This guide provides links to resources and services to help with your research for Gov 94of: Law and Politics in Multicultural Democracies taught by Dr. Ofrit Liviatan.  If you have questions about Library resources and services, I would be happy to hear from you.

Kathleen Sheehan
Research Librarian and Liaison to
the Departments of Government,
Psychology & Sociology

Law

United States

  • U.S. Supreme Court Cases & Opinions
    • U.S. Supreme Court Cases from FindLaw - searchable database of decisions since 1760. Opinions are browsable by year and are searchable by party name, case title, citation, full text and docket number
    • SCOTUSBlog (Supreme Court of the United States blog) - opinions from 2007 to present
      • Symposium on the Roberts court and the first Amendment's religion clauses.
    • Supreme Court of the United States - Official site of the Court, opinions from 1991 to present.
    • Oyez - a free multimedia archive devoted to the creation of the most complet and authoritative source of the Supreme Court's audio since 1955. 
       

Foreign & International


Articles & Books

Journals

Legal News

  • NEXIS Uni - Option to search law reviews only in the Guided Search section.
  • ABA Journal (American Bar Association)
  • LegalTrac - Contains both news and scholarly articles.

Abortion

United States

  • Roe v. Wade - Decision of the U.S. Supreme Court.
  • Abortion - Pew Research Center - reports and data on views toward abortion in the United States and around the world.
  • Guttmacher Institute - produces a wide range of resources on topics pertaining to sexual and reproductive health and publishes two peer-reviewed journals. 
    • Site includes a Data Center where you can build, download and share custom tables, graphs and maps utilizing data on key indicators from the Guttmacher Institute and other trusted sources.
  • FindLaw: Abortion - historical background on the issue and the laws around it.


Foreign & International


Articles & Books

News

Religion

Background & Context


Articles & Books

News

Policy


Articles & Books


Research Guides

News

Regional & Cultural Studies

Background & Context


Articles & Books

News

Multidisciplinary

Background & Context

  • Oxford Bibliographies Online presents annotated bibliographies prepared by scholars who have chosen the key sources in a subject area.
  • Oxford Handbooks Online covers areas including history, law, political science, and religion. (online)
  • The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues. (online)
     

Articles & Books


News