American National Biography is the first new comprehensive biographical dictionary focused on American history to be published in seventy years. Produced under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies, the ANB contains over 17,500 profiles on historical figures written by an expert in the field and completed with a bibliography. The scope of the work is enormous--from the earlest recorded European explorations to the very recent past.
Available in print and online.The online Harvard Library E-Resource gives additional access to articles through keyword searching.
Searchable text and digitized images of all issues (except the last five years) of a number of journals, including American Historical Review, Journal of American History (and its previous title: Mississippi Valley Historical Review), American Quarterly, Eighteenth-Century Studies, Journal of Modern History, Journal of Negro History, Journal of Southern History, Reviews in American History, and William and Mary Quarterly.
Harvard Library E-Resource.
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
by Paul Finkelman (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. E169.1.E626 2001
Publication Date: 2000-12-13
Index in volume 3
The African American Encyclopedia
by R. Kent Rasmussen; Barbara Bair (Editor); Carl L. Bankston (Editor); David Bradley (Editor); Shelley Fisher Fishkin (Editor); Wendy Sacket (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. E185.A253 2001
Publication Date: 2001-08-01
Vol. 10 has lists of research centers and people by profession as well as a bibliography and an index
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture
by Robert Gregg (Editor); Cindy Hing-Yuk Wong (Editor); Gary W. McDonogh (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. E169.12 .E49 2001
Publication Date: 2001-01-22
Organizing Black America
by Nina Mjagkij (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. E185.5.O74 2001
Publication Date: 2001-01-16
With information on over 500 organizations, their founders and membership, this unique encyclopedia is an invaluable resource on the history of African-American activism. Entries on both historical and contemporary organizations include: * African Aid Society * African-Americans forHumanism * Black Academy of Arts and Letters * BlackWomen's Liberation Committee * Minority Women in Science* National Association of Black Geologists andGeophysicists * National Dental Association * NationalMedical Association * Negro Railway Labor ExecutivesCommittee * Pennsylvania Freedmen's Relief Association *Women's Missionary Society, African Methodist EpiscopalChurch * and many more.
Signed articles, bibliographies, and index
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
by Jack Salzman (Editor); David L. Smith (Editor); Cornel West (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. E185.E54 1996
Publication Date: 1995-12-01
The Encyclopedia is a 5-vol. work covering all aspects of African-American life. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces -- many by the foremost scholars in the field -- it addresses a wide array of subjects in more than 2,300 articles to fully define in one source the history, cultural roots and current condition of the African-American community.
Signed articles, bibliographies, and index. Also 2001 supplement