Begin Your Research with Online Encyclopedias
Instead of beginning with broad Google search, or relying on a Wikipedia entry to get an overview on your topic, start your research at one of the licensed online encyclopedias brought to you by the Harvard Library. The entries in these online sources are written by acknowledged experts, and provide trusted authoritative information written by and for scholars in the field.
- Grove Dictionary of Art Online
- Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- Provides knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields. Entries discuss history, current trends and future directions.Includes sections on planning and urban studies issues.
Search for Books and More in HOLLIS
- Search for books, many journal articles formerly available only in databases, journals, images, maps, manuscript and archival materials, videos, music and open access
- Looking for articles in design journals? See article search options, below.
For Additional Scholarly Articles
Keeping track of sources: Citations and Academic Writing
Chicago: This is the citation style most commonly requested by faculty at the GSD for the formatting of cited references in student papers. This guide includes manuscript preparation guidelines, information on style and usage, and detailed explanation of the two Chicago documentation styles: Notes and Bibliography, and Author-Date reference. Please check with your faculty member on the preferred form.
Getting Started: Essential Library Accounts and Tools for Design Research
by Nicole Santiago Last Updated Sep 7, 2023 688 views this year
Write and Cite
by Nicole Santiago Last Updated Nov 30, 2023 5759 views this year
Urban Planning and Design
by Alix Reiskind Last Updated Sep 28, 2023 943 views this year
Geospatial and Statistical Data Resources
by Bruce Boucek Last Updated Jun 7, 2023 3687 views this year
Special Collections: Materials Collection at the Frances Loeb Library
by Johanna Kasubowski Last Updated Jul 11, 2023 1725 views this year