Home
Introduction
This guide provides access to a curated list of resources for social science academic researchers and public policy practitioners researching the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.
Featured Resources
- CIDRAP, COVID Resource CenterThe U.S. Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy (CIDRP) is based in Minneapolis MN. The site includes news, reports, webinars, commentaries and more on the COVID-19 outbreak.
- Oxford COVID-19 Government Response Tracker (OxCGRT)Collects information on several different common policy responses that governments have taken to respond to the pandemic on 18 indicators such as school closures and travel restrictions. It now has data from more than 180 countries.
- Kaiser Family Foundation, Coronavirus (COVID-19) SiteWell known health policy think tank. The site includes state data and policy actions, polling, reports, tracking and visualizations on coronavirus.
- National Conference of State Legislatures, State Action on CoronavirusThe best site for information relating to U.S state actions and COVID-19. Searchable database of bills and legislation relating to coronavirus legislative actions.View the subject based NCSL Coronavirus (COVID-19) Resources for States
- COVID States ProjectUnited States survey data and reports on the links between social behaviors and COVID-19 virus transmission. Includes the impact of messaging and regulation on individual and community outcomes during this crisis. Principal investigators are from Harvard, Northeastern, Northwestern and Rutgers.
- COVID-19 Law LabGathers and shares legal documents from over 190 countries across the world to help states establish and implement strong legal frameworks to manage the pandemic. A joint project of UNDP, WHO,UNAIDS and the O’Neill Institute for National and Global Health Law at Georgetown University.
- John Hopkins Coronavirus Resource CenterIncludes a case tracker, critical trends reports and COVID-19 interactive maps.
- COVID-19 Tracking ProjectUpdated by journalists and other volunteers, this site collects and publishes the most complete testing data available for US states and territories. See also the COVID Racial Data Tracker.
- World Health Organization, Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) OutbreakCountry and technical guidance, situation dashboard, R&D updates and more.
News
- STAT, CoronavirusMedical and public health news.
- Reminder: HKS affiliates have free access to individual online subscriptions to the New York Times, Washington Post, Financial Times and Wall Street Journal. Follow these instructions.
- In addition, most newspapers are offering free access to coronavirus content.
Business/Economics
- Harvard Business School, COVID-19 Business Impact CenterTopics include economic and financial impacts, health care management, leading through crisis, adapting your business, leveraging technology and your work life.
- IMF Policy Responses to COVID-19This policy tracker summarizes the key economic responses governments are taking to limit the human and economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic. The tracker includes 196 economies.
- Opportunity Insights, Economic TrackerCreated by several prominent Harvard economic professors. Tracks the economic impacts of COVID-19 on people, businesses, and communities across the United States in real time.
- StartUpBlink, Covid-19 Innovation MapMap to show innovations and solutions across the world that help people cope and adapt to life amid the coronavirus, and to connect innovators.
- US Chamber of Commerce, Combating CoronavirusGuides on reopening businesses, small business PPP loans and other resources for small businesses
Think Tanks
- HKS Library Think Tank SearchA Google customized search of 1200+ think tanks and research center websites.
Policy and Law
Foreign & International
- COVID-19 Law LabGathers and shares legal documents from over 190 countries across the world to help states establish and implement strong legal frameworks to manage the pandemic. A joint project of UNDP, WHO,UNAIDS and the O’Neill Institute for National and Global Health Law at Georgetown University.
- HKS, Malcom Wiener, Monitoring the Covid-19 Employment ResponseFocus on cross country labor and employment policy responses to COVID-19.
- International and Country Public Health Agency Guidelines for COVID-19Links to select international public health and government-sponsored guidelines from several countries and regions around the world.
- Oxford COVID-19 Government Response Tracker (OxCGRT)Collects information on several different common policy responses that governments have taken to respond to the pandemic on 18 indicators such as school closures and travel restrictions. It now has data from more than 180 countries.
US Government (State & Local Responses)
- Council of State Governments,COVID-19 Resources for State LeadersSite includes legislative session updates, election resources, access to state executive orders on COVID-19, and links to state reopening plans.
- FiscalNote Coronavirus Updates & Resource CenterUS state legislation and appropriations responses to COVID-19.
- Multistate, COVID-19 Policy TrackerDashboard, maps, and other resources for tracking how states and localities are responding to the COVID-19 crisis.
- National Association of State Budget Officers, Coronavirus Resourcesincludes the latest federal news, press articles highlighting state responses and other resources.
- National Conference of State Legislatures, State Action on CoronavirusTreasure trove of information relating to state actions and COVID-19. Searchable database of bills and legislation relating to coronavirus legislative actions.View the subject based NCSL Coronavirus (COVID-19) Resources for States
- National Governors Association, Coronavirus: What You Need to KnowComprehensive site of state actions on COVID-19. Includes policy and guidance documents, state by state guides,and reopening tracking data.
- Pew, Coronavirus State ActionsArticles on state response to COVID-19.
- Bloomberg Harvard City Leadership Initiative, Coronavirus Local Response InitiativeSite to support mayors as they manage COVID-19. View crisis leadership and critical public health videos, and FAQs.
- Bloomberg Philanthropies: COVID-19 Resources for CitiesA variety of tools for cities to use in during the COVID-19 pandemic including a local action tracker, communication and transportation topics among others.
US Government (Federal)
- GPO Coronavirus (COVID-19) siteU.S. legislative, executive and regulatory documents on COVID-19
- U.S. Government Response to Coronavirus, COVID-19Links to federal agency websites on coronavirus.
- CRS Reports, COVID-19Congressional Research Services (CRS) is a non-partisan think tank for Congressional members and staff. CRS staff provide detailed research reports on a variety of topics in response to requests by members of Congress. All COVID-19 CRS Reports are linked from this site.
World Health Organization (WHO)
- WHO Global Research on Coronavirus Disease PortalIncludes database of articles on COVID-19. Searchable by topic, author and journal.
- World Health Organization, Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) OutbreakCountry and technical guidance, situation dashboard, R&D updates and more.
Harvard University Research & Resources
- Harvard Kennedy School, COVID-19 Insights & SolutionsHKS faculty insights on international affairs, security, economics and social policy relating to the COVID-19 pandemic.
- HKS Ash Center, COVID-19 Public Sector ResourcesA resource center for public sector practitioners to highlight cases, teaching, policy solutions, and other examples of how governments are responding to the outbreak.
- HKS Center for International Development, COVID 19 Response and ResourcesResources including grant information for developing countries on how to respond to current pandemic.
- Bloomberg Harvard City Leadership Initiative, Coronavirus Local Response InitiativeSite to support mayors as they manage COVID-19. View crisis leadership and critical public health videos, and FAQs.
- Harvard Business School, COVID-19 Business Impact CenterTopics include economic and financial impacts, health care management, leading through crisis, adapting your business, leveraging technology and your work life.
- Harvard Global Health Initiative, Pandemics ExplainedSite contains an interactive map of COVID-19 hospital capacity estimates and reports on the global and U.S. responses.
- Harvard Safra Center for Ethics, COVID-19 Response: Pandemic Resilience RoadmapA comprehensive operational roadmap for mobilizing and reopening the U.S. economy during the COVID-19 crisis.Site also includes a number of white papers on the COVID response.
Medical & Public Health
Articles & Reports
- CDC, COVID-19 Research ArticlesThis is a very large but no longer updated selection of scholarly and grey literature, including non-peer reviewed preprints.
The CDC Database of COVID-19 Research Articles is now a part of the WHO COVID-19. CDC search results are now being sent to the WHO COVID-19 Database. The last version of the CDC COVID-19 database (last updated October 9, 2020) will be archived and remain available on this website. All new articles are now being integrated into the WHO COVID-19 database.
- Imperial College of London, MRC Centre for Infectious Disease, COVID-19Reports, planning tools, scientific research, video updates and other publications on COVID-19.
- National Academies PressWorkshop Proceedings title of interest include "Exploring Lessons Learned from a Century of Outbreaks: Readiness for 2030" and "Building Communication Capacity to Counter Infectious Disease Threats"
- NIH/NLM LitCovidA curated literature hub on PubMed for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus.
- NIH Disaster Information Management Research CenterCurated search for articles on the Coronavirus (COVID-19)
- PubMedPubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Try using the free My NCBI account. For more information see https://guides.library.harvard.edu/PubMed.
- University of Washington's Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation, COVID-19 ProjectionsAccess to case projections, models and publications on COVID 19.
- Coronavirus Research Database - Proquest (Harvard Login)The Coronavirus Research Database is a collection of journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. It includes comprehensive research background coverage of past pandemics and epidemics, like MERS and SARS. There are ready-to-run searches related to COVID-19 for these topics: Health and Medicine R&D; Epidemiology; Investigational Drugs; Public Health; Economic Impact; and Social Issues
World Health Organization (WHO)
- WHO Global Research on Coronavirus Disease PortalIncludes database of articles on COVID-19. Searchable by topic, author and journal.
- WHO, Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) OutbreakCountry and technical guidance, situation dashboard, R&D updates and more.
Maps, Statistics & Data
Statistics & Data
- COVID-19 Open Research DatasetAllen Institute for AI has partnered with leading research groups to prepare and distribute the COVID-19, a free resource of over 29,000 scholarly articles.
- ICPSR COVID-19Hosted by the ICPSR, this new open access repository contains COVID-19 social science datasets.
- John Hopkins COVID-19 GitHub dataMassive list of COVID data resources for a large number of countries, as well as US states, cities and county data.
- Our World in Data, Coronavirus Pandemic (COVID-19)Data visualizations of global and individual country trends in coronavirus pandemic. Freely reuse visualizations under creative commons license with attribution.. The site's creator is a social historian and development economist associated with the University of Oxford.
- Statista COVID-19/CoronavirusStatistics and dossiers on impact of coronavirus on specific countries and industries.
- GovLab, #Data4COVID19 RepositoryA living repository of data collaboratives seeking to address the spread of COVID-19.
Dashboards and Maps
- Boston Children’s HealthMap Infectious Disease Surveillance SystemBoston Children’s Hospital map with deliver real-time intelligence on a broad range of emerging infectious diseases. Includes historical infectious diseases cases and COVID-19.
- COVID-19 Event Risk Assessment Planning ToolShows the risk level of attending an event in the United States given the event size and location. Hosted by Georgia Institute of Technology.
- COVID-19 Medical Resource Demand Dashboard - US NationalHosted by UVA, projected hospital bed capacity across the United States.
- COVID-19: A Living Systematic Map of the EvidenceCollaboration of UK think tanks and public health organizations. An up-to-date map of the current evidence from scholarly literature partitioned into broad domains for easy exploration.
- EIU COVID-19 Health Funding TrackerHosted by the publisher of the Economist. Visualize data by source or recipient or download the data into a CSV file.
- ESRI Coronavirus GIS HubView and created customized maps with datasets from trusted public health partners including WHO, John Hopkins and other organizations. All Harvard affiliates are eligible for ArcGIS accounts through the Center for Geographic Analysis
- John Hopkins COVID-19 DashboardTop resource for mapping COVID-19 cases, downloading tables and additional ways to explore data including a news map with coronavirus stories and count comparisons.
- Upcode, COVID-19 SIngapore DashboardScrapes data provided by the Singapore Ministry of Health.
E-Books
E-Books on COVID-19 (Harvard Login)
American Contagions: Epidemics and the Law from Smallpox to COVID-19 by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0300257279Publication Date: 2020A concise history of how American law has shaped--and been shaped by--the experience of contagion. Historian John Fabian Witt traces the legal history of epidemics, showing how infectious disease has both shaped, and been shaped by, the law.
Confronting Covid-19: A Strategic Playbook for Leaders and Decision Makers by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9814928283Publication Date: 2021-01-18The books combination of, evidence-based analyses, projections and actionable recommendations makes this a must-read book for all leaders and decision makers in public, private and community sectors. Most of all, the ideas presented within these pages command the urgent attention of those within the international policy-making community.
Pandemic Solidarity by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0745343163Publication Date: 2020Collects firsthand experiences from around the world of people creating their own narratives of solidarity and mutual aid in the time of the global crisis of Covid-19. The personal accounts in the book weave together to create a larger picture, revealing a universality of experience.Moving beyond the present, these stories reveal what an alternative society could look like, and reflect the skills and relationships we already have to create that society, challenging institutions of power that have already shown their fragility.
Surveying the Covid-19 Pandemic and Its Implications by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0128243139Publication Date: 2020Explores social, economic, and policy impacts of COVID-19 that will persist for some time.
E-Books on Pandemics (Harvard Login)
An Epidemic of Rumors: How Stories Shape Our Perception of Disease
Temporary free access
Epidemic City: The Politics of Public Health in New York
Temporary free access
Other Guides
Research Guides
- Harvard Library, Black America and COVID-19Documents the impact of COVID-19 on African Americans.
- HKS LIbrary, Health Policy GuideIncludes many data and statistics resources.
- Proquest COVID-19 Resources - Coronavirus Research DatabaseThe guide provides instructions for using the Coronavirus Research Database (Harvard Login), a collection of journal articles, preprints, conference proceedings, dissertations and more related to COVID-19 and other coronaviruses. There are links to ready-to-run searches related to COVID-19 for these topics: Health and Medicine R&D; Epidemiology; Investigational Drugs; Public Health; Economic Impact; and Social Issues.