The Interplay of Primary and Secondary Sources
- If you're searching for primary sources on a topic, one good place to look is a secondary source that cites original texts, manuscripts, and archives. Example: Machiavelli's Politics
- Conversely, published editions of primary sources will often cite secondary sources for additional context, commentary, and history. Example: Machiavelli and His Friends: Their Personal Correspondence
- In particular, critical editions of literary works often have extensive secondary commentary and analysis. Example: Machiavelli's The Prince (Norton Critical Edition)
A good starting point for finding both primary and secondary sources is a reference work or bibliography. You can find reference works in HOLLIS by combining your subject with keywords like Encyclopedia, Guide, Dictionary, Handbook, Companion, or Introduction. See the other pages of this guide for examples of reference works.
One e-resource that combines reference entries with robust bibliographies is Oxford Bibliographies. Another resource, Oxford Reference Online, lets you search across hundreds of reliable reference sources.
A Few Extra Tips
► To find subject headings for browsing, bring up the HOLLIS record for a book you already know about; or do a keyword search for your topic, such as Human remains in museums or Undocumented students. (This is how I found some of the subject headings suggested on the following pages.)
► Use the Advanced Search in HOLLIS to combine a subject heading with other keywords, e.g.
- Subject Human remains + Keyword Ethic* (the asterisk will bring up variations like ethics and ethical)
- Subject Immigrant youth + Keyword Pedagogy
- Subject Graphic novels + Keyword Spain
► If the HOLLIS record for a book doesn't tell you enough about its contents, try searching for the book in Google Books. Even if the entire text is not available, you can often get a substantial preview, and search by keyword to see if the book mentions a particular topic.
FOR PRIMARY SOURCES:
► When you browse, look for subjects with these subheadings: Diaries • Interviews • Sources • Archival resources • Newspapers • Personal Narratives • Biography • Pictorial Works • Comic Books • Caricatures and cartoons
FOR LITERARY EXPRESSIONS OF A THEME:
► For novels, plays, and stories about a topic, look for subjects with these subheadings: Fiction • In Literature • Juvenile fiction • Drama • Poetry • Literary collections