Welcome to the Harvard Library
This guide provides information and links to resources and services relevant to Professor Kathleen Powers course Gov 94PK: Public Opinion and American Foreign Policy. If you have library or research related questions, we would be happy to hear from you.
Resources for Context, Background, and Overviews
- Oxford Bibliographies Online is a series of selective online guides to the essential literature in subjects in the humanities and social sciences. You might also want to explore. After a search across all volumes of the series, you can select to view only those results in relevant disciplines such as, political science or international relations.
- Annual Reviews offers comprehensive collections of critical reviews written by leading scholars. You can also search across disciplines in this resource and then narrow to relevant disciplines law and social sciences or political science.
Finding Scholarly Sources
GOVERNMENT, HISTORY, & LAW
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts covers the international literature of political science and international relations drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications.
- America: History & Life covers over 2,000 journals publishing the scholarly literature on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Historical Abstracts covers over 1800 journals publishing the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada.
- HeinOnline is a digital collection of legal materials including law journals and congressional and other government materials.
Citation Searching - The following databases are two of the best for doing citation searching. Most databases will enable you to see the works cited by an article. These databases enable you to find how many times a paper has been cited and by whom it has been cited since its publication.
- Web of Science (Citation Indexes) is a multidisciplinary database indexing major journals in the Sciences, Social Sciences and the Humanities.
- Google Scholar enables you to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, and abstracts from all broad areas of research.
- Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research and analysis including universities, governments, advocacy groups, and other entities. Part of a guide created by librarians from the Harvard Kennedy School, it also includes lists of U.S. and non-U.S. think tanks and resources for evaluating these organizations.
- Policy File Index allows users to access timely, updated information from over 350 public policy think tanks, nongovernmental organizations, research institutes, and other entities. Coverage is from 1990-present.
- ProQuest Congressional is a major source of information about the members of Congress and their legislative activities and a primary resource for accessing the many publications of Congress.
- Homeland Security Digital Library contains documents made available by the Naval Postgraduate School, including U.S. policy documents, national strategy documents, theses and research papers from the Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
- U.S. Declassified Documents Online provides access to previously classified federal records in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. The collection includes intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, and briefing materials.
Public Opinion Resources
- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research: Access to aggregate and raw public opinion data. Searchable at the question-level.
- Gallup Analytics: U.S. Data - economic, well-being, and political data collected daily since 2008; World Poll Data - economic, social, and well-being data collected annually since 2005 in 160+ countries. Additional data is available from the Gallup Brain portal and Gallup website.
- Pew Research Center: Provides data and analysis on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the United States and the world. Includes some raw data.
- Polling Report: Aggregates polling data from dozens of prominent pollsters.
- Reuters Polling: Weekly polls on a variety of topics since 2012
- World Public Opinion: Information and analysis on public opinion from around the world on international issues. Includes extensive links to additional public opinion sites, by region and topic.
- Chicago Council on Global Affairs: Analysis on US foreign policy and more. Searchable by issue and region.
Additional resources are available from the Public Opinion Research Guide.
- HOLLIS is the Library's main search tool. It includes the Harvard library catalog as well as a huge (and more heterogeneous) collection of citations for a variety of materials, including articles and book chapters. The online content students can surface there is substantial. See the HOLLIS User Guide for more information.
Helpful Services & Tools
- Ask a Librarian - Send us your question virtually.
- Check Harvard Library Bookmark - install it and use it to get to online material to which Harvard subscribes.
- Zotero: Getting Started - A tool for saving, organizing and formatting your research sources.
- Research Management & Citation Tools Research Guide - Information about various citation tools supported by the Harvard Library.