Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Expos 20: Culture and Politics of Inequality: Databases for Journal Articles

A Research Guide

Databases for Journal Articles

Use these databases for faster access to more relevant search results.
But . . . won't I get all the articles I need with HOLLIS?
HOLLIS will give you a lot of articles, but specialized databases (like those below) can give you more focused results from specific fields of study.

Academic Search Premier
Covers all academic subjects, and includes popular magazines as well as scholarly journals. Sample article: When Conflicts Get Heated, So Does the Planet: Coupled Social-Climate Dynamics Under Inequality

Environment Index
Provides citations and abstracts for articles from more than 1,000 international journals, with full text of articles from more than 250. Subjects covered include agriculture, energy, environmental law, geography, marine and freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. Sample article: African Environmental Change from the Pleistocene to the Anthropocene

Race Relations Abstracts
Covers essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other key areas. Full text is provided for many articles. Sample article: Construction Workers in a Climate Precarious World

Social Science Premium Collection
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more. Sample article: Social Impacts of Climate Change Mitigation Policies and Their Implications for Inequality

News

Articles in news media can give you basic facts about an ecological problem, its history, and its social impact. You can also find interviews, op-ed essays, and other personal statements in news media.

Nexis Uni and Factiva
These two databases of newspapers and other news sources include articles from the 1970s until today. For older articles, use the historical New York Times and other newspapers from ProQuest Historical Newspapers
NOTE: Factiva automatically searches for the latest three months of content only, but you can change this time frame when setting up your search. In Nexis Uni, use quotation marks for phrase searching; these are not needed in Factiva.

Expert Reports

The Brookings Institution
To cite Brookings reports and other web-based sources, use the MLA format given by the MLA Style Center or the APA format shown at Purdue's Online Writing Lab.