Begin Your Research with Online Encyclopedias

Instead of beginning with broad Google search, or relying on a Wikipedia entry to get an overview on your topic, start your research instead at one of the licensed online encyclopedias brought to you by the Harvard Library. The entries in these online sources are written by acknowledged experts, and provide you trusted authoritative information written by and for scholars in the field. Harvard ID and PIN required.

Grove Dictionary of Art Online

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism

Search for Books and More in Hollis+

 
  • Search for books, many journal articles formerly available only in databases, journals, images, maps, manuscript and archival materials, videos, music and open access
  • Looking for articles in design journals? See article search options, below.

Search for Articles

Article Search

Searching Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals , Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective.

For Additional Scholarly Articles

Locate 18th and 19th century literature

Find Images

Keep track of sources: Citations and Academic Writing

Chicago:  This is the citation style most commonly requested by faculty at the GSD for the formatting of cited references in student papers. This guide includes manuscript preparation guidelines, information on style and usage, and detailed explanation of the two Chicago documentation styles: Notes and Bibliography, and Author-Date reference. Please check with your faculty member on the preferred form.

Chicago Manual of Style  (Harvard ID and PIN required): full-text online version of the 16th edition, including Q & A, online tools, and a Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide.

Annotated Bibliographies
Useful information from the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)

Harvard Guide to Using Sources
Essential guide to using sources in academic writing.

Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab)" ”Avoiding Plagiarism”
A useful summary includes tips on how to avoid accidental plagiarism, includes a useful list of what does (and does not) need to be cited, and suggests best practices for research and writing.

Research Tools

Related Guides