Skip to main content

Indian Law Guide

Home

Global Legal Monitor

Loading ...

New Books at Harvard Law Library

Loading ...

Subject Guide

Aslihan Bulut's picture
Aslihan Bulut
Contact:
Harvard Law Library

504 Areeda Hall

Cambridge, MA 02138

abulut@law.harvard.edu

Cases

About Indian Judiciary

On this page you can find information on the Indian Judiciary, specifically, sources available electronically, online and in print in the Harvard Library.  For a general overview of the Indian Judiciary, you may want to consult the official website,http://indiancourts.nic.in/, which provides links to the Supreme Court, High Courts, District Courts and the Tribunals.  The research guides linked under the 'other sources' tab is another good place to get background information on the overall legal system, history and the judiciary.  There are also secondary sources on the judiciary structure like this SSRN article, India's Judicial Architecture.

Search Multiple Indian Courts

Additional tools

Supreme Court

Case Status

High Courts

Tribunals, Commissions and Other Courts

Acts and Rules

Background

From Globalex: Guide to Indian Laws

"The primary source of law is in the enactments passed by the Parliament or the State Legislatures. In addition to these the President and the Governor have limited powers to issue ordinances when the Parliament or the State Legislature are not in session. These ordinances lapse six weeks from the re-assembly of the Parliament or the State Legislature. These laws are later published in the Official Gazette (The Gazette of India or the State Gazette)."

State Legislation

Central Legislation-Session Laws

Compilatons/Codifications

parliamanent/bill tracking

Constitutent Assembly Debates

Subordinate legislation

Treaties

Books and articles in general

Search for Treatises, Books, Journal Titles

Selected periodicals

Search for Legal Articles

Index to Indian Legal Periodicals (also available online)

This is the most comprehensive index for finding articles in law and related subjects published in India. It comes out in print semi-annually and can be searched by author and subject. It also provides book review and landmark case listings.

National Law School Article Index

Index to Indian & Foreign Legal Articles

LegalTrac

Indexes over 1400 legal periodicals from US, Canada, UK, Australia and New Zealand, including all the major international and comparative law journals, since 1980. Can be searched in both Westlaw and LexisNexis, under the database title: Legal Resource Index (LRI). (Harvard ID and PIN required)

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

Multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in approximately 540 legal journals published worldwide. Works best using Internet Explorer browser. (Harvard ID and PIN required)

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books

Provides citations to articles in over 800 legal periodicals such as law reviews, bar association journals, yearbooks, institutes, and government publications from August 1981 to the present. In 1994, ILP began indexing legal books and now includes approximately 2,000 per year. Access is controlled by HLS IP address and is limited to the Harvard Law School community. Off-campus access is controlled by HLS LDAP username and password. 

Legal Journals Index

Available on Westlaw only.  Provides citations to articles in over 450 legal journals published in the United Kingdom and other European countries from 1986 to the present. Covers topics pertaining to the laws of the European Union and its member states.

Indian Law Journal series (SSRN)

WorldLII Law Journals (Academic)-India

Multidisciplinary Indexes for Journal Articles and Books (multiple jurisdictions)

Current awareness and news sources

Global Legal Monitor

Loading ...

New articles and working papers

Other Sources

Legal Profession

Citation

Indian law Institute Library

Free aggregated search engines

Practitioner Sources

Searching the web

Getting Help

Contact Us!

  Ask Us! Submit a question or search our knowledge base.

 Email research@law.harvard.edu

 Contact Historical & Special Collections at specialc@law.harvard.edu

Drop-In Reference Visit our online Office Hours

 Meet with Us  Schedule an online consult with a Librarian

Hours  Library Hours

Classes View Training Calendar or Request an Insta-Class

 Text Ask a Librarian, 617-702-2728