.S. Department of Education
- Campus Safety and SEcurity Data analysis Cutting Tool
- Equity in Athletics
- FSA Data Center
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal office for collecting and analyzing education data.
- Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System
- Postsecondary Surveys & Programs includes information on students, faculty and individual institutions.
- Beginning Postsecondary Students
- College Affordability and Transparency Center
- College Navigator
- College Scorecard
- The Condition of Education is a congressionally mandated annual report containing key education indicators for the United States.
- Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs
- Digest of Education Statistics
- Highschool Longitudinal Study of 2009
- Indicators of School Crime & Safety
- National Postsecondary Student Aid Study
- Postsecondary Education Transcripts Studies
- Secondary Longitudinal Studies Program
- State Education Data Profiles
- State Education Reforms
- Center for Post-secondary Research at Indiana University
- Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education is a framework for recognizing and describing institutional diversity in U.S. higher education.. This framework has been widely used in the study of higher education, both as a way to represent and control for institutional differences, and also in the design of research studies to ensure adequate representation of sampled institutions, students, or faculty.
- National Survey of Student Engagement (NSSE) collects information from hundreds of four-year colleges and universities first-year and senior students' participation in programs and activities that institutions provide for their learning and personal development.
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS): Higher Education produces a range of indicators to track trends in tertiary education at the global, regional and national levels.
- Eurostat Statistics Explained: Tertiary Education Statistics
When you are looking for books and articles on a topic, use the default search in HOLLIS, which is a keyword search. A keyword search for leads to related subjects: Once you have done a search, note the "facets" on the right side of the page. Selecting a facet enables you to narrow your search by language, source type, subject, etc.
For books not currently available at Harvard,
- Use Borrow Direct to request it from one of the libraries in this network. If available you should receive the book within 4 days.
- If the book is not available through Borrow Direct or the item is an article, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request to borrow it from a broader network of libraries.
If you find an item in another library that you think the Harvard Library should own, you can submit a Collections Purchase Request.
- Sage Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by leading academics from across the social sciences. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.
Helpful Services & Tools
- Research Management and Citation Tools enable you to collect and to organize your sources and to create bibliographies quickly.
- Harvard College Writing Center Resources
- Harvard Guide to Using Sources is a publication of the Harvard College Writing Program
- Check Harvard Library Bookmark gets you to online material to which Harvard subscribes.
- Ask a Librarian is our virtual reference service.
- Scan & Deliver is a free electronic document delivery service for Harvard students, faculty and staff.