Finding Statistics by By Religious Group

Note that some of these printed sources have migrated to become web resources and that recent historical data may be found only in web archives.

BAPTISTS

Yearbook of the American Baptist Churches in the U.S.A. Valley Forge, Pa.: American Baptist Churches in the U.S.A.

Contains a summary of denominational statistics by region, including membership, baptisms, church school enrollment, and expenses.

Year book of the American Baptist Churches of Massachusetts. TABCOM,

Includes tabulations of data by regional associations, listed by congregation.

CHURCH OF THE BRETHREN

Church of the Brethren. Yearbook. Elgin, Ill.: Church of the Brethren General Board.

Although the cover of this volume promises statistical information, the 1994 edition did not actually include any.

CONGREGATIONALISTS

See also United Church of Christ

National Association of Congregational Christian Churches. Yearbook. Oak Creek, Wis.: The Association.

Contains most recent statistics for each congregation, including membership, attendance, church school enrollment, and benevolences and expenses.

EPISCOPALIANS

The Episcopal Church Annual.

Includes a general summary of current statistics; provincial summaries; and a table comparing statistics in five-year increments beginning 1850, and in annual increments beginning 1975.

FRIENDS

Society of Friends. New England Yearly Meeting. Minutes of the New England Yearly Meeting of Friends. South Portland, Maine: New England Yearly Meeting of Friends.

Basic statistics provided for each local Meeting.

GREEK ORTHODOX

Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America. Yearbook.

ncludes limited statistical reports in the Registry of the Archdiocese section of the yearbook.

JEHOVAH'S WITNESSES

Yearbook of Jehovah's Witnesses. Brooklyn, N. Y.: Watchtower Bible and Tract Society.

ncludes a statistical section, with particular emphasis on tract distribution. Information arrangement varies by year.

JEWS

American Jewish Year Book. Philadelphia: Jewish Publication Society; New York: American Jewish Committee.

See Vol. 92 (1992; shelved in stacks) for a lengthy study of American Jewish demographics, "Profile of American Jewry: Insights from the 1990 National Jewish Population Survey"; the essay begins p.77, with tables beginning p.143. Revised figures are provided in Vol. 93 (1993) in the essay, "Jewish Population in the United States, 1992," p.192.

LUTHERANS

Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. Yearbook. Minneapolis, Minn.: Publishing House of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.

Provides statistics by congregation, by synod, and in summary.

Lutheran Church--Missouri Synod. Lutheran Annual. St. Louis, Mo.: Concordia Pub. House.

This includes an especially valuable section which compares statistics from 18 Lutheran denominations. Also provides Missouri Synod statistics organized by district, by state, and by decade.

Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. New England Synod. Assembly Minutes. Worcester, Mass.: New England Synod, ELCA.

Most recent statistical data is arranged by congregation and includes membership and financial information.

MENNONITES

Mennonite World Handbook. "A survey of Mennonite and Brethren in Christ Churches." Lombard, Ill.: Mennonite World Conference.

Includes a statistical section.

METHODISTS

United Methodist Church (U.S.). General Minutes of the Annual Conferences of the United Methodist Church. Evanston, Ill.: General Council.

Includes extensive statistical information.

PRESBYTERIANS

Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.). General Assembly. Minutes. Office of the General Assembly, 1983- . Issued in two parts: pt. 1. Journal (Proceedings); pt. 2. Statistics.

Statistical tables are provided for each congregation, arranged by presbytery. Summaries appear by presbytery and by synod. The volume also includes comparative statistics and statistical analysis. Among the financial data included are complete tables of staff compensation for all governing bodies (i.e., presbyteries, synods, and the General Assembly).

Cumberland Presbyterian Church. General Assembly. Minutes. Memphis, Tenn.: Cumberland Presbyterian Church.

Statistics can be found in the Report of the Stated Clerk.

Church of Scotland. Year Book. Edinburgh: The Saint Andrew Press, 1966- [Ref. BX9076.A3]

Includes a section on congregational statistics.

REFORMED CHURCH

Reformed Church in America. General Synod. The Acts and Proceedings of the General Synod of the Reformed Church in America. New York : Board of Publication of the Reformed Church,.

The Appendix volume ("Directory and Financial Statements") includes congregational statistics, which are arranged by synod and subdivided by classis. A general summary is included.

ROMAN CATHOLICS

The Official Catholic Directory. New York: P. J. Kennedy.

A General Summary of annual statistics, arranged by diocese, can be found at the end of the Index of Institutions. A Statistical Overview is included with the directory entry for each diocese.

Our Sunday Visitor's ... Catholic Almanac. Huntington, Ind.: Our Sunday Visitor, Inc.,

Refer to the index entry for "Statistics." Includes a variety of figures, with separate sections on world Catholicism, Catholicism in Canada, and Catholicism in the United States.

UNITARIAN UNIVERSALISTS

Unitarian Universalist Association. Directory. Boston: Unitarian Universalist Association.

Includes a statistical summary, which compares figures for the last several years, and a map showing the number of congregations and members in each state or province. Statistics are also included by congregation.

UNITED CHURCH OF CANADA

United Church of Canada. Year Book and Directory. Toronto.

Includes an extensive statistical section, with an explanatory essay.

UNITED CHURCH OF CHRIST

United Church of Christ. Year Book. New York, N.Y.

The Directory of Local Churches includes congregational statistics, with summary tables and comparative historical totals at the end of the section.