Visiting Archives

If the collections you need are not digitized, you'll need to plan a visit to the archives.

Very important! Visiting archives near or far requires planning ahead. Read the Society of American Archivists very helpful, time-saving tips:

Gutman Library Special Collections

Note that Gutman Library Special Collections is closed during the Spring 2019 semester. However, titles in the collection may be available online or in other libraries.

History of Education and Teacher Training Schools

The History of Education and Teacher Training Schools collection contains nearly 21,000 volumes of primary source materials on elementary and secondary education and teacher training in the United States. The bulk of the collection dates from 1830 to 1940.

A portion of the collection is focused on Black and Native education. See HOLLIS Search Tips for Black Education and Native Education to find these titles in the library catalog.

Historical Textbooks Collection

The Historical Textbooks collection contains nearly 45,000 elementary and secondary textbooks covers subject areas from agriculture to zoology. The collection contains materials published in the United States in English from 1776 through 1985. Several thousand of these titles have been digitized.

A portion of the collection contains textbooks, readers and materials intended for Black children, freed slaves, and Native people. See HOLLIS Search Tips to find these titles in the library catalog.

Finding Manuscripts and Archival Collections

This resource guide from Harvard Library may be helpful in your search for primary, archival and manuscript material: http://guides.library.harvard.edu/archives/harvard.