The ï¿½site contains more than 3,200 documents, photographs, buttons, posters, T-shirts, and audio and video recordings from the U.S. Africa solidarity movement in 32 states and the District of Columbia.ï¿½ Additional historical resources include audio and video recordings of ï¿½personal remembrances and interviews with activists, a directory of archives of organizations and individuals deposited in libraries and historical societies that are available for further researchï¿½.
The African American Biographical Database (AABD) brings together in one resource the biographies of thousands of African Americans. These biographical sketches have been assembled from biographical dictionaries and other sources. AABD draws its initial content from Chadwyck-Healey’s acclaimed Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950. Biographical portraits from newly uncovered dictionaries as well as from other published reference sources, obituary files, slave narrative collections, internet sites, etc. have been added as the database expands. Use the Profile Search to locate individuals by name, place of birth, date of birth, date of death, occupation, religion, gender, or source of information.
Historical and contemporary information documenting African diaspora and African American history and experience. Content includes encyclopedias and other reference works covering all aspects of the African American past; approximately 1000 images; 100 primary documents; charts, tables, and graphs representing demographic information in the areas of history, government and politics, business and labor, education, law and crime, and the arts; thematic maps illustrating demographics and history; and a general timeline of African American history, and specific thematic timelines.
Presents FBI documentation of James Meredith’s battle to enroll at The University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash. Includes Meredith's correspondence with the NAACP and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.
Digital edition of approximately 15,000 articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of nearly 300 Black abolitionists in the United States, Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France and Germany, first issued on microfilm. Includes correspondence, speeches, sermons, and lectures; articles, essays, editorials, and other major writings from abolitionist and reform newspapers; and receipts, poems, and other miscellaneous documents.
Fully indexed, full-text database of monographs, essays, articles, speeches and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the early 19th century to 1975. The collection begins with the works of Frederick Douglass, and will include works by W.E.B. DuBois, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Malcolm X, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, and many others. Approximately 20% of the collection has not been previously published.
The Database of Twentieth Century African-American Poetry includes the full text of over 12,000 poems by more than 100 African-American poets, including Arna Bontemps, Rita Dove, Langston Hughes, June Jordan, Yusef Komunyakaa, Audre Lorde, and Sherley Anne Williams. Biographical profiles accompany each poet's work, and the complete database can be searched by a number of fields, including keyword, first line or title keyword, and poet name. ## ##The Database of Twentieth Century African-American Poetry aims to include as full a collection of the published works of each poet as possible. The complete, most recent text of each poem has been included and any integral textual images and illustrations have been scanned. Additional information relating directly to the poetry, such as prefaces or introductions, is also included.
This digital archive of the NAACP Papers consists of six sections: the Minutes of the Board of Directors Meetings, 1909-1950; Monthly Reports of NAACP Officers, 1918-1950; Annual Conference Proceedings, 1910-1950; Proceedings of the Annual Business Meetings, 1912-1950; and Special Correspondence, 1910-1939.
Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice, 1490-2007 is a portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today."