This guide will help you get started with your research on legal issues relating to Native Americans, Alaska Natives and other peoples indigenous to North America.
SYMPOSIA ON FEDERAL INDIAN LAW
Several law journals sponsor regular conferences and symposia on topics in Indian law and publish the proceedings. A few of the journals are:
Arizona Law Review
Arizona State Law Journal
Kansas Journal of Law and Public Policy
South Dakota Law Review
Tulsa Law Review
University of Detroit Mercy Law Review
The proceedings are easy to find using LegalTrac/Legal Resource Index:
Detailed Subject Index to the University of Washington Indian Law Symposia & Conferences
Use these Library of Congress Subject Headings to identify additional works on these topics:
Examples using name of a specific tribe (tip: try using this format for other tribes as well):
The United States government has entered into a wide array of treaties and agreements with various Native American Tribes and finding all of these materials can be complicated. The following sources collect primary documents and other information pertaining to these agreements\
Tribal Court Clearinghouse. Pending Federal Legislation.
United States Senate. Committee on Indian Affairs. Legislative Update.
Title 25 of the United States Code
Contains most, but not all, U.S. laws about Indians.
Kappler Report (requires Westlaw password)
Several volumes contain the early statutes:
Free online Kappler access: Oklahoma State University.
Tribal Court Clearinghouse: Federal Laws
Board of Indian Appeals (IBIA)
Decisions 1970 - [IBIA Archive] [Westlaw]
Opinions of the Solicitor of the Department of the Interior Relating to Indian Affairs, 1917-1974.
[LexisNexis] [University of Oklahoma Law Center]
United States. Indian Claims Commission Decisions v.1 (1948) - v.43 (1978) [LLMC] [Oklahoma State University]
LII Supreme Court Collection. Topic: Native Americans.
Landmark Indian Law Cases. William S. Hein & Co., 2002. Also availabe on HeinOnline.
Tribal Court Clearinghouse makes the VersusLaw opinions database publicly available for simple keyword searching or for browsing by topic.
Indian Law Reporter: Covers federal and state cases as well as tribal decisions.
The Harvard Law School Library has case reporters for several tribes.
To find the decisions of a specific tribal court, do an Author search on HOLLIS, using the name of the tribe.
American Indian Constitutions and Legal Materials
The Law Library of Congress has digitizes a number of tribal constitutions and other legal materials. They are all arranged by geographic region.
Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project
A project of the University of Oklahoma and the and the National Indian Law Library of the Native American Rights Fund.
Indian Reorganization Act Era Constitutions and Charters
Constitutions, corporate charters, and bylaws created in the 1930’s and 1940’s by about 370 tribes, communities, and villages.
The Harvard Law School Library has many tribal codes in print and on microform
A Bibliography of the Constitutions and Laws of the American Indians. Harvard University Press, 1947.
Indian Tribal Codes: A Microfiche Collection. [Seattle]: Marian Gould Gallagher Law Library, University of Washington School of Law, 1981.
To find the code of a specific tribe, do an Author search on HOLLIS using the name of the tribe.
Annotated Bibliography of Federal and Tribal Law: Print and Internet Sources
Basic Indian Law Research Tips--Part 1: Federal Indian Law
Law Library of Congress. Guide to Law Online. Indians of North America
The University of Tulsa Mabee Legal Information Center Native American Legal Research Guide
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment [E-Resource]
United States. Dept. of the Interior. Indian Division.
Records of the Indian Division, Office of the Secretary of the Interior [microform]: Special Files, 1848-1907.
The Native Americans Reference Collection [microform]: Documents Collected by the Office of Indian Affairs.
Ask Us! Submit a question or search our knowledge base.
Chat with us! Chat with a librarian (HLS only)
Contact Historical & Special Collections at firstname.lastname@example.org
Meet with Us Schedule an online consult with a Librarian
Hours Library Hours
Classes View Training Calendar or Request an Insta-Class
Text Ask a Librarian, 617-702-2728