Reference Sources
Reference works like these can be invaluable for providing an overview of a topic, as well as summarizing the scholarly conversation and pointing to key readings for further research.
Encyclopedia of the Age of Imperialism, 1800-1914
This encyclopedia offers current, detailed information on the major world powers and their global empires, as well as on the people, events, ideas, and movements, both European and non-European, that shaped the Age of Imperialism.
Call Number: ONLINE
The Palgrave Encyclopedia of Imperialism and Anti-Imperialism
The Palgrave Encyclopedia objectively presents the prominent themes and historical accounts of imperialism from 1776 to the present.
Call Number: ONLINE
Conflicts in American History: A Documentary Encyclopedia
Conflicts in American History: A Documentary Encyclopedia explores the conflicts, controversies, and ideas that have made American civilization unique and distinctive. Blending narrative essays and primary sources, each volume focuses on one distinct chronological era and the conflicts that defined it. Each chapter is devoted to a specific conflict and contains 10-15 original documents, a chronology, and a bibliography. Each volume of the encyclopedia features approximately 250-350 original documents and a master bibliography.
The Encyclopedia of the Spanish-American and Philippine-American Wars
Over 600 entries in two volumes, covering leading individuals, battles, weapons systems, and events in the United States, Spain, and other nations. Over 150 primary-source documents in a separate volume; 350 photographs and illustrations, as well as 16 maps, providing a rich array of images to help readers visualize the war's key events and lasting impact; and an extensive bibliography
