Primary Source Databases
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820
Browse the "Document Clusters" to find sources on women's roles in the United States Empire, both as participants in empire-building and leaders of resistance.
Asia:
ProQuest History Vault: Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975
This is a vast collection of documents concerning the War in Vietnam, as well as U.S. relations with Cuba, Panama, and other countries. It includes Associated Press archives, National Security files from the presidencies of Kennedy through Ford, and U.S. Marine Corps records.
American Proxy Wars: Korea and Vietnam: Global Perspectives, 1946-1975
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books covering the Korean and Vietnamese conflicts
History of the Philippine Insurrection Against the United States, 1899-1903
A Guide to the Spanish-American War (Library of Congress)
Latin America and the Caribbean:
Digital Library of the Caribbean
dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials. These include books, journals, and newspapers in full text, photographs, posters, maps, and other primary resources. TIP: In the Advanced Search, search for a place as a subject, then narrow the results with other subject topics -- for example, Panama > Riots.
Latin America and the Caribbean Archive
A collection of over 1.3 million pages of historical material about Latin America and the Caribbean. Materials include manuscripts, letters, U.S. State Department reports, maps, diaries, ephemera, and more.
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection
The collection includes more than 5000 items dating from the early 19th until the early 20th century. Many include maps, photographs and other illustrations. You can search the database by keyword, author, subject, etc. Here's one of the results from a keyword search for platt: an excerpt from a pamphlet written by former Cuban president Salvador Cisneros Betancourt, opposing the Platt Amendment to the Cuban Constitution of 1901.
Excerpt from Voto particular contra la enmienda Platt, by Savador Cisneros Betancourt: "It's clear that the Americans did not come to Cuba purely for humanitarian reasons, as they preached, but with very particular, self-interested intentions."