Starting Points

Check out the Harvard Kennedy School 
Racial Justice, Racial Equity, and Anti-Racism Reading List!
The following resources offer introductions to and overviews of the subject matter. Use them to find out about the broad contours of your field of study, then move on to the resources listed further down on this page for more in-depth research. 
Multicultural America (Harvard Login)
The Oxford Handbook of Multicultural Identity (Harvard Login)
The SAGE Handbook of Race and Ethnic Studies (Print Only)
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society (Print Only)
The Oxford Handbook of American Immigration and Ethnicity (Harvard Login)
The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Race in American History (Harvard Login)
Oxford Handbook of Racial and Ethnic Politics
What Is Race? Four Philosophical Views (Harvard Login)
Critical Race Theory: An Introduction (Harvard Login)
The Oxford Handbook of American Indian History (Harvard Login)
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 (Harvard Login)
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present (Harvard Login)
The Oxford Handbook of Latino Studies (Harvard Login)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in Contemporary Politics, Law, and Social Movements  (Harvard Login)
The Oxford Handbook of Asian American History (Harvard Login)

Find Books & Articles

For books (both print and electronic) owned by Harvard's libraries, consult HOLLIS, our library catalog. Be sure to select the "library catalog" (not the "everything") option if you are looking only for books. Once you have found titles of interest, try exploring further by following the linked subject headings or the virtual bookshelf feature available with each detailed catalog record.

For articles, book reviews, etc., the following databases provide excellent coverage of the topic:

Also check the following resources from HKS:

Find Primary Sources

Find Video