Women and the Media: Online Information Portals
In 2005, Jane Fonda, Robin Morgan and Gloria Steinem founded the Women’s Media Center (WMC), a progressive, nonpartisan, nonprofit organization working to raise the visibility, viability and decision-making power of women and girls in media.
WMC has interesting areas to explore, including:
- Research Reports: on the underrepresentation of women across the media spectrum
- Speech: focused on online sexual harassment in all its forms
- F-Bomb: a feminist media platform for and by youth
- IDAR/E: spotlights Latina voices on critical issues
- SheSource: an online database of media-experienced women experts
- News: covers headline topics and underreported stories.
The Global Media Monitoring Project: Who Makes the News?
Since 1995, it has produced, at 5 year intervals, reports on the status of both representation and portrayal of women in the media landscape.
GMMP is the largest and longest longitudinal study on gender in the world’s media.It is also the largest advocacy initiative in the world on changing the representation of women in the media.
Geena Davis Institute on Women in Media
Founded in 2004, this organization works collaboratively within the entertainment industry to engage, educate and influence the creation of gender balanced onscreen portrayals. It aims to reduce harmful stereotypes and create an abundance d intersectional female characters in entertainment targeting children 11 and under."
The site includes a large body of research on gender in such areas as family entertainment, advertising, and more. It also points to research and resources available on affiliated and partner sites.
Gender-Related Magazines, News Sites, and News Databases
NEWS AND MAGAZINES: CURRENT
A full text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. As a current and retrospective collection, Alt-Press Watch serves a broad spectrum of subject areas including the arts, media and popular culture, business and labor studies, education, environmental studies and ecology, global studies, history, journalism, literary and critical studies, political science, government and public policy, social science and more.
A current, interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Feminist Magazines (Feminist Majority Foundation)
Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT+ interests.In addition to the Advocate and Gay Times, the pre-eminent US and UK titles, respectively, key publications include Diva, Pink Paper and Transgender Tapestry, Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community and also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts,
This database includes more than 3000 newspapers from around the globe, most in English (or English translation). Coverage varies by title but usually dates from the 1980s forward. Nexis Uni is also good for searching transcripts of major TV and radio news broadcasts (including BBC and NPR).
NEWS AND MAGAZINES: HISTORICAL
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Searches across the contents of major U.S. dailies, notable Black newspapers, and some foreign newspapers.Among the titles included: New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Baltimore Sun, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Philadelphia Inquirer, St. Louis Post and Dispatch, and the Wall Street Journal.
Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
Features the leading women's consumer magazines of the 20th century digitized in full color and high resolution. Includes the following titles: Better Homes and Gardens (1922-2005); Chatelaine (1928-2005); Good Housekeeping (1885-2005); Ladies' Home Journal (1883-2005); Parents (1926-2005); Redbook (1903-2005). Monthly issues cover social, historical, and cultural trends in the areas of business/marketing, fashion, women's/gender studies, design and illustration.
Zines at the Schlesinger Library (collection guide)
WEB NEWS AND BLOGS
Founded in 1995, in the early days of the web, as a way "to tap into its amazing power to offer people around the world access to information about human rights, women's issues, health, anti-violence resources, grassroots activism, women's businesses, and pretty much anything that could possibly support a world where men and women are allied, empowered and equal."
Feminist Websites, Blogs, and Resources (Stanford U, Women's Community Center)
Identifies itself as "the leading media and entertainment company focused on women, with a global audience footprint of 249 million across all platforms. [Since 2005,] Refinery29 has upended the global media space by emphasizing diverse storytelling that delivers refreshing new perspectives to its audience and drives growth across numerous platforms for its partners. ... We celebrate imperfections, banish taboos, and always strive to be real and relatable — walking the walk in all that we do."
Scholarly Conversations Beyond HOLLIS and JSTOR
KEY DATABASES
A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. The database provides abstracts and the full text of some 175 academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental organization, and special reports.
Covers four hundred magazines, academic journals, news sources, that treat gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender themes.
RELATED DATABASES
A multi-disciplinary database that contains a good mix of scholarly and general interest sources .
Subject areas include: Art, Design, Architecture, Humanities, Film/Screen Studies, Music, Performing Arts, and more. With international coverage, and access to the definitive indexes in these fields, the Arts Premium Collection supports academic inquiry and is a rich source for comprehensive arts literature reviews.
Draws its content from 230 journals, from books and from the reports and papers produced at research institutions. Topics covered s include journalism; mass media; social media; advertising, political rhetoric; the sociology and history of communication; communication theory, and more.
MLA International Bibliography
The most important academic database for deep searching of the scholarship produced about all periods of literature (and in all languages). It also has strong and substantial coverage of scholarship on film, popular culture, and folklore. In other words: if a Literature Department teaches it, you'll find it covered here.
Social Sciences Premium Collection
Covers the international literature in social sciences, drawing its contents from the key databases for sociology, politics, public policy, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, and and education.
Media Creation and Support Services
Visualization Support in the Harvard Library
Digital Mapping and GIS Support
Multimedia Services in Lamont and Cabot Library's Media Studios